SAHARAN PROVINCES

Carnet de voyage de Goulimine, Smara, Dahkla, Maroc. Jacques Bravo

History reminds us that of these seemingly barren expanses  long invincible forces emerged, those of the "veiled", the  people of the Ribat the Almoravids who created an empire that went from  Smara, witness city, to Toledo encompassing all of North Africa.  And that they will be replaced by mountaineers from the confines of  the Atlas, close to this same desert: the Almohades of which Tinmel remains,  the Koutoubia, the Hassan tower and the Andalusian Giralda unfortunately  poorly groomed. The grains of sand have long excited, if not nourished,  the daydreams of Europeans always on the lookout for cities  lost, here as in the Amazon! The purest of these conquerors of the  poetry, Michel Vieuchange, left his life and his dream there. Camille Douls  passes very quickly and continues towards the East.

entre tiznit et goulimine_DxOFP-6.jpg
entre tiznit et goulimine2-2.jpg

The road from Tiznit to Goulimine

The road from Tiznit to Goulimine

region tiznit-3.jpg
ferme region tiznit-5.jpg

The road from Tiznit to Goulimine

A farm on the  road from Tiznit to Goulimine.

route goulimie tafraoute-10.jpg

Near  Goulimine.

 

Goulimine.

oasis goulimine chameau-7.jpg

On the Tighmert wadi, nine kilometers east of Guelmim, the herds drink.  They are the only real wealth since agriculture is parsimonious despite tenacious efforts.  The images, which always fit closely, are misleading in the assessment: one always has the impression  of a handful of camels while many herds number hundreds of heads.  When a "desert ship" is worth two thousand euros, it's not a jackpot, it's a maintained income.

 

chameaux goulimine-8.jpg

Goulimine.  Tighmert Oasis

vente chameaux goulimine-11.jpg

At the Guelmim market, a buyer and a seller do business: “Tope there! » concludes in all  languages. And a proverb says: "Why quarrel, if it's not about camels?" »

goulimine enfant masque 2_DxOFP-18.jpg

Oasis of Tighmert, near Guelmim. The little boy is playing with a very colorful mask  carved from the thick base of a palm. The patterns match perfectly with  the decor of his house and that of the painted door, as neat as an embossed leather whose  nomads love. I was following a shepherdess who was leading her little herd through the  alleys of the oasis, when she took me to this "statue" of a master,  who seems to be posing, a thin cane in his right hand.

goulimine femme et moutons-1.jpg

Goulimine.  Tighmert Oasis.  

homme goulimine-21.jpg

Goulimine.  Tighmert Oasis

goulimine sculpture-20.jpg

Goulimine.  Tighmert Oasis

3 femmes goulimine-1.jpg

Goulimine.

They passed before my eyes while I was having tea on the terrace of a café,  the helping hand of chance: three generations, grandmother,  mother and daughter, united in the same gesture, as in certain paintings  of the Renaissance illustrating the three ages of man.

marche orange goulimine-19.jpg

Goulimine.

Mountains of oranges from elsewhere,  such as I had never seen in ten years of Morocco!  A meticulous buyer seems to examine them one by one  while the seller, indifferent, is busy in the background.

marché goulimine-12.jpg

Goulimine.

Animal market.

femme souk goulimine-16.jpg

Goulimine.

marche goulimine 1-17.jpg

Goulimine.

marche betail goulimine-22.jpg

Goulimine.

goulimine boutique-14.jpg
centre goulimine-13.jpg

Goulimine.

Goulimine.

goulimine-15.jpg

Goulimine.

femmes champs goulimine-9.jpg

Goulimine.

These two women  harvesting in a barley plan the weeds that will be given  to cattle. No plant strand can be lost.

Tarfaya.

 
memorial st ex 3-6.jpg

Tarfaya.

The sand continues its slow conquest, how not to think of Saint-Exupéry and the  Little Prince ? The monument of remembrance, the famous Breguet XIV of Aéropostale, appears  huge because of an optical effect; it is the man who is very small, his silhouette  fragile grows the biplane which is no more than two meters high. For a moment, believe yourself  in 1920, listen to the hum of the plane… Two surprising red balls shine  like insect eyes turning history into science fiction.

dune rouge tarfaya-2.jpg

Tarfaya.

The red dune

falaises tarfaya-4.jpg

Tarfaya.

The cliffs

falaises tarfaya 2-3.jpg

The cliffs of Akhfennir

The cliffs of Akhfennir, at eighty-four  kilometers north of Tarfaya, offer the most beautiful catches.  The technique of "double fishing" allows you to go up 25 meters  steepness of fish over 9 kilos and 1.20 meters long, without  break his thread. It is not a curiosity, it is a delight to savor the  evening at the Café Resto de Paris, on the edge of the cliff, bars, wolves,  soles, croakers which were still wriggling when you  seated at the table. And, if you're in the right season, lambs raised in  salt meadows on the small islands that dot the Naïla lagoon.  When the desert is greedy, it means you are in Morocco!

peche tarfaya afkhenir-8.jpg

The cliff of Akhfennir culminates at more than twenty-five meters, straight on the ocean ever  at rest although the tides are low. The desolate, sterile look, on the contrary, hides  a profusion of fish, each more edible than the other: it is a breeding ground  nature that escapes the ravages of big fishing and giant nets.  The Chenagla have perfected a very skilful technique for shoeing and lifting  fish weighing almost ten kilos. Further north, the Imragens fish with their feet in the water,  stretching their nets perpendicular to the shore.

peche 2 tarfaya-9.jpg

Tarfaya.

The Cliff Fishermen

113_la_côte_vers_Akhfenir_jb-1.jpg

The cliffs of Akhfennir

nuages tarfaya-7.jpg

Tarfaya.

PROVINCES SAHARIENNES

L’histoire nous rappelle que de ces étendues apparemment infécondes ont émergé des forces longtemps invincibles, celles des « voilés », les gens du Ribat les Almoravides qui ont créé un empire qui allait de Smara, cité témoin, à Tolède en englobant toute l’Afrique du Nord. Et qu’ils seront remplacés par des montagnards venus des confins de l’Atlas, proche de ce même désert : les Almohades dont il reste Tinmel, la Koutoubia, la tour Hassan et la Giralda andalouse malheureusement mal « coiffée ». Les grains de sable ont longtemps excité, sinon nourri, les rêveries des Européens toujours partant à la recherche de cités perdues, ici comme en Amazonie ! Le plus pur de ces conquérants de la poésie, Michel Vieuchange, y laissera sa vie et son rêve. Camille Douls passe très vite et continue vers l’Orient.

La route de Tiznit à Goulimine

La route de Tiznit à Goulimine

La route de Tiznit à Goulimine

Une ferme sur la route de Tiznit à Goulimine.

Près de Goulimine.

 

Goulimine.

Sur l’oued Tighmert, à neuf kilomètres à l’est de Guelmim, s’abreuvent les troupeaux. Ils sont la seule vraie richesse puisque l’agriculture est parcimonieuse en dépit d’efforts tenaces. Les images, qui cadrent toujours de près, sont trompeuses dans l’évaluation : on a toujours l’impression d’une poignée de dromadaires alors que beaucoup de troupeaux comptent des centaines de têtes. Quand un « vaisseau du désert » vaut deux mille euros, ce n’est pas un pactole, c’est une rente entretenue.

 

Goulimine. Oasis de Tighmert

Au marché de Guelmim, un acheteur et un vendeur font affaire : « Tope là ! » se conclut dans toutes les langues. Et un proverbe dit : « Pourquoi nous quereller, s’il ne s’agit pas de chameaux ? »

Oasis de Tighmert, près de Guelmim. Le petit garçon joue avec un masque très coloré taillé dans la base épaisse d’une palme. Les motifs s’accordent parfaitement avec le décor de sa maison et celui de la porte peinte, aussi soignée qu’un cuir gaufré dont raffolent les nomades. Je suivais une bergère qui conduisait son petit troupeau dans les ruelles de l’oasis, quand elle m’a emmené devant cette « statue » de maître, qui paraît poser, une fine canne dans la main droite.

Goulimine. Oasis de Tighmert. 

Goulimine. Oasis de Tighmert

Goulimine. Oasis de Tighmert

Goulimine.

Elles passaient sous mes yeux alors que je prenais un thé à la terrasse d’un café, le coup de pouce du hasard : trois générations, grand-mère, mère et fille, réunies dans le même geste, comme dans certains tableaux de la Renaissance illustrant les trois âges de l’homme.

Goulimine.

Des montagnes d’oranges venues d’ailleurs, telles que je n’en avais jamais vu en dix ans de Maroc ! Un acheteur méticuleux semble les examiner une par une tandis que le vendeur, indifférent, s’affaire dans le fond.

Goulimine.

Marché aux bêtes.

Goulimine.

Goulimine.

Goulimine.

Goulimine.

Goulimine.

Goulimine.

Goulimine.

Ces deux femmes récoltant dans un plan d’orge les mauvaises herbes qui seront données aux bestiaux. Aucun brin végétal ne peut se perdre.

Tarfaya.

 

Tarfaya.

Le sable poursuit sa lente conquête, comment ne pas penser à Saint-Exupéry et au Petit Prince ? Le monument du souvenir, le fameux Breguet XIV de l’Aéropostale, paraît immense à cause d’un effet d’optique ; c’est l’homme qui est tout petit, sa silhouette fragile grandit le biplan qui ne fait pas plus de deux mètres de haut. Un instant, se croire en 1920, guetter le ronronnement de l’avion… Deux surprenantes boules rouges brillent comme des yeux d’insecte transformant l’histoire en science-fiction.

Tarfaya.

Le sable poursuit sa lente conquête, comment ne pas penser à Saint-Exupéry et au Petit Prince ? Le monument du souvenir, le fameux Breguet XIV de l’Aéropostale, paraît immense à cause d’un effet d’optique ; c’est l’homme qui est tout petit, sa silhouette fragile grandit le biplan qui ne fait pas plus de deux mètres de haut. Un instant, se croire en 1920, guetter le ronronnement de l’avion… Deux surprenantes boules rouges brillent comme des yeux d’insecte transformant l’histoire en science-fiction.

Tarfaya.

La dune rouge

Tarfaya.

Les falaises

Les falaises d’Akhfennir

Les falaises d’Akhfennir, à quatre-vingt-quatre kilomètres au nord de Tarfaya, offrent les plus belles prises qui soient. La technique de la « double pêche » permet de remonter sur 25 mètres d’à-pic des poissons de plus de 9 kilos et de 1,20 mètre de long, sans casser son fil. Ce n’est pas une curiosité, c’est un délice que savourer le soir au Café Resto de Paris, au bord de la falaise, des bars, des loups, des soles, des courbines qui frétillaient encore quand vous vous êtes installés à table. Et, si vous êtes à la bonne saison, des agneaux élevés en prés-salés sur les petites îles qui parsèment la lagune de Naïla. Quand le désert se fait gourmand, c’est que vous êtes au Maroc !

La falaise d’Akhfennir culmine à plus de vingt-cinq mètres, droite sur l’océan jamais en repos bien que les marées soient faibles. L’allure désolée, stérile, cache au contraire une profusion de poissons tous plus comestibles les uns que les autres : c’est un vivier naturel qui échappe aux ravages de la grande pêche et des filets géants. Les Chenagla ont mis au point une technique très habile pour ferrer et soulever des poissons de près de dix kilos. Plus au nord, les Imragen pêchent les pieds dans l’eau, tendant leurs filets perpendiculairement au rivage.

Tarfaya.

Les Pêcheurs de falaises

Les falaises d’Akhfennir

Tarfaya.

© 2019 by Jacques Bravo