THE IMPERIAL ROAD

Carnet de voyage Fès, Maroc. Jacques Bravo

The imperial road

Fez

We can only go through it by going back in time, of course, starting from the final result, Fez, Moulay Idriss, Meknes

- the imperial cities -, to go to the source of the original power, Tafilalet and Sijilmassa, as cult as Timbuktu, the mythical capital dissolved by the sands.

It all started in Morocco with the arrival of a young prince from the East, after the "dark centuries" that followed the decline of the Roman Empire, until the conquest by Tarik who gave his name to the strait between the two worlds that he will unify: djebel Tarik, now Gibraltar. Idriss, a completely real character, is imbued with this legendary halo that makes great destinies. Then the story bounces back with princes from Tafilalet, like him from the close family of the prophet.

 
Fès vue du tombeau des Mérinides. Jacques Bravo

Fez.

View of the Merinides tomb, in the center we can see the high minaret of the Karaouyne mosque.

Palais royal de Fès

Fez.

Royal Palace of Fez

Fès, Bab Boujloud.

Fez, Bab Boujloud.

Before an official visit, we give a little blush to this unrivaled city that has been shining for twelve centuries.

The place is very large and the wall very high. Two men are hanging from this large curtain and I still wonder how they painted the slots, so high! The reserved part reinforces the abstraction of the whole: something that comes from the fresco, from the invention of a cliff.

Les toits de la Karaouine à Fès

Fez.

The roofs of the Karaouine, in long furrows of green tiles. One of the most famous mosques in the city, in its geometric rigor which protects the treasures of the interior decoration of an exceptional richness.

Mosquée Karaouine, à l’heure des ablutions

Fez.

Karaouine Mosque, at the time of ablutions. View of the alley. The grandson escorts his grandfather, all dressed in white. But the child wears a Canadian shirt which contrasts singularly with the traditional attire of his ancestor, and remains pensive.

Prière à la mosquée Karaouine

Fez.

The first courtyard of the Karaouine seen from the roof of the neighboring Madrasa El-Attarine, because one does not enter the mosques of Morocco (except that of Casa, with attendant). Fortunately, access to madrasahs, educational centers , is free ; the look too, even if it is reduced.

Une marchande de cierges devant le mausolée Moulay Idriss.

Fez.

A candle seller in front of the Moulay Idriss II mausoleum.

For centuries we have said "the kingdom of Fez", for the good reason that the double city is really a kingdom in itself, of which all the citizens are kings. Which had never simplified the life of legal power.

Le Palais royal de Fès avec ses portes dorées par le soleil. Jacques Bravo

Fez. The doors of the Royal Palace

Le quartier des tanneries à Fès. Jacques Bravo

Fez.

The tanners' souk. This difficult and tiring function is reserved for young people.

Le souk des tanneurs à Fès. Jacques Bravo
Fès, Medersa Bou Inania. Jacques Bravo

Fez, Medersa Bou Inania.

Séchage de la soie sur une terrasse de Fès. Maroc. Jacques Bravo.

The Silk Road in Fez is first of all these immaculate rows of thread that have just taken their color. The white of these silky furrows dominates the muted colors of the city.

Filage de la soie à Fès. Maroc. Jacques Bravo

And when I saw this man who was spinning, his mind lost in thought, imbued with such serenity, I immediately thought of Gandhi, the garment in addition… He uses a material which seems elementary but which is perfectly adapted to the manufacture of a wire so thin, of which one makes so fine fabrics, that a whole clothing can be accommodated in the interior tube of a simple cane: some tenths of a millimeter. A substance without thickness, a dream.

Souk des teinturiers.Jacques Bravo
Marchand de fils de soie. Jacques Bravo

It is the continuation of this long metamorphosis which transforms a cocoon into ceremonial clothing. This shop is such a complete color chart that I couldn't resist the pleasure of buying threads of all colors (I counted nine different blues…) wound on long swollen spools, works of art in their own right. .

A chameleon nightmare!

Fresque du Palais Jamai. Fès. Jacques Bravo

When the past revisited telescopes the living present: these young women, fresco of a living room of the Jamaï palace in its very recent version, meet this

bride of Fez, in her most authentic outfit, and her discreet companion. They moreover have more the appearance of Roman than houris, to enchant paradise. But the time, in both cases, is for celebration.

Une marchande de cierges devant le mausolée Moulay Idriss.
Fès, la Zaouia Moulay Idriss II

Fez, the Zaouia Moulay Idriss II, the holy place of Fez. Women come to take a share of Moulay Idriss's "baraka", often for a pregnancy.

Fez, The part reserved for the prayer of women at the Karaouine mosque. True place of exchange.

Fès, la Zaouia Moulay Idriss II

Fez, near the Zaouia Moulay Idriss II

Une marchande de cierges devant le mausolée Moulay Idriss.

Fez, the Talha.

In this fragrant alley, so lively, an obvious fact: these watermelons arranged like heavy artillery shells or shiny bombs. It is both the abundance of the Saïs gardens and the mystery of a form that can be interpreted as one pleases. The seller is benevolent, courteous, in front of the photographer who does not want to interfere but who cannot resist: he must have seen others!

Gold in a street in the medina of Fez? No, just the play of the reflections of the copper sheets that the copperware maker unrolls on the ground. Then he will cut them to the template of the trays to be chiseled. In the desert passage, it is a sudden illumination coming from nowhere

Fès, la place des chaudronniers 

Fez, the place of boilermakers

Fez, the boilermaker and brass district

Fès. Bab Bou Jloud, la porte bleue

Fez. Bab Bou Jloud, and its famous purple color weathered by time, the most famous gateway to the imperial city, the most visited. It is the key to the city, its most direct access.

1/9

LA ROUTE IMPÉRIALE

La route impériale

Fès

On ne peut la parcourir qu’en remontant le temps, bien entendu, en partant du résultat final, Fès, Moulay Idriss, Meknès

– les villes impériales - , pour aller à la source du pouvoir originel, le Tafilalet et Sijilmassa, aussi culte que Tombouctou, la capitale mythique dissoute par les sables.

Tout a commencé au Maroc par l’arrivée d’un jeune prince venu d’Orient, après les « siècles obscurs » qui ont suivi le déclin de l’Empire romain, jusqu’à la conquête par Tarik qui va donner son nom au détroit entre les deux mondes qu’il va unifier : djebel Tarik, devenu Gibraltar. Idriss, personnage tout à fait réel, est nimbé de cette auréole de légende qui fait les grands destins. Puis l’histoire rebondit avec des princes venus du Tafilalet, issus comme lui de la proche famille du prophète.

 

Fès.

Vue du tombeau des Mérinides, au centre on voit se détacher le haut minaret de la mosquée Karaouyne.

Fès.

Palais royal de Fès

Fès, Bab Boujloud.

Avant une visite officielle on donne un petit coup de blush à cette ville sans égale qui resplendit depuis douze siècles.

La place est très grande et la muraille très haute. Deux hommes sont suspendus à cette grande courtine et je me demande encore comment ils ont peint les créneaux, si haut ! La partie réservée renforce l’abstraction de l’ensemble : quelque chose qui tient de la fresque, de l’invention d’une falaise.

Fès.

Les toits de la Karaouine, en longs sillons de tuiles vertes.L’une des plus célèbres mosquées de la ville, dans sa rigueur géométrique qui protège les trésors de la décoration intérieure d’une exceptionnelle richesse.

Fès.

Mosquée Karaouine, à l’heure des ablutions. Vue de la ruelle. Le petit-fils escorte son grand-père tout de blanc vêtu. Mais l’enfant porte une chemise canadienne qui contraste singulièrement avec la tenue traditionnelle de son aïeul, et reste songeur.

Fès.

La première cour de la Karaouine vue du toit de la médersa voisine El-Attarine, car on ne rentre pas dans les mosquées du Maroc (sauf celle de Casa, avec accompagnateur).Par bonheur, l’accès aux médersas, centres d’enseignement, est libre ; le regard aussi, même s’il se réduit.

Fès. 

Une marchande de cierges devant le mausolée Moulay Idriss II.

Pendant des siècles on a dit « le royaume de Fès », pour la bonne raison que la ville double est vraiment un royaume en soi, dont tous les citoyens sont rois. Ce qui n’avait jamais simplifié la vie du pouvoir légal.

Fès. Les portes du Palais Royal

Fès.

Le souk des tanneurs.Cette fonction difficile et fatigante est réservée aux jeunes gens.

Fès, Medersa Bou Inania.

La route de la Soie à Fès, c’est d’abord ces rangées immaculées de fil qui viennent de prendre leur couleur. Le blanc de ces soyeux sillons domine les couleurs plus sourdes de la ville.

Et en voyant cet homme qui file, l’esprit perdu dans ses pensées, empreint d’une telle sérénité, j’ai immédiatement pensé à Gandhi, le vêtement en plus… Il use d’un matériel qui paraît élémentaire mais qui est parfaitement adapté à la fabrication d’un fil si ténu, dont on fait des étoffes si fines, qu’un vêtement entier peut être logé dans le tube intérieur d’une simple canne : quelques dixièmes de millimètre. Une substance sans épaisseur, un rêve.

C’est la suite de cette longue métamorphose qui transforme un cocon en vêtement d’apparat. Cette échoppe est un nuancier si complet que je n’ai pas résisté au plaisir d’acheter des fils de toutes les couleurs (j’ai compté neuf bleus différents…) enroulés sur de longues bobines renflées, des oeuvres d’art à part entière.

Un cauchemar de caméléon !

Quand le passé revisité télescope le présent vivant : ces jeunes femmes, fresque d’un salon du palais Jamaï dans sa version toute récente, rencontrent cette

mariée de Fès, dans sa tenue la plus authentique, et sa discrète accompagnatrice. Elles ont d’ailleurs plus l’apparence de Romaines que de houris, à enchanter le paradis. Mais l’heure, dans les deux cas, est à la fête.

Fès, la Zaouia Moulay Idriss II, le lieu saint de Fès. Les femmes viennent pour s'attribuer une part de la "baraka" de Moulay Idriss, souvent pour une grossesse.

Fès, La partie réservée pour la prière des femmes à la mosquée Karaouine. Vrai lieu d'échange.

Fès, près de la Zaouia Moulay Idriss II

Fès, le Talha.

Dans cette ruelle parfumée, si animée, une évidence : ces pastèques rangées comme des obus d’artillerie lourde ou des bombes lustrées. C’est à la fois l’abondance des jardins du Saïs et le mystère d’une forme que l’on peut interpréter à sa guise. Le vendeur est bienveillant, courtois, devant le photographe qui ne veut pas gêner mais qui ne peut résister : il a dû en voir d’autres !

De l’or dans une rue de la médina de Fès ? Non, simplement le jeu des reflets des feuilles de cuivre que le dinandier déroule à même le sol. Puis il va les découper au gabarit des plateaux à ciseler. Dans le passage désert, c’est une illumination soudaine venue de nulle part

Fès, le quartier des chaudronniers et des cuivres

Fès, la place des chaudronniers 

Fès. Bab Bou Jloud, et sa célèbre couleur violette patinée par le temps, la plus célèbre des portes de la ville impériale, la plus fréquentée. C’est la clé de la ville, son accès le plus direct.

1/9

© 2019 by Jacques Bravo