Indonesia: Expedition in Forgotten Lands by the Iris Foundation

 

EPISODE 12

 

IN WHICH YOU FIND FACING A TRIBE ON THE FOOT OF WAR

 

Carnet de voyage du photographe Jacques Bravo dans les peties iles de la sonde en Indonésie. Ile d'Alor

August 1, 2015

In the early morning we sink into the amazing channel leading to Kalabahi. We slide on ultra calm water along the island of Alor to reach the port of Kalabahi. Curious triangular structures placed on the water are used for static lamparo fishing. A sea eagle and a few terns fly quickly over us. On each side of the channel the islands are inhabited.

_MG_4222-2.dopro100.jpg
Ile d'Alor, marché de Kalabahi-.jpg
Ile d'Alor, marché de Kalabahi--6.jpg

On arrival in the port, the locals on the quay watch us finish our breakfast: this time the roles are reversed.

We are going to the market. We are looking for fresh fish for sushi. There are pretty herring and marlin. Agus will later find tuna which he will prepare in a marinade with green mango and lemon juice. The local guide tells me about an interesting traditional salad: papaya flowers, banana flowers, green papaya, cassava leaves. Agus buys the ingredients and he will make us this “bizarre” salad, the second of its kind, after the seaweed salad.

The market is rich in vegetables and fruits but much less in fish. Besides, last night there were no fish caught by the 10 fishermen in the harbor of Pantar! Where did the fish go?

 

Ile d'Alor, marché de Kalabahi--3.jpg
Ile d'Alor, marché de Kalabahi--2.jpg
Ile d'Alor, marché de Kalabahi--5.jpg

The city is quite large. We take, with our local guides, a mini-bus half an hour to go to the village of Takpala, type “heritage village” of the Abui ethnic group. The traditional houses are beautiful, made of wood assembled with pegs and ropes; large very sloping and covering roofs are made of Alang-Alang grass. Five families still live there, and show tourists their way of life. The others live in the surrounding villages but they all come back for the traditional festivals and they gather there to eat and dance. There are two small special houses which carry flags for the festivals: black flag for the Moslem food, without pork, the other with the white flag for the Christians, because everyone is invited to the traditional festivals.

 

Ile d'Alor, village de Takpala--5.jpg
Ile d'Alor, village de Takpala--17.jpg

The animist origin is common to all! It seems that today there are 70% of Christians on the island and 30% of Muslims, it seems rather to us that it would be 50/50.

The large houses on stilts have four levels. The first level, open, is the place of common life where we are received. A second level, under the roof, is that of cooking and living together during the monsoons. A third is the granary, and a fourth or the Moko bronze drum and large cymbals are kept.

Musical instruments are important for parties and very precious. Indeed a Moko is the dowry essential for the marriage of young girls.

 

Ile d'Alor, village de Takpala--4.jpg
Ile d'Alor, village de Takpala-.jpg

Three social classes are defined in a hereditary manner: the class of kings, that of warriors, and that of mediators. One of them gives us a magnificent demonstration in warrior attire with his bow, shield and arrows. Each arrow is intended for a particular prey: deer, pig, or even human. 100 years earlier, the clans were still at war. Today they practice bow hunting.

 

Ile d'Alor, village de Takpala--7.jpg
Ile d'Alor, village de Takpala--6.jpg
Ile d'Alor, village de Takpala--20.jpg
Ile d'Alor, village de Takpala--14.jpg

Il y a des femmes qui vendent des petits paniers, des petits bijoux, des ikats... L’une d’entre elles écrasent des baies de café au mortier.

Ile d'Alor, village de Takpala--15.jpg
Ile d'Alor, village de Takpala--10.jpg
Ile d'Alor, village de Takpala--22.jpg
Ile d'Alor, village de Takpala--19.jpg
Ile d'Alor, village de Takpala--18.jpg
Ile d'Alor, village de Takpala--13.jpg
livre au premier matin du monde
Capture d’écran 2018-10-30 à 11.02.25.pn

Indonésie : Expédition en Terres Oubliées de la Fondation Iris

 

ÉPISODE 12

DANS LEQUEL ON SE RETROUVE FACE À UNE TRIBU SUR LE PIED DE GUERRE

Carnet de voyage du photographe Jacques Bravo dans les peties iles de la sonde en Indonésie. Ile d'Alor

1 Août 2015

Au petit matin nous nous enfonçons dans l’étonnant chenal menant à Kalabahi. Nous glissons sur l’eau ultra calme le long de l’île d’Alor pour atteindre le port de Kalabahi. De curieuses structures triangulaires posées sur l’eau servent à la pêche au lamparo statique. Un aigle marin et quelques sternes volent rapidement au dessus de nous. De chaque coté du chenal les îles sont habitées.

_MG_4222-2.dopro100.jpg

À l’arrivée dans le port, les locaux sur le quai nous regardent finir notre petit déjeuner : cette fois les rôles sont inversés.

Nous allons au marché. Nous cherchons du poisson frais pour les sushis. On trouve de jolis harengs et du marlin. Agus trouvera plus tard du thon qu’il préparera en marinade avec de la mangue verte et du jus de citron. La guide local me parle d’une salade traditionnelle intéressante: fleurs de papaye, fleurs de bananier, papaye verte, feuilles de manioc. Agus achète les ingrédients et il nous fera cette salade “bizarre”, la deuxième du genre, après la salade d’algues.

Le marché est riche en légumes et en fruits mais beaucoup moins en poisson. D’ailleurs hier soir il n’y avait aucun poisson pêché par les 10 pêcheurs dans la rade de Pantar! Où sont donc passés les poissons?

 

La ville est assez grande. Nous prenons, avec nos guides locaux, un mini-bus une petite demi-heure pour aller au village de Takpala, type “heritage village” de l’ethnie Abui. Les maisons traditionnelles sont belles, en bois assemblé avec des chevilles et des cordes ; de grands toits très pentus et couvrants sont faits d’herbe Alang-Alang. Cinq familles vivent encore là, et montrent aux touristes leur mode de vie. Les autres vivent dans les villages alentour mais ils reviennent tous pour les fêtes traditionnelles et ils se rassemblent là pour manger et danser. Il y a deux petites maisons spéciales qui portent des drapeaux pour les fêtes : drapeau noir pour la nourriture musulmane, sans porc, l’autre au drapeau blanc pour les chrétiens, car tout le monde est convié aux fêtes traditionnelles.

 

L’origine animiste est commune à tous! Il paraît qu’il y a aujourd’hui 70% de chrétiens sur l’île et 30% de musulmans, il semble plutôt à nos yeux que ce serait 50/50.

Les grandes maisons sur pilotis comportent quatre niveaux. Le premier niveau, ouvert, est le lieu de vie en commun où nous sommes reçus. Un second niveau, sous le toit, est celui de la cuisine et de la vie en commun lors des moussons. Un troisième est le grenier à grain, et un quatrième ou le tambour Moko en bronze ainsi que des grandes cymbales sont conservées.

Les instruments de musique sont importants pour les fêtes et très précieux. En effet un Moko est la dot indispensable pour le mariage des jeunes filles.

 

Trois classes sociales sont définies de manière héréditaire : la classe des rois, celle des guerriers, et celle des médiateurs. L’un d’eux nous fait une magnifique démonstration en tenue de guerrier avec son arc, son bouclier et ses flèches. Chaque flèche est destinée à une proie particulière : daim, cochon, ou même homme. 100 ans plus tôt, les clans se faisaient encore la guerre. Aujourd’hui ils pratiquent la chasse à l’arc.

 

Il y a des femmes qui vendent des petits paniers, des petits bijoux, des ikats... L’une d’entre elles écrasent des baies de café au mortier.

livre au premier matin du monde
Capture d’écran 2018-10-30 à 11.02.25.pn

© 2019 by Jacques Bravo