SAHARAN PROVINCES

Carnet de voyage de Goulimine, Smara, Dahkla, Maroc. Jacques Bravo

Laayoune

 

Colonial conquests distorted the outlook for a  good century by inventing limits to the "Sons of the clouds" who knew only one master: the rain refreshing the sebkas and making  grow in a few days enough to feed their thousands of camels.  Tindouf, a false capital created from scratch in 1934, is a shell  historically empty: is not Timbuktu who wants, and even less  Sijilmassa, capital of exchanges with blacks.

The symbiosis between the Sahara and the Almohad Empire that has become a Cherifian  is millennial. We understand it better by going from Guelmim to Smara.  Guelmim, a large Saharan port whose market brings in thousands of  beasts forever.

femmes_laayoune_cameléon-8.jpg
femme laayoune-7.jpg

Laayoune.

The village has become a city of some 250,000 inhabitants.  Chameleon effect in this shades of brown and beige, the bricks like  the fabrics are of a rare elegance. Draped identically, the two friends,  who no doubt come out of one of those craft workshops that animate the young  capital, will disappear in the bricks that look like them:  it is a mirage, city dweller, at the gates of the desert of true mirages.

Laayoune.

This lady of a certain age, wrapped in her so photogenic draped garment,  learned to read, in the middle of the street, in a children's book, a sort of primer.  She was proud of her energy and happy to  show their progress.

traite chevre laayoune-9.jpg

Laayoune.

A photo will never answer the question we will always ask ourselves:  this goat that gives almost two liters of milk a day  (not spontaneously, you have to hinder its front legs!),  how does she feed herself?

oasis de laayoune-12.jpg

Laayoune Oasis.

This is not where La Méduse de sad memoire ran aground, because we are not at the edge of the ocean.  However, the illusion is perfect, especially as an opportunistic seagull hovers merrily to complete  the decor. These perfectly curved dunes are a short kilometer from the capital of the Saharan provinces  while we can believe ourselves in the heart of the Grand Erg: yet I am alone in the world. Want to pitch your tent,  to breathe deeply the freshness of the trade winds in this blockbuster setting. This amethyst sea  is only the ultimate form of a Saharan river which becomes very small before disappearing in the golden sands:  the Seguiet al-Hamra, the red river which comes from Smara, multiplies into enamel lakes where the sun plays in the azure.

la gassar laayoune-10.jpg

The "Guedra"   from Laayoune ..

laayoune guedra 1-3.jpg
 

The "Guedra"   from Laayoune ..

laayoune oasis 3-11.jpg

The oasis of Laayoune.

laayoune femmes-2.jpg

Laayoune.

laayoune oasis2-13.jpg

Laayoune Oasis.

port peche laayoune-6.jpg

Port of Laayoune

port laayoune-5.jpg

Port of Laayoune

lagune naila -5.jpg

The Naïla lagoon and its salt-meadow sheep.

Smara, the mythical city of sands

 
51MeymqeY0L._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
31EyFmnwanL._SX341_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

The two books that made me come and come back to Smara

Smara is  the title of a book written by  Michel Vieuchange . These texts repeat the travel diaries he kept from September 10 to November 16, 1930, completing almost 1  400  miles  by foot  Tiznit  in Smara.

Michel Vieuchange's travel diaries were published by Plon in 1932, by Jean Vieuchange, his brother, under the title  Smara, among the dissidents of southern Morocco and Rio de Oro, with 53 engravings and a map, and a preface by Paul Claudel.

Smara.

The rock of Tbeïla is the goal of my trip to Smara, lost in the immensity, difficult to find, despite  its size, when one is twenty meters away! The writer Le Clézio gave him real notoriety in the West: it is there  that the very virtuous Sidi Ahmed el-Arrousi settled and installed. We still see two holes in the sandstone:  traces of his first steps. It is not a "wonderful column", much less a meteorite,  but a sacred sign. It is the Imam of Smara, who on the right directs the prayer on the tomb of the saint in his  mausoleum, which allowed me to approach it. The faithful, and they alone, take the ladder to pray at the top.

01_005-4.jpg

The Rock of Tbeila

His son El-Hiba will unite the tribes and fight against the advancing troops  French in the south of Morocco in 1905. Remains of this time the rock

of Tbeïla, well hidden in the immensity forty-five kilometers from  Smara, where Saint Sidi Ahmed el-Arrousi landed after being  "teleported" from Marrakech by a benevolent genius, according to legend.  The man of prayer immediately began his teaching and the names  of his disciples are etched in the sandstone eroded by the wind.

467_Les_écrits_du_rocher_de_Tbeïla_jb-2.
466_Rocher_mythique_de_Tbeïla_jb-7.jpg

the Rock, an enormous and mysterious block of sandstone which served as a refuge for the saint, "observation post on space, eternity".

01_001-1.jpg

Smara.

A moment of high spirituality thanks to a meeting near the city that did so much  fantasize, symbol of these forces that reached as far as Toledo.  A saint's tomb in a simple, truly monastic building.

And some of the R'guibat chiefs, the "Sons of the clouds", who pray.

01_006-5.jpg

The rock of Tbeïla, the imam and his son

01_004-3.jpg
01_024-17.jpg

Smara

469 acceuil sous la tente de nomades jb-
01_020-6.jpg

Smara.

A notable received me in  passing the jug of milk first  of camel, then the hot tea  to make you forget the heat.  The hospitality of the “sons of the clouds”  is not a ready-made formula,  it's a reality, I've never met  so much kindness, true.  His "family" shared a half  dozen tents, separated by a  30 yards from each other.  Their village freely.

The council of R'guibat chiefs, the "Sons of the clouds",

01_002-2.jpg

Some of the R'guibat chiefs.

zaouia de smara 1-1.jpg

The Zaouia of Smara and the grandson of Ma el-Aïnin

it constituted a religious and political center for the Sahara at the beginning of the 20th century  century.

01_015-3.jpg

The Zaouia of Smara.

It has been restored, except for the mosque, which is in ruins.

01_014-9.jpg

Smara remains a  high place of spirituality. Founded by Ma el-Aïnin who preached the return  to Orthodoxy and who remained for a very long time in Mecca in the company  of the eldest son of the sultan of Morocco Moulay Abderrhamane. Much more  later, he became the envoy of Sultan Moulay Hassan the Great: we found  in 1938 his dahir of command signed by the sovereign.

01_012-8.jpg
01_011-7.jpg

In the palace of the great Ma El Aïnin, at the entrance to the city,  his grandson Shebet carries on the tradition while adapting

01_010-6.jpg

To know more about Ma El Aïnin,

click on the link below

Capture d’écran 2019-01-26 à 17.03.50.jp
01_016-10.jpg

the old  spanish fort of smara

01_017-11.jpg

Spring camp around Smara.

01_019-13.jpg

Smara.

Inside a tent, one is always amazed by the space and comfort.  The tent is not a second best made necessary by the thinness of the pastures  that you have to constantly look for, it's a real place to live, friendly, warm,  colorful, surprisingly fresh. Comfortable: you have to have experienced it to experience it.

01_018-12.jpg

Smara.

The outdoor kitchen 

01_039-25.jpg

Smara

01_021-14.jpg

Smara

01_037-24.jpg

Smara

01_029-19.jpg

Near Smara, a camp.  The smile of the little girl in her grandmother's arms is very revealing of the pleasure that nomads - or semi-nomads -  or transhumant, as you wish – experience in their tent. It's not a second best, it's a choice,  and the cleverly arranged tent is remarkably ventilated. Much more comfortable than large hard dwellings  like cupboards! The little girl's mother cooked outside, protected by an azib of branches and thorns.  The grandmother had stopped for a moment churning the camel's milk, placed in a goat's skin, to cuddle the  little girl. My presence didn't bother anyone and I've never taken so much mint tea, so sweet.

01_031-21.jpg
01_032-22.jpg
01_022-15.jpg
01_026-18.jpg
01_030-20.jpg
01_034-23.jpg
chameaux tarfaya-1.jpg

On the way to Dahkla.

So framed it looks like a bunch of starving beasts then  that these are a few "bumps" from a herd of several  hundreds of heads settling in a new pasture,  along the coastline. An essential element of

"richness"  that we understand when we survey sand and pebbles.

Dahkla.

The evidence that the Sahara begins at the ocean should not make us forget  that it procures more earthly joys. This unique encounter between  two fronts, the ocean swell and the waves of sand, present, between  others, two advantages. Provide light mists, vapors at night  of water from which the two hundred and fifty plants benefit  herds, therefore men. Enable sport today;  most fashionable distraction: kitesurfing. 'Cause the wind always blows  the border of the two temperatures and allows you to rise in the air  all year. The Dakhla lagoon is an ideal playground since the  kitesurfer who would have missed his shot only falls back into one meter of water  and recovers very quickly. Higher, faster, safer! With the feeling  to be alone in the world above the sparkling shores.

 
lagune dahkla 2-2-2.jpg

Dahkla.

The Dakhla lagoon, an immensity in pastel colors. The sea, the sand, and again the ocean, and more deep beaches  of five hundred meters, long of tens of kilometers completely virgin.

dahkla -4.jpg
lagune dahkla 1-3.jpg
campement dahkla-1.jpg

The lagoon of Dakhla, the first campsite of the lagoon.

45ca5b_d8c9120f59a9469981d36e94db51eaca~
45ca5b_ede22dd8225743388692b7b3352ae1e3~

PROVINCES SAHARIENNES

Laayoune

 

Les conquêtes coloniales ont faussé les perspectives pendant un bon siècle en inventant des limites aux «Fils des nuages» qui ne connaissaient qu’un maître : la pluie rafraîchissant les sebkas et faisant pousser en quelques jours de quoi nourrir leurs milliers de dromadaires. Tindouf, fausse capitale créée de toutes pièces en 1934, est une coquille vide historiquement : n’est pas Tombouctou qui veut, et encore moins Sijilmassa, capitale des échanges avec les Noirs.

La symbiose entre le Sahara et l’Empire almohade devenu chérifien est millénaire. On le comprend mieux en allant de Guelmim à Smara. Guelmim, grand port saharien dont le marché rameute des milliers de bêtes depuis toujours.

Laayoune.

La bourgade est devenue une ville de quelque 250 000 habitants. Effet caméléon dans ce camaïeu de brun et de beige, les briques comme les étoffes sont d’une rare élégance. Drapées à l’identique, les deux amies, qui sortent sans doute d’un de ces ateliers d’artisanat qui animent la jeune capitale, vont disparaître dans les briques qui leur ressemblent : c’est un mirage, citadin, aux portes du désert des vrais mirages.

Laayoune.

Cette dame d’un âge certain, enveloppée dans son vêtement drapé si photogénique, apprenait à lire, en pleine rue, dans un livre pour enfant, une sorte d’abécédaire. Elle était fière de son énergie et heureuse de me montrer ses progrès.

Laayoune.

Une photo ne répondra jamais à la question que nous nous poserons toujours : cette chèvre qui donne presque deux litres de lait par jour (pas spontanément, il faut lui entraver les pattes antérieures !), comment fait-elle pour se nourrir ?

Oasis de Laayoune.

Ce n’est pas ici que La Méduse de triste mémoire s’est échouée, car nous ne sommes pas au bord de l’océan. Pourtant, l’illusion est parfaite, d’autant qu’une mouette opportuniste plane allègrement pour compléter le décor. Ces dunes au galbe parfait sont à un petit kilomètre de la capitale des provinces sahariennes alors qu’on peut se croire au coeur du Grand Erg : pourtant je suis seul au monde. Envie de planter sa tente, de respirer à pleins poumons la fraîcheur des alizés dans ce décor de superproduction. Cette mer d’améthyste n’est que la forme ultime d’un fleuve saharien qui se fait tout petit avant de disparaître dans les sables d’or : la Seguiet al-Hamra, le fleuve rouge qui vient de Smara, se multiplie en lacs d’émail où le soleil joue dans l’azur.

La "Guédra"  de Laayoune..

 

La "Guédra"  de Laayoune..

L'oasis de Laayoune.

Laayoune.

Oasis de Laayoune.

Port de Laayoune

Port de Laayoune

La lagune de Naïla et ses moutons de prés-salés.

Smara, la mythique cité des sables

 

Les deux livres qui m'ont fait venir et revenir à Smara

Smara est le titre d'un livre écrit par Michel Vieuchange. Ces textes reprennent les carnets de voyage qu'il a tenus du 10 septembre au 16 novembre 1930, en accomplissant près de 1 400 km à pied de Tiznit à Smara.

Les carnets de route de Michel Vieuchange ont été publiés chez Plon en 1932, par Jean Vieuchange, son frère, sous le titre Smara, chez les dissidents du Sud marocain et du Rio de Oro, avec 53 gravures et une carte, et une préface de Paul Claudel.

Smara.

Le rocher de Tbeïla est le but de mon voyage à Smara, perdu dans l’immensité, difficile à trouver, en dépit de sa taille, quand on est à vingt mètres ! L’écrivain Le Clézio lui a donné une vraie notoriété en Occident : c’est là que s’est posé et installé le très vertueux Sidi Ahmed el-Arrousi. On voit encore deux trous dans le grès : la trace de ses premiers pas. Ce n’est pas une « colonne merveilleuse », encore moins une météorite, mais un signe sacré. C’est l’imam de Smara, qui à droite dirige la prière sur le tombeau du saint dans son mausolée, qui m’a permis d’en approcher. Les fidèles, et eux seuls, prennent l’échelle pour prier au sommet.

Le rocher de Tbeïla

Son fils El-Hiba réunira les tribus et luttera contre l’avancée des troupes françaises dans le sud du Maroc en 1905. Reste de cette époque le rocher

de Tbeïla, bien caché dans l’immensité à quarante-cinq kilomètres de Smara, là où le saint Sidi Ahmed el-Arrousi a touché terre après avoir été « téléporté » de Marrakech par un génie bienfaisant, selon la légende. L’homme de prière a commencé aussitôt son enseignement et les noms de ses disciples sont gravés dans le grès érodé par le vent.

le Rocher, énorme et mystérieux bloc de grès qui servait de refuge au saint, "poste d'observation sur l'espace, l'éternité".

Smara.

Un instant de haute spiritualité grâce à une rencontre près de la ville qui fit tant fantasmer, symbole de ces forces qui remontèrent jusqu’à Tolède. Un tombeau de saint dans un bâtiment simple, vraiment monacal.

Et quelques-uns des chefs R’guibat, les « Fils des nuages », qui prient.

Le rocher de Tbeïla, l'imam et son fils

Smara

Smara.

Un notable m'a reçu en  faisant passer d’abord la jatte de lait de chamelle, puis le thé brûlant pour faire oublier la chaleur. L’hospitalité des « fils des nuages » n’est pas une formule toute faite, c’est une réalité, je n’ai jamais rencontré autant de gentillesse, vraie. Sa « famille » se partageait une demie douzaine de tentes, écartées d’une trentaine de mètres les unes des autres. Leur village en toute liberté.

Le conseil des chefs R’guibat, les « Fils des nuages »,

Quelques-uns des chefs R’guibat.

La Zaouia de Smara et le petit-fils de Ma el-Aïnin

elle constitua un centre religieux et politique pour le Sahara au début du XXème siècle.

La Zaouia de Smara .

Elle a été restaurée, sauf la mosquée, qui est en ruine..

Smara reste un haut lieu de spiritualité. Fondée par Ma el-Aïnin qui prêchait le retour à l’orthodoxie et qui resta très longtemps à La Mecque en compagnie du fils aîné du sultan du Maroc Moulay Abderrhamane. Beaucoup plus tard, il devint l’envoyé du sultan Moulay Hassan le Grand : on a retrouvé en 1938 son dahir de commandement signé du souverain.

Dans le palais du grand Ma El Aïnin, à l’entrée de la ville, son petit-fils Shebet perpétue la tradition tout en s’adaptant

Pour en savoir plus sur Ma El Aïnin,

cliquez sur le lien ci-dessous

Capture d’écran 2019-01-26 à 17.03.50.jp

L'ancien  fort espagnol de Smara

Campement de printemps autour de Smara.

Smara.

L’intérieur d’une tente, on est toujours étonné par l’espace et le confort. La tente n’est pas un pis-aller rendu nécessaire par la maigreur des pâturages qu’il faut chercher sans cesse, c’est un vrai lieu de vie, convivial, chaleureux, coloré, étonnement frais. Confortable : il faut l’avoir vécu pour l’éprouver.

Smara.

La cuisine extérieuse 

Smara

Smara

Smara

Près de Smara, un campement. Le sourire de la petite fille dans les bras de sa grand-mère est très révélateur du plaisir que les nomades – ou seminomades, ou transhumants, comme on voudra – éprouvent sous leur tente. Ce n’est pas un pis-aller, c’est un choix, et la tente, habilement agencée, est remarquablement ventilée. Bien plus confortable que des logis en dur grands comme des placards ! La mère de la fillette faisait la cuisine dehors, protégée par un azib de branchages et d’épineux. La grand-mère avait cessé un instant de baratter le lait de chamelle, placé dans une outre de chèvre, pour câliner la fillette. Ma présence ne gênait personne et je n’ai jamais pris autant de thé à la menthe, tellement sucré.

En route vers Dahkla.

Ainsi cadré on dirait une bande de bêtes faméliques alors qu’il s’agit de quelques « bosses » d’un troupeau de plusieurs centaines de têtes s’installant dans un nouveau pâturage, le long du littoral. Un élément essentiel de

«richesse» que l’on comprend quand on arpente sable et cailloux.

Dahkla.

L’évidence que le Sahara commence à l’océan ne doit pas faire oublier qu’il procure des joies plus terrestres. Cette rencontre unique entre deux fronts, la houle de l’océan et les vagues de sable, présente, entre autres, deux avantages. Fournir la nuit des brumes légères, des vapeurs d’eau dont profitent les deux cent cinquante plantes qui nourrissent les troupeaux, donc les hommes. Permettre aujourd’hui le sport ; distraction la plus à la mode : le kitesurf. Car le vent souffle toujours à la frontière des deux températures et permet de s’élever dans les airs toute l’année. La lagune de Dakhla est un terrain de jeu idéal puisque le kitesurfer qui aurait raté son coup ne retombe que dans un mètre d’eau et s’en relève très vite. Plus haut, plus vite, plus sûr ! Avec le sentiment d’être seul au monde au-dessus des grèves scintillantes.

 

Dahkla.

La lagune de Dakhla, une immensité aux couleurs pastel. La mer, le sable, et encore l’océan, et des plages profondes de plus de cinq cents mètres, longues de dizaines de kilomètres totalement vierges.

La lagune de Dakhla, le premier campement de la lagune.

45ca5b_d8c9120f59a9469981d36e94db51eaca~
45ca5b_ede22dd8225743388692b7b3352ae1e3~

© 2019 by Jacques Bravo