Indonesia: Iris Foundation Expedition to Forgotten Lands

 

EPISODE 2

WHERE WEATHER CONDITIONS KEEP THE VALUABLE TEAM

FROM THE IRIS FOUNDATION ON THE ISLAND OF SUMBAWA

Carnet de voyage du photographe Jacques Bravo dans les peties iles de la sonde en Indonésie. Ile de Sumbawa

 

July 14, 2015

The boat does not obtain authorization from the harbor master's office to leave the bay this morning, because the seas are very rough offshore. Never mind, this will be the opportunity to discover the island of Sumbawa. After a hearty breakfast on the boat, we take the shuttle to reach the village of Lamere in the small harbor where we are sheltered.

The village of Lamere, on the island of Sumbawa

 

Small traditional shipyards shaded by coconut leaves where artisans work in groups of two or three are scattered around the port. Everything is wood, nothing metal. A few hand saws and electric drills, and simple hammers and wood knives make it possible to obtain beautiful boards at least 3 cm thick. We haven't seen the bending system. The planks are assembled by pegs of a red wood which swells in water and which also has medicinal properties acting on the kidneys, says Agus, our guide. Between each plank are placed strips of thin corky bark for waterproofing. Subsequently the slits are still caulked with bamboo powder or wool.

 

Children are laughing everywhere and entire families are on their doorstep. All the inhabitants are happy to see us and to have their picture taken, we have a beautiful escort, children, goats, roosters, ...

We find the atmosphere of our villages of yesteryear, where life is transported to the street ...

The houses are made of wood, on stilts, clay on the ground. All kinds of rubbish litter the ground. There is a satellite dish in front of most houses and the cell phone is everywhere ... a curious contrast to this simple life.

The teacher invites us to his house, he tells us that there are 500 children in the village.

 

In the afternoon Agus finds three taxis that allow us to go to Oicaba beach and the village of Wera further north.

Along the way we meet only a few large trees, only large tamarind trees remain as well as a few mango trees in the villages. In the surroundings: thorny Acacia , Jatropha gossypiifolia , Calotropis gigantea , numerous invasive Lantana , Ziziphus (jujube), some Pandanus odoratu s, but the diversity is poor. The crops are mainly maize mixed with peanuts or rice fields recycled into peanuts or shallots in the dry season, and a few banana trees.

Sur la route d'Oicaba, Sumbawa--4.jpg

 

There are trees that are widely used as barriers and as fodder, cut and tortured in all directions. They neither flower nor bear fruit, what species are they? Riddle that we will not solve.

Sur la route d'Oicaba, Sumbawa--13.jpg
Sur la route d'Oicaba, Sumbawa--6.jpg

Further into the countryside, we stop at an artisanal brickyard, where young girls show us the manufacturing process in a general good mood.

Sur la route d'Oicaba, Sumbawa--10.jpg
Sur la route d'Oicaba, Sumbawa--12.jpg
Sur la route d'Oicaba, Sumbawa--7.jpg

 

In Oicaba we discover a black sand beach with beautiful rollers, in which we throw ourselves with pleasure. Agathe finds a large dead tetraodon (ball fish) from which she retrieves the teeth. In the rocks there is a natural source of hot water to rinse off.

Village de Oicaba, Sumbawa-.jpg
Oicaba, Sumbawa--2.jpg
Oicaba, Sumbawa-.jpg
Oicaba, Sumbawa--4.jpg

 

The evening light is already there when we arrive at the village of Wera. On the beach is an absolutely remarkable traditional shipyard. A prow of a boat under construction attracts us, under a palm roof. Only the bottom of the boat is built, it seems abandoned, it has a very beautiful curved line, it is 40 meters long. Agus tells us that it takes two years to build a boat like this. This is a cargo ship.

Village de Wera, Sumbawa--11.jpg
Village de Wera, Sumbawa--12.jpg
Village de Wera, Sumbawa--5.jpg

Children play and dream of crossing ...

Village de Wera, Sumbawa--2.jpg

 

And the teens in mob show off on the pier ...

 

Further in the village, on the edge of the beach, a woman is weaving fabrics. We hear the click of the loom. We end up buying him several “ Songket ”, colored grid fabrics, usually worn around the waist. The news travels quickly, in five minutes other women arrive with their goods ...

Village de Wera, Sumbawa--14.jpg
livre au premier matin du monde
Capture d’écran 2018-09-25 à 19.29.14.pn

Indonésie : Expédition en Terres Oubliées de la Fondation Iris

 

ÉPISODE 2

 OÙ LES CONDITIONS MÉTÉO RETIENNENT LA VALEUREUSE ÉQUIPE

DE LA FONDATION IRIS SUR L’ÎLE DE SUMBAWA

Carnet de voyage du photographe Jacques Bravo dans les peties iles de la sonde en Indonésie. Ile de Sumbawa

14 Juillet 2015 

Le bateau n’obtient pas l’autorisation de la capitainerie de quitter la baie ce matin, car la mer est très forte au large. Qu’à cela ne tienne, ce sera l’occasion de découvrir l’île de Sumbawa. Après un copieux petit déjeuner pris sur le bateau, nous prenons la navette pour rejoindre le village de Lamere dans la petite rade où nous sommes à l’abri.

Le village de Lamere, sur l’île de Sumbawa

Des petits chantiers navals traditionnels ombragés par des feuilles de cocotier où travaillent des artisans par groupes de deux ou trois s’égrènent sur le port. Tout est en bois, rien en métal. Quelques scies et perceuses électriques à main, et de simples marteaux et couteaux à bois permettent d’obtenir de belles planches de 3 cm d’épaisseur au moins. Nous n’avons pas vu le système de cintrage. Les planches sont assemblées par des chevilles d’un bois rouge qui gonfle dans l’eau et qui a aussi des propriétés médicinales agissant sur les reins nous dit Agus, notre guide. Entre chaque planche sont placées des lames d’écorce fine et liégeuse pour l’étanchéité. Par la suite les fentes sont encore calfeutrées par de la poudre de bambou ou de la laine.

Partout des enfants éclatent de rire et des familles entières sont sur le pas de leur porte. Tout les habitants sont heureux de nous voir et de se faire prendre en photo, nous avons une belle escorte, des enfants, des chèvres, des coqs,...

On retrouve l’atmosphère de nos villages d’antan, où la vie se retrouve transportée dans la rue...

Les maisons sont en bois, sur pilotis, terre battue au sol. Toutes sortes de détritus jonchent le sol. Il y a une antenne parabolique devant la plupart des maisons et le téléphone portable est omniprésent... curieux contraste avec cette vie simple.

L’instituteur nous invite dans sa maison, il nous apprend qu’il y a 500 enfants dans le village.

L’après-midi Agus trouve trois taxis qui nous permettent d’aller vers la plage d’Oicaba et le village de Wera plus au nord.

En chemin nous ne rencontrons que peu de grands arbres, seuls de grands tamariniers subsistent ainsi que quelques manguiers dans les villages. Dans les alentours : des Acacia épineux, des Jatropha gossypiifolia, des Calotropis gigantea, de nombreux Lantana envahissants, des Ziziphus (jujubiers), quelques Pandanus odoratus, mais la diversité est pauvre. Les cultures sont essentiellement du maïs en mélange avec de l’arachide ou des rizières recyclées en culture d’arachides ou d’échalotes en saison sèche, et quelques bananiers.

Il existe des arbres largement utilisés comme barrière et comme fourrage, coupés et torturés ainsi dans tous les sens. Ils ne fleurissent ni ne fructifient, de quelle espèce sont-ils? Énigme que nous ne résoudrons pas.

Plus loin dans la campagne, nous nous arrêtons à une briqueterie artisanale, où des jeunes filles nous montrent le processus de fabrication dans la bonne humeur générale.

À Oicaba nous découvrons une plage de sable noir avec de beaux rouleaux, dans lesquels nous nous jetons avec plaisir. Agathe trouve un gros tétraodon (poisson boule) mort dont elle récupère les dents. Dans les rochers il y a une source naturelle d’eau chaude pour se rincer.

La lumière du soir est déjà là quand nous arrivons au village de Wera. Sur la plage se trouve un chantier naval traditionnel absolument remarquable. Une proue de bateau en construction nous attire, sous un toit de palme. Seul le fond du bateau est construit, il semble abandonné, il a une très belle ligne courbe, il fait 40 mètres de long. Agus nous dit qu’il faut deux ans pour construire un bateau comme celui-ci. Il s’agit d’un cargo.

Les enfants jouent et rêvent de traversée...

Et les ados en mob crânent sur la jetée...

Plus loin dans le village, en bordure de plage, une femme tisse des étoffes. On entend le claquement du métier à tisser. On finit par lui acheter plusieurs « Songket », tissus de couleurs quadrillés, généralement portés autour de la taille. Les nouvelles vont vite, en cinq minutes d’autres femmes arrivent avec leurs marchandises...

livre au premier matin du monde
Capture d’écran 2018-09-25 à 19.29.14.pn

© 2019 by Jacques Bravo