GATEWAY TO THE SOUS

Carnet de voyage de Marrakech à Agadir, Maroc. Jacques Bravo

The capital of the South (Marrakech) is so sure of its charm that it can afford to offer you another trip. Because this ability to open up to other worlds is also the secret of the Red City. Supreme planet of a constellation. It has twelve doors, you have to take advantage of it. In the narrowest sense, the Sous is the valley of the wadi of the same name which benefits abundantly from the snow from the summits when it melts, forming nourishing arteries. In the real sense, it is a province with a unique character, whose contrasts are complex. Formerly, it was the sugar basket of Morocco, when the long canes greened there; Today, it is still a garden whose irrigation ensures its abundance.

 
594 col du Tizi N'Test jb-2.jpg
tizi n'test paysage.jpg

Tizi-n-Test pass.

February brings all the flowers. The almond trees, the first, transform the valley into an immense bouquet that falls from the sky. Each turn of the winding lane brings an unexpected spectacle. It is the enchanted road of Sous which we never want to see the end: exactly the place where we want to stay. The Test is not a passage, it is a magical stay. And at the bottom flows a river ...

591 col du Tizi N'Test jb-1.jpg

Tizi-n-Test pass.

Each turn offers a balance over a village.

595 col TiziN'Test jb-4.jpg

Tizi-n-Test pass.

And at the bottom flows a river ...

cultures terrasse tizi N'Te copie-1.jpg

Tizi N'Test.

If spring is early, it is very short, summer often too long. Mountain farmers have developed terracing techniques that have nourished people for centuries.

tizi n'test village amandie-7.jpg

Tizi N'Test.

590 col du Tizi N'Test jb-4.jpg

Tizi N'Test.

598 village dans le T#106A6-3.jpg

Tizi N'Test.

593 col du Tizi N'Test jb-5.jpg

The Tizi N'Test rises like a snake unrolls its rings to offer a last panoramic view before diving towards the Sous.

588 col du tTizi N'Test jb-3.jpg

Tizi N'Test.

587 col du Tizi N'Test jb-2.jpg

Tizi N'Test.

m'zouzite tizi n' test copie-6.jpg

Tizi N'Test.

A unique route that can recall the most spectacular Pyrenean valleys by its virtuosity and attention to detail. From Marrakech, we bury ourselves in the Ouirgane valley; and Asni is a friendly gateway. Then we gradually abandon the asphalt.

We are in another world which was that of the powerful Almohades, severe conquerors who nevertheless built the Koutoubia and the Hassan tower!

Tinmel is there to remind us.

 

 
tin mel vue gen-2.jpg

T he famous mosque, restored but not revisited, on the left bank of a river that still sparkles, is as it was in the 12th century, embodying the grandeur of a dynasty animated by an invincible faith. Placed in a case of terraces which tame the reliefs and mark the strength of a peasant work, just as invincible.

Perfect expression of Morocco.

tin mel 4-7.jpg

Tinmel.

The horseshoe, trefoil, lobed, and stalactite arches are varied and very elegant. The remarkable floral decoration, especially in the capitals which are of a new style and announce the wonders of the XIVth century Marinids. The three stalactite domes are the first built in Morocco, and are undoubtedly the most beautiful.

tin mel 8-5.jpg

Tinmel.

The mihrab "of great nobility" marks the direction of Mecca, an essential orientation. He is "capped" by the minaret, an exceptional arrangement in Muslim art.

tin mel detail-3.jpg

Tinmel.

Detail

tin mel 9-4.jpg

Tinmel.

Nine naves of five spans each constitute the mosque proper, and two naves run along the courtyard: they cover an area of 48 mx 45 m.

detail tin mel-6.jpg
tin mel 6-8.jpg
tin mel 5-1.jpg

Tinmel.

The mosque built around 1120, by Ibn Toumert, founder of the Almohad dynasty, which will restore Islam to the Maghreb. In a sublime site, it is one of the oldest monuments of Morocco.

LA PORTE DU SOUSS

Carnet de voyage de Marrakech à Agadir, Maroc. Jacques Bravo

La capitale du Sud (Marrakech) est tellement sûre de son charme qu’elle peut se permettre de vous proposer un autre voyage. Car cette capacité d’ouverture vers d’autres mondes, c’est aussi le secret de la Ville rouge. Planète suprême d’une constellation. Elle a douze portes, il faut en profiter. Au sens le plus étroit, le Sous est la vallée de l’oued du même nom qui profite abondamment de la neige des sommets quand elle fond en formant des artères nourricières. Au sens réel, c’est une province au caractère unique, dont les contrastes sont complexes. Naguère, c’était le grenier à sucre du Maroc, quand les longues cannes y verdissaient ; aujourd’hui, c’est toujours un jardin dont l’irrigation en assure l’abondance.

 
594 col du Tizi N'Test jb-2.jpg
tizi n'test paysage.jpg

Tizi N’Test.

Février apporte toutes les fleurs. Les amandiers, les premiers, transforment la vallée en un immense bouquet qui tombe du ciel. Chaque virage de la voie sinueuse apporte un spectacle inattendu. C’est la route enchantée du Sous dont on n’a jamais envie de voir la fin : exactement l’endroit où l’on a envie de rester. Le Test n’est pas un passage, c’est un séjour magique. Et au fond, coule une rivière…

591 col du Tizi N'Test jb-1.jpg

Tizi N’Test.

Chaque virage offre un aplomb sur un village.

595 col TiziN'Test jb-4.jpg

Tizi N’Test.

Et au fond, coule une rivière…

cultures terrasse tizi N'Te copie-1.jpg

Tizi N’Test.

Si le printemps est précoce, il est très court, l’été souvent trop long. Les agriculteurs de la montagne ont développé des techniques de cultures en terrasses qui nourrissent un peuple depuis des siècles.

tizi n'test village amandie-7.jpg

Tizi N’Test.

590 col du Tizi N'Test jb-4.jpg

Tizi N’Test.

598 village dans le T#106A6-3.jpg

Tizi N’Test.

593 col du Tizi N'Test jb-5.jpg

Le Tizi N’Test s’élève comme un serpent déroule ses anneaux pour offrir une dernière vue panoramique avant de plonger vers le Sous.

588 col du tTizi N'Test jb-3.jpg

Tizi N’Test.

587 col du Tizi N'Test jb-2.jpg

Tizi N’Test.

m'zouzite tizi n' test copie-6.jpg

Tizi N’Test.

Une voie unique qui peut rappeler les plus spectaculaires vallées pyrénéennes par sa virtuosité et son sens du détail. À partir de Marrakech, on s’enfouit dans la vallée d’Ouirgane ; et Asni est une porte d’entrée amicale. Puis on abandonne progressivement l’asphalte.

Nous sommes dans un autre monde qui fut celui des puissants Almohades, sévères conquérants qui ont quand même édifié la Koutoubia et la tour Hassan !

Tinmel est là pour nous le rappeler.

 

 
tin mel vue gen-2.jpg

La célèbre mosquée, restaurée mais pas revisitée, sur la rive gauche d’une rivière qui scintille toujours, est telle qu’elle était au XIIe siècle, incarnant la grandeur d’une dynastie animée par une foi invincible. Placée dans un écrin de terrasses qui domptent les reliefs et marquent la force d’un labeur paysan, tout aussi invincible.

Expression parfaite du Maroc.

tin mel 4-7.jpg

Tinmel.

Les arcs outrepassés, tréflés, lobés, et à stalactites sont variés et d’une grande élégance. Le remarquable décor floral, surtout dans les chapiteaux qui sont d’un style inédit et annoncent les merveilles du XIVe siècle mérinide. Les trois coupoles à stalactites sont les premières construites au Maroc, et restent sans doute les plus belles.

tin mel 8-5.jpg

Tinmel.

Le mihrab « d’une grande noblesse », marque la direction de la Mecque, orientation essentielle. Il est «coiffé » par le minaret, disposition exceptionnelle dans l’art musulman.

tin mel detail-3.jpg

Tinmel.

Détail

tin mel 9-4.jpg

Tinmel.

Neuf nefs de cinq travées chacune constituent la mosquée proprement dite, et deux nefs longent la cour : elles couvrent une surface de 48 m x 45m.

detail tin mel-6.jpg
tin mel 6-8.jpg
tin mel 5-1.jpg

Tinmel.

La mosquée édifiée vers 1120, par Ibn Toumert, fondateur de la dynastie almohade, qui va redonner à l’islam du Maghreb tout son rayonnement. Dans un site sublime, c’est l’un des plus anciens monuments du Maroc.