GATEWAY TO THE SOUS

Carnet de voyage de Marrakech à Agadir, Maroc. Jacques Bravo

The traditional destination is obviously Tafraout, which must be approached when the almond trees stretch the mountain in an unforgettable pastel pink that cannot be found anywhere else. If it is too early, or too late, the seduction remains anyway, we can be reassured: Tafraout, "multiple city", mired in rocks as pink as in Ploumanac'h, is always faithful to the appointment .

 
amandiers en fleurs-25.jpg
amandiers tafraoute 2-26.jpg

Thanks to it you change the planet an hour from Agadir, the miraculous city. To appreciate it, you have to soak it, that is to stay there for a few days, because you can radiate to the west or to the south, this border of the Bani which borders the great desert. A chain of small mountains whose chaos guarantees beauty, pierced with foudm, that is to say passages dug by torrents which do little more than figuration but multiply the oases fed by well hidden water because also protecting itself from the sun.

Tafraout, village d'Adaï.-13.jpg

Adai.

Village and mosque of an “exemplary” village in the Tafraout region.

Characteristic color in granite chaos.

region Tafraoute 8-18.jpg

Ameln Valley

region tafraoute8 2-16.jpg

Tafraout

If spring is early, it is very short, summer often too long. Mountain farmers have developed terracing techniques that have nourished people for centuries.

region Tafraoute Tioulit 11-17.jpg

Tafraoute

 

Tafraoute5_DxOFP-8.jpg
tazca 2 tafraoute-7.jpg

Tafraout.

Village of Adaï, some skillfully built houses triumph over the granite maelstrom in the midst of which they protect themselves.

tazca tafraoute-6.jpg
femme tafraoute 3-23.jpg

Tafraout.

She was there, motionless, offering a short respite of two minutes. While I waited for the simultaneous hatching of the almond trees which make the hard sorry stone, suddenly, a muslin of a pink so tender. And so fleeting. As in the Test, we would like to stay a fortnight, so as not to lose anything within a radius of a few tens of kilometers. There she was, hieratic, sitting on a block of intertwined roots, between two palm trees. Like riding a camel. Or rather like on a public bench, somewhere in this valley of Ameln which obsesses painters and photographers.

Tafraoute, femme dans la palmeraie 2-3.j
Tafraoute-4.jpg
femme tafraoute 4-22.jpg
route des amandiers tafraou-15.jpg
region tafraoute 2-2-20.jpg
femme au vent tafraoute-9.jpg
femme tafraoute 2-24.jpg
Tafraoute, Amandiers en fleurs-2.jpg
tafraoute rocher du  2-1.jpg
tafraoute 7 2-10.jpg
Tafraoute 2_DxOFP-14.jpg
482_Vallée_des_Ameln_jb-5.jpg
475_village_d'Adaï_Tafraoute_JB-27.jpg
region de tafraoute-21.jpg
region tafraoute 3-19.jpg
Tafraoute_région_2-11.jpg

LA PORTE DU SOUS

La destination traditionnelle c’est évidemment Tafraout qu’il faut aborder quand les amandiers tendent la montagne d’un inoubliable rose pastel qu’on ne trouve nulle part ailleurs. Si c’est trop tôt, ou trop tard, la séduction demeure quand même, qu’on se rassure : Tafraout, « cité multiple », égaillée dans des rochers aussi roses qu’à Ploumanac’h, est toujours fidèle au rendez-vous.

 

Grâce à elle vous changez de planète à une heure d’Agadir, la ville miraculée. Pour l’apprécier, il faut s’en imprégner, c’est-à-dire y rester quelques jours, car vous pouvez rayonner vers l’ouest ou vers le sud, cette frontière du Bani qui bordure le grand désert. Une chaîne de petites montagnes dont le chaos garantit la beauté, percées de foum, c’est-à-dire de passages creusés par des torrents qui ne font plus guère que de la figuration mais multiplient les oasis nourries d’une eau bien cachée car se protégeant elle aussi du soleil.

Adaï.

Village et mosquée d’un village « exemplaire » dans la région de Tafraout. 

Couleur caractéristique dans le chaos granitique.

Vallée des Ameln

Tizi N’Test.

Si le printemps est précoce, il est très court, l’été souvent trop long. Les agriculteurs de la montagne ont développé des techniques de cultures en terrasses qui nourrissent un peuple depuis des siècles.

Tizi N’Test.

Tafraout.

Village de Adaï, quelques maisons habilement construites triomphent du maelstrom granitique au milieu duquel elles se protègent.

Tafraout.

Elle était là, immobile, s’offrant un petit répit de deux minutes. Alors que j’attendais l’éclosion simultanée des amandiers qui font de la dure pierre désolée, soudainement, une mousseline d’un rose si tendre. Et si fugace. Comme dans le Test, on voudrait rester quinze jours, pour ne rien perdre dans un rayon de quelques dizaines de kilomètres. Elle était là, hiératique, assise sur un bloc de racines entrelacées, entre deux palmiers. Comme sur la selle d’un dromadaire. Ou plutôt comme sur un banc public, quelque part dans cette vallée des Ameln qui obsède peintres et photographes.

© 2019 by Jacques Bravo