MEDITERRANEAN MOROCCO

Capture d’écran 2018-12-15 à 13.07.13.jp

Facing the rising sun, the Rif coast describes an immense crescent from Ceuta to Oujda, protected in the south by tangled mountains, difficult to access, covered with deep forests, sheared by ravines on which not the least blade of grass can't hang on. It was not the Garden of Eden: the streams of milk and honey do not flow through these flowering valleys.

So that the men of the Rif had to periodically leave their mountains to harvest and harvest the others. Nobody came to their house. This is why their coast, otherwise so attractive, was the least popular in Morocco. It was yesterday. Today, these landscapes which can remind Navarre or Lozère are accessible, a beautiful road now describes the coast: the Rif is no longer an island, but a destination of character. Where the impression of being the first is not always unfounded. Since the Rif has been an island for so long, it has something left. It is an old story but deserves to be told.

 
paysage env tanger 2.jpg

Rif.

The valleys are linked endlessly, like a green slide, most often arid but sometimes crossed as here by valleys of oleanders. The relief offers belvedere series that multiply the points of view

paysage env tanger 3.jpg

Rif.

If the mountains are not the highest in Morocco - Mount Tidighine only reaches 2,450 meters - they are the most airtight. The valleys, separated from the Mediterranean or the Atlantic influence, can be very dry, or even resemble the steppe. Very segmented, isolated universe, which forged the famous Rif character.

548 Medina de Tetouan xr-8.jpg
 

Tetouan.

Construction game, model, dream of a Cubist painter, Tétouan settled a few kilometers from the sea, near a small but reassuring estuary. A city that is not elusive but not easy to approach, and that you learn to love: you have to take your time, forget your references, conquer it. It’s not a city you meet “on your way”, you have to choose it, look for it

femme souk tetouan_DxOFP.jpg

Tetouan.

The agreement is so perfect between the small flowerpot and the clothing of this Rifaine that went to the market, that I still suppose that the seller imagined it. White pot like his haik. Pink and white stripes, like flowers. The woman immediately “flashed”. I can still see his astonishment at this harmony, these correspondences. Immediately, she called her partner, as if she were saying to him: "Look, it's like us! "

Even the head of the sunflower recalls the little pompom on his hat.

vue gen tetouan.jpg

Tetouan.

Its name means "springs" that feed gardens and orchards.

"The city presents the most laughing aspect that one could see" said one esthete.

It is a lively, picturesque, lively city, gifted for (good) surprises. And its region is magnificent.

marche poterie bou said-4.jpg

Tetouan.

Souk el Sebt by Saïd.

marche bou said 2-5.jpg
marche bou said-3.jpg
F1000015-6.jpg
centre historique tetouan-11.jpg
F1000009-7.jpg
F1000007-9.jpg
542 Place du Palais R#1067E-2.jpg
F1000006-13.jpg
medina tetouan-12.jpg
561 Ancienne gare de #10691-10.jpg
zaouia_raisounia_à_tetouan.jpg

MAROC MÉDITERRANÉEN

Tournée vers le soleil levant, la côte du Rif décrit un immense croissant de Ceuta à Oujda, protégée au sud par des montagnes enchevêtrées, d’accès difficile, couvertes de forêts profondes, cisaillées par des ravins sur lesquels pas le moindre brin d’herbe ne peut s’accrocher. Ce n’était pas le jardin d’Éden : les ruisseaux de lait et de miel ne coulent pas dans ces vallées fleuries.

Si bien que les hommes du Rif devaient quitter périodiquement leurs montagnes pour faire les moissons et les vendanges chez les autres. Personne ne venait chez eux. C’est pourquoi leur côte, par ailleurs si engageante, était la moins courue du Maroc. C’était hier. Aujourd’hui, ces paysages qui peuvent rappeler la Navarre ou la Lozère sont accessibles, une belle route décrit désormais le littoral : le Rif n’est plus une île, mais une destination de caractère. Où l’impression d’être le premier n’est pas toujours infondée. Puisque le Rif a été si longtemps une île, il lui en reste quelque chose. C’est une vieille histoire mais qui mérite d’être contée.

 

Rif.

Les vallées s’enchaînent à l’infini, comme un toboggan, verdoyant, le plus souvent aride mais parfois traversé comme ici par des vallées de lauriers roses. Le relief offre des séries de belvédère qui multiplient les points de vue

Rif.

Si les montagnes ne sont pas les plus hautes du Maroc – le mont Tidighine n’atteint que 2 450 mètres –, elles sont les plus hermétiques. Les vallées, séparées de la Méditerranée ou de l’influence atlantique, peuvent être très sèches, voire ressembler à la steppe. Univers très segmenté, isolé, qui a forgé le célèbre caractère rifain.

 

Tétouan.

Jeu de construction, maquette, rêve de peintre cubiste, Tétouan s’est établie à quelques kilomètres de la mer, près d’un estuaire exigu mais rassurant. Une ville non pas insaisissable mais peu évidente à approcher, et que l’on apprend à aimer : il faut prendre son temps, oublier ses références, faire sa conquête. Ce n’est pas une ville qu’on rencontre « sur sa route », il faut la choisir, la rechercher

Tétouan.

L’accord est tellement parfait entre le petit pot de fleurs et le vêtement de cette Rifaine descendue au marché, que je suppose encore que le vendeur l’a imaginé. Pot blanc comme son haïk. Rayures roses et blanches, comme les fleurs. La femme a « flashé » aussitôt. Je vois encore son étonnement devant cette harmonie, ces correspondances. Tout de suite, elle a appelé sa compagne, comme si elle lui disait : « Regarde, c’est comme nous ! »

Même la tête du tournesol rappelle le petit pompon sur son chapeau.

Tétouan.

Son nom signifie « les sources » qui nourrissent jardins et vergers. 

« La ville présente l’aspect le plus riant que l’on pût voir » a dit un esthète.

C’est une ville animée, pittoresque, vivante, douée pour les (bonnes) surprises. Et sa région est magnifique.

Tétouan.

Souk el Sebt de Saïd.

© 2019 by Jacques Bravo