HIGH ATLAS

Carnet de voyage Haut-Atlas, Maroc. Jacques Bravo

The Aït Bouguemez valley

 
vallée_ait_bouguemez-38.jpg

There is something of the Himalayas or the Andes mountain range in these high valleys which take advantage of a few streams, inflated ten days a year, to maintain a meticulous gardening agriculture, persevering, often more than two thousand meters altitude. Seen from above, that is to say from a barely higher mountain, the mosaic of fields, ingenuity of the plot which takes advantage of the least bit of arable land to shelter a seed, is a hymn to the life.

vallée_ait_bouguemez_2-33.jpg

These valleys should be, in all geological and meteorological logic, a desert for insects and rodents intended to feed some birds of prey. However, they offer green pulsations that creep in, infiltrate, thread their way between the rocks, the dizzying peaks, like a giant animal looking for a way out. Oasis without palm trees, almost without water, overwhelmed by all the differences in temperature. Nuts replace dates.

battage ble ait bouguemez-9.jpg

The ear of barley does not count thirty grains. On cereal threshing grounds, ethical beanies trample the sheaves, making him throat, as seen in the photo taken in Timmit, where a young boy "touches" the sheaves with striking ardor, while his father leads the team. It is perfect autarky. With obviously its limits for women and men.

coquelicots ait bouguemez-14.jpg

It is however the most endearing of countries. The most difficult to navigate because you have to follow the most overwhelming level lines.

A world that plays with benchmarks, not because it is not hospitable, on the contrary, but because it is its nature: bare. Potential prey for semi-nomads from the east who owe excellent spring pastures. The sheep war is not a nonsense. It is always a risk because the attackers from Djebel Saghro are not better off by nature.

faucille bouguemez-21.jpg
femme porteuse bouguemez-20.jpg

Aghbalou.

The harvest is carried out very early, the women immediately carry the heavy sheaves on the threshing floor, one only distinguishes their feet. Work is always collective, it is an essential factor of social cohesion

porteuse ble ait bouguemez-30.jpg

Aghbalou, the sources in Berber. at almost 2,000 meters, you can see the area to beat in the upper right.

ait_bouguemez_battage_blé-2-1.jpg

The scouting is done with four donkeys and a cow, this time led by two little girls.

village ait bouguemez 3-35.jpg

I chose this image of a village because it was taken from the terrace where I slept, on the coldest nights of my life, at my friend Mohammed Achari's, child of the village and man of good adventures who, the first , led the guides from Chamonix to attack M'Goun. A village in apiary fragments whose “bees” are the most efficient in the world.

X fermiere ait bouguemez-36.jpg

A peasant woman leads a lean but healthy cow.

village bouguemez 5-37.jpg

Tabant.

Again ? You can take this same village ten times, never from the same angle: I made three long stays there. Tabant is exemplary by its absence of particular signs: it is not a postcard village to illustrate "the hundred most beautiful villages of Morocco" (there are thousands!), It is the expression of a daily truth.

vallée_heureuse-3.jpg

Ighririne.

After the storm. Too much water at once and never enough regular rains

four pain ait bouguemez-1.jpg

Tabant.

Mohammed Achari's cousin bakes bread in her oven for the entire hamlet, half a dozen houses. The bread, brought each morning, is marked with a distinctive sign: each woman prepares her kesra for her family at home.

village ait bouguemez 2-34.jpg

Iglaouane.

One of the hamlets, earthen construction with terraces not necessarily adapted to the weather.

Like an astonished face…

enfant henne ait bouguemez-15.jpg

This girl often saw me that week. I will never be a loved one, but I am no longer a stranger: she benefits. While her mother had prepared henna, She had put her hands in the dish and, mischievous, shows me the result later.

F1000003-16.jpg
champs ait bouguemez-11.jpg

Tabant.

I was seated, quiet, watching for the infinite movements that the wind, brisk at this altitude, causes in the still thick grasses of the melting snow, agitating a flowery swell. End of June is the start of summer in the preserved mountains of Aït Bouguemez, in the heart of the Atlas. Then I saw a bunch of herbs move differently, faster: it was not going in the direction of others, it was going somewhere! Then, as in a film, imperceptibly “the” character appears: under the growing haystack, a face stands out, then a silhouette takes shape… It enters the scene. She goes immediately, the herd does not wait. Make no mistake, what seems like an armful of herbs is a heavy bundle. The natural beauty of the shepherdess should not make us forget the hardness of the demanding task. Beauty that was given to me for a few seconds.

champs ait bouguemez 2-10.jpg
jeunes filles jouant dans la vallée
Un âne décoré avec des coquelicots dans la vallée
Une femme et son enfant sur une mule

Woman going to a wedding with her daughter.

ait bouguemez casbah-5.jpg

Sidi Moussa.

The pyramid is perfect, you have to observe it closely to discover, crowning its summit, an attic fortress, a structure typical of the country of Berber mountaineers. If everyone harvested their fields, the reserves were pooled and securely guarded. If the grain does not die ... The only slope in glaze could discourage looters or henchmen from a too greedy boss. But, to ensure the consumption of spring, the famous “welding”, a guard watched. Everyone was going to help themselves according to their needs. The man kept watch day and night in this pantry which has no equivalent elsewhere. At his feet, future harvests…

baise main 2 bouguemez-8.jpg

At the foot of the hill of Sidi Moussa, an early morning kiss. We are in the happy valley.

priere ait bouguemez-31.jpg

The muezzin calls to prayer: it will probably not be replaced by a sound system. His voice rings out far into the valley and its echo spreads.

marche tabant 3 bouguemez-29.jpg

Tabant.

The Sunday market: a real mountain market, with essential products. Only men for shopping, as often. A woman, leaning against the terrace, turns her back on them. Below, beautifully dressed to go to a party, a fifteen-year-old girl glances behind the window. It's Fatima, the daughter of my friend Achari.

Marché de Tabant , dans la vallée des Ait Bouguemez. Photographie de Jacques Bravo
jeune fille bougemez-2.jpg

Women's work and child labor

Lavandières dans un ruisseau, dans la vallée des Ait Bouguemez. Photographie de Jacques Bravo
Fermière et sa poule dans la vallée des Ait Bouguemez. Photographie de Jacques Bravo
Deux enfants actionnent la manivelle d'un puits pour tirer l'eau dans la vallée des Ait Bouguemez. Photographie de Jacques Bravo
Fabrication d'un tapis dans la vallée des Ait Bouguemez. Photographie de Jacques Bravo
Construction de maison dans la vallée des Ait Bouguemez. Photographie de Jacques Bravo

Construction of a house of adobe and stones

 

Ouzoud waterfalls

Les cascades d'Ouzoud au Maroc. Photographie de Jacques Bravo
Les cascades d'Ouzoud au Maroc. Photographie de Jacques Bravo

Beni Mellal

 
Les cavaliers de Fantasia et leurs chevaux pendant la fête des moissons à Beni Mellal. copyright Jacques Bravo

Beni Mellal.

It is the highlight of the Zaïan harvest festival. Inevitably, we think of Delacroix. I was perched on the roof of a car and the riders rushed on me, against the wind, developing an acrid dust which forced me to pivot to protect the lens. I had half a second to fix them in the mist of sand that ate them: unreal. Effectively masking the three thousand spectators. The centaurs are alone in my dream.

beni mellal 1-2-2.jpg
Les cavaliers de Fantasia et leurs chevaux pendant la fête des moissons à Beni Mellal. copyright Jacques Bravo

Towards the Imperial road

Carnet de voyage à Meknès, Maroc

HAUT-ATLAS

Carnet de voyage Haut-Atlas, Maroc. Jacques Bravo

La vallée des Aït Bouguemez

 
vallée_ait_bouguemez-38.jpg

Il y a quelque chose de l’Himalaya ou de la cordillère des Andes dans ces vallées d’altitude qui profitent de quelques ruisseaux, gonflés dix jours par an, pour maintenir une agriculture de jardinier méticuleux, persévérant, souvent à plus de deux mille mètres d’altitude. Vue d’en haut, c’est-à-dire d’une montagne à peine plus élevée, la mosaïque des champs, ingéniosité du parcellaire qui profite du moindre bout de terre arable pour donner abri à une semence, est un hymne à la vie.

vallée_ait_bouguemez_2-33.jpg

Ces vallées devraient être, en toute logique géologique et météorologique, un désert pour insectes et rongeurs destinés à nourrir quelques oiseaux de proie. Or elles offrent des pulsations vertes qui s’insinuent, s’infiltrent, se faufilent entre les roches, les à-pics vertigineux, tel un animal géant qui cherche une issue. Oasis sans palmiers, presque sans eau, accablées par tous les écarts de températures. Les noix remplacent les dattes.

battage ble ait bouguemez-9.jpg

L’épi d’orge ne compte pas trente grains. Sur des aires à battre les céréales, des bourricots étiques piétinent les gerbes, lui font rendre gorge, tel qu’on le voit sur la photo prise à Timmit, où un jeune garçon « touille » les gerbes avec une ardeur saisissante, tandis que son père conduit l’attelage. C’est l’autarcie parfaite. Avec évidemment ses limites pour les femmes et les hommes.

coquelicots ait bouguemez-14.jpg

C’est pourtant le plus attachant des pays. Le plus difficile à parcourir parce qu’il faut suivre les lignes de niveau les plus accablantes.

Un monde qui joue avec les repères, non parce qu’il n’est pas hospitalier, au contraire, mais parce que c’est sa nature : dépouillé. Proie potentielle des semi-nomades venus de l’est qui reluquent les excellents pâturages de printemps. La guerre des moutons, ce n’est pas une billevesée. C’est toujours un risque car les assaillants venus du djebel Saghro ne sont pas mieux lotis par la nature.

faucille bouguemez-21.jpg
femme porteuse bouguemez-20.jpg

Aghbalou.

La moisson est effectuée très tôt, les femmes portent aussitôt les lourdes gerbes sur l’aire de battage, on ne distingue plus que leurs pieds.  Le travail est toujours collectif, c’est un facteur essentiel de cohésion sociale

porteuse ble ait bouguemez-30.jpg

Aghbalou, les sources en berbère. à près de 2 000 mètres, on distingue l’aire à battre en haut à droite.

ait_bouguemez_battage_blé-2-1.jpg

Le dépiquetage se fait avec quatre ânes et une vache, conduit cette fois par deux fillettes.

village ait bouguemez 3-35.jpg

J’ai choisi cette image d’un village parce qu’elle est prise de la terrasse où je dormais, les nuits les plus froides de ma vie, chez mon ami Mohammed Achari, enfant du village et homme de bonnes aventures qui, le premier, a conduit les guides venus de Chamonix à l’assaut du M’Goun. Un village en fragments de rucher dont les « abeilles » sont les plus efficaces du monde.

X fermiere ait bouguemez-36.jpg

Une paysanne conduit une vache maigre mais en bonne santé.

village bouguemez 5-37.jpg

Tabant.

Encore ? On peut prendre dix fois ce même village jamais sous le même angle : j’y ai fait trois longs séjours. Tabant est exemplaire par son absence de signes particuliers : ce n’est pas un village de carte postale pour illustrer « les cent plus beaux villages du Maroc » (il y en a des milliers !), c’est l’expression d’une vérité quotidienne. 

vallée_heureuse-3.jpg

Ighririne.

Après l’orage. Trop d’eau à la fois et jamais assez de pluies régulières

four pain ait bouguemez-1.jpg

Tabant.

La cousine de Mohammed Achari cuit le pain dans son four pour tout le hameau, une demie douzaine de maisons. Le pain, apporté chaque matin, est marqué d’un signe distinctif : chaque femme prépare chez elle sa kesra pour sa famille.

village ait bouguemez 2-34.jpg

Iglaouane.

Un des hameaux, construction en terre aux terrasses pas forcément adaptées à la météo.

Comme un visage étonné…

enfant henne ait bouguemez-15.jpg

Cette fillette m’a souvent vu cette semaine-là. Je ne serai jamais un proche, mais je ne suis plus un étranger : elle en profite. Alors que sa mère avait préparé le henné, Elle avait mis les mains dans le plat et, mutine, me montre le résultat plus tard.

F1000003-16.jpg
champs ait bouguemez-11.jpg

Tabant.

J’étais assis, tranquille, guettant les mouvements infinis que le vent, vif à cette altitude, provoque dans les herbes encore grasses de la fonte des neiges, agitant une houle fleurie. Fin juin, c’est le début de l’été dans les montagnes préservées des Aït Bouguemez, au coeur de l’Atlas. Puis j’ai vu une touffe d’herbes bouger différemment, plus vite : elle n’allait pas dans le sens des autres, elle allait quelque part ! Alors, comme dans un film, apparaît insensiblement « le » personnage : sous la botte de foin qui grandit, un visage se détache, puis une silhouette se dessine… Elle entre en scène. Elle file aussitôt, le troupeau n’attend pas. Qu’on ne se trompe pas, ce qui paraît une brassée d’herbes est un lourd ballot. La beauté naturelle de la bergère ne doit pas faire oublier la dureté de la tâche exigeante. Beauté qui me fut donnée quelques secondes.

champs ait bouguemez 2-10.jpg
jeunes filles jouant dans la vallée
Un âne décoré avec des coquelicots dans la vallée
Une femme et son enfant sur une mule

Femme partant à un mariage avec sa fille.

ait bouguemez casbah-5.jpg

Sidi Moussa.

La pyramide est parfaite, il faut l’observer de près pour découvrir, couronnant son sommet, un grenier forteresse, structure typique du pays des montagnards berbères. Si chacun récoltait ses champs, les réserves étaient mises en commun et solidement gardées. Si le grain ne meurt… La seule pente en glacis pouvait décourager les pillards ou les hommes de main d’un caïd trop gourmand. Mais, pour assurer la consommation de printemps, la fameuse « soudure », un gardien veillait. Chacun allait se servir selon ses besoins. L’homme veillait jour et nuit dans ce garde-manger qui n’a pas d’équivalent ailleurs. À ses pieds, les futures récoltes…

baise main 2 bouguemez-8.jpg

Au pied de la colline de Sidi Moussa, un baise-main matinal. Nous sommes dans la vallée heureuse.

priere ait bouguemez-31.jpg

Le muezzin appelle à la prière : il ne sera sans doute pas remplacé par une sono.  Sa voix retentit loin dans la vallée et son écho se propage.

marche tabant 3 bouguemez-29.jpg

Tabant.

Le marché du dimanche : un vrai marché de montagne, avec des produits essentiels. Rien que des hommes pour faire les courses, comme souvent. Une femme, adossée à la terrasse, leur tourne le dos. Ci-dessous, superbement vêtue pour aller à une fête, une  jeune fille de quinze ans  jette un regard derrière la fenêtre. C’est Fatima, la fille de mon ami Achari. 

Marché de Tabant , dans la vallée des Ait Bouguemez. Photographie de Jacques Bravo
jeune fille bougemez-2.jpg

Le travail des femmes et les taches des enfants

Lavandières dans un ruisseau, dans la vallée des Ait Bouguemez. Photographie de Jacques Bravo
Fermière et sa poule dans la vallée des Ait Bouguemez. Photographie de Jacques Bravo
Deux enfants actionnent la manivelle d'un puits pour tirer l'eau dans la vallée des Ait Bouguemez. Photographie de Jacques Bravo
Fabrication d'un tapis dans la vallée des Ait Bouguemez. Photographie de Jacques Bravo
Construction de maison dans la vallée des Ait Bouguemez. Photographie de Jacques Bravo

Construction d'une maison en pisé et pierres

 

Les cascades d'Ouzoud

Les cascades d'Ouzoud au Maroc. Photographie de Jacques Bravo
Les cascades d'Ouzoud au Maroc. Photographie de Jacques Bravo

Beni Mellal

 
Les cavaliers de Fantasia et leurs chevaux pendant la fête des moissons à Beni Mellal. copyright Jacques Bravo

Beni Mellal.

 C’est le temps fort de la fête des moissons chez les Zaïan. Forcément, on pense à Delacroix. J’étais juché sur le toit d’une voiture et les cavaliers fonçaient sur moi, contre le vent, développant une poussière âcre qui m’obligeait à pivoter pour protéger l’objectif. J’avais une demi-seconde pour les fixer dans ce brouillard de sable qui les mangeait : irréel. Masquant efficacement les trois mille spectateurs. Les centaures sont seuls dans mon rêve.

beni mellal 1-2-2.jpg
Les cavaliers de Fantasia et leurs chevaux pendant la fête des moissons à Beni Mellal. copyright Jacques Bravo

Vers la route Impériale

Carnet de voyage à Meknès, Maroc