HYMN TO LIFE

Capture d’écran 2019-07-23 à 08.31.41.jp

 

Roadmap by Jacques Bravo & Francois Pédron

 

It is indeed a road book because we discovered a world unknown to us, so millions of French people who pass in front of the architectural site without suspecting the human wealth it shelters.

This clearly identified project turned out to be even more exciting than expected. For two months we have approached with circumspection and respect and our vision has changed: there is so much to say and to show, by image and words.

We were greeted with the greatest loyalty and little by little, over the meetings, our status changed spontaneously. The doctor general introduced us first as "journalists", then the directors of a book, these last days when he preceded us in a room, he announced to us: "they are friends". Which gives all its meaning at work undertaken. Impossible not to remain indifferent, but simply distant. We are now involved in these pages of human history. Men of good will, they are all like this wonderful Phillip Jackson whose father volunteered in 1915, resisted in 1942, deported, died before the eyes of his son. Death for France and the most beautiful idea of ​​Liberty. Like Jacques Beaugé who sacrificed himself to El Alamein to save his fellow fighters. Who pleads for a life justified by an invincible faith, while he has been blind and deprived of his two hands for more than sixty years. It has become a benchmark worldwide. Like Madeleine Aylmer-Roubenne, camp companion of Geneviève de Gaulle, animated by the same energy. . And it is also these extraordinary women who come every day near a husband whom they pamper, as Mme Mazier has been presenting every afternoon for thirty years. Each resident, 'guest' as the very subtle Victor Altabert says with a smile, is an essential fragment of our history. What we want to testify - every day more - since we have the privilege of approaching them. It is a look that will no longer have an object in a few years. The time of remembrance will not wait.

302.jpg

 

Nadia Karczmar

 

Age has shaped his face out of time, out of the fabric of history into which life has plunged him violently. The image first, imposes itself on all. Hieratic, sculpted, impeccably styled by Sébastien, choosing with taste often vibrant colors, it defies time. Statufied? especially not ! The high cheekbones, the agile eye, always surrounded, it evokes more a princess of the steppes who would have been mistaken for a film than an old lady even charming. We want to approach it, but we dare not disturb this order. There is ritual in these afternoons in the sun, on the living terrace of the Foyer where everyone can meet. Everyone greets Nadia.

(click on the Pdf to read the full portrait)

043%20Marcel%20Haro.jpg

 

Marcel Haro

 

He has only one treasure, his photo album. He even managed to make a self-portrait during artillery preparation in Tonkin, a few minutes before he went on the attack. These images punctuate his life, they are the limits that he can see from afar. His (pretty) wife and his marriage in 1952, before he embarked in Indochina. And above all his Renault B 1 bis tank, his "Normandy" which he drove at the head of the parade given in honor of King George VI in 1938 ...

(click on the Pdf to read the full portrait)

059%20Guy%20Condominas.jpg

 

Guy Condominas

 

At first it was an enigma. He stood most willingly in his room and, in the darkness, you could only see his sharp face, underlined by a pointed goatee, and his black eye. It looked like an engraving of the Journal des Voyages, an old scholar, somewhere in the mountains of the north. He never talks about his story, he hardly ever spoke. He was renewing the confinement he suffered during his childhood. It is an episode too forgotten of what will become the war of Indochina ...

(click on the Pdf to read the full portrait)

048%20Phillip%20Jackson.jpg

 

Phillip Jackson

 

Even better than a character, it is a nature. Barred, the inquisitive eye and the marked eyebrow of a Lee Marvin, he is naturally comforting. The grip is solid, the reception is direct, it has the pleasure of people who hide nothing. The memory is flawless, he will tell us in a few words why and how his father, "Doctor Jack" died for France, and how he and his mother survived the Nazi death camps.

(click on the Pdf to read the full portrait)

046_Jacques_Beaugé,_dit_Jacques_Lebreton

 

Jacques Beaugé, known as Jacques Lebreton

 

If he has two surnames, it is the least as his existence has been complex. His life has made him an extraordinary character. The first meeting is intimidating. The very sculpted face, masked by dark glasses, the stamped voice, the easy verb, the almost rogue tone, the back turned, it is impressive.

A profile of a centurion with the ease of a tribune and a stature of the third line of rugby, he is not a victim. To really approach him you will need a second meeting, his books. Because it is imperative to start at the beginning ...

(click on the Pdf to read the full portrait)

033%20Madeleine%20Aylmer-Roubenne.jpg

 

Madeleine Aylmer Roubenne

 

She was fifteen when France went to war. She was twenty when she was thrown into Ravensbrück camp. She loved books and cinema, she was the only and pampered daughter of porcelain traders. Nothing predestined him to play such an active role in the resistance, except love and a keen sense of justice which made him refuse the fatality of defeat. His name was Jean Aylmer, he was hardly older than her, 22 years old, he was the friend of a cousin. From an English father he could easily have protected himself, but he had chosen France which he would serve until death.

(click on the Pdf to read the full portrait)

039%20Armelle%20Drouan.jpg

 

Armelle Drouan

 

The years have undoubtedly given her back her little girl voice. A flute voice which nevertheless creeps into the flow of conversations. It was she who started the conversation at a party in Moussy, when the INI boarders are the distinguished hosts of Gueules Cassées. We were sunbathing near the goldfish pond while chatting, in a country party atmosphere where everything is so well organized that nothing seems 'orderly'. His keen gaze follows the flight of birds. Breton of Mesquer, familiar with the Brière, she learned about birds in this perfectly preserved site. Such a lively look, a mobility of mind that completely makes you forget your handicap.

(click on the Pdf to read the full portrait)

030%20Marie-Ve%CC%81ronique%20Poggioli.j

 

Marie-Véronique Poggioli

 

Miss Poggioli, she is very attached to the "miss", interrupts her work to receive us. She writes letters to help residents, she sighs as if she is overwhelmed. It has set up an office living room which is a flagship of the INI. Its territory which denies the passage of time. We have often seen her in great conversation with visitors, she leaves the door ajar so that we do not disturb her while knocking on the door. The word carelessness never made sense to her. No doubt the example of his father, a naval officer. We know that on the Royal's boats, everything must be clear.

(click on the Pdf to read the full portrait)

032%20Ine%CC%80s%20Etcheto-Reisz.jpg

 

Inès Etcheto Reisz

She wears a legendary princess first name, and she wears it wonderfully, because she is a real princess, by the look, the extreme distinction, the elegance of her thought. She reigns with discretion over this institution, erasing herself voluntarily, not wanting to take a place in the human landscape. But it attracts all eyes, and tributes. At the same time very surrounded and very secretive.

(click on the Pdf to read the full portrait)

070%20Mathieu-Franc%CC%A7ois%20Agnello.j

 

Mathieu François Agnello

He has an artist physique and he is an artist. It is the heart of the comfort device, it manages the workshop of ghost members who have not yet found their master, it works the precision mechanics and the light resins which must be forgotten. He is an artist who has heart because, in his hands, concentrates everything that is wrong, and he must think of the hearts of others. Hidden beneath his conjuring side - it is normal, he conceals - an attentive mind and a listening of great finesse. He always finds the word for laughter, the humor that will break the silence of suffering, make a breach in the confinement in pain.

(click on the Pdf to read the full portrait)

057_Jean_Lartéguy.jpg

 

Afterword by Jean Lartéguy

 

"Child, I stopped at the Invalides. Lifting my nose, I saw, in the soldiers' church, the flags, some in tatters, harvested by Napoleon in the sun of Austerlitz. From Alexander to Napoleon, was the time So short? Did Napoleon, as a child, dream like me of Alexander and the conquest of the world?

Time united them.

Here I am at the age where time is panicking and galloping, where memories are jostling before a door that will close. I can't slow down even if I can't breathe too quickly to chase it.

I have known Spanish prisons and, in the solitude of a cell, I found my old enemy, time immobile and the anguish that always accompanies it. Beaches of Italy and France, dark forests of the Vosges, the Rhine that you cross with rubber canoes that seem like toys. The world belongs to us, we are proud of our brand new stripes, our medals ...

I hung out on the battlefields where the grass was growing, I didn't recognize the cities where we had fought. In vain, I searched the monuments for the names of my friends who had died to deliver them. But time always pushed me forward. "Faster, faster! he said to me. Don't you see that life is measured to you? "

At the Invalides, I finally put my baggage. Time finally gave me a break and whispered to me: "If I grant you the leisure, you will finally be able to write the book, the last one, where you will reveal your truth if you ever knew it".

In the shadow of the Golden Dome, under the arches of the Cour d'Honneur, time stood still for a moment. "

 

Jean Lartéguy

 

Livre Hymne à la vie

HYMNE À LA VIE

Capture d’écran 2019-07-23 à 08.31.41.jp

Carnet de route de Jacques Bravo & Francois Pédron

​​Il s’agit bien d’un carnet de route car nous avons découvert un monde inconnu de nous, donc des millions de français qui passent devant le site architectural sans se douter de la richesse humaine qu’il abrite.

Ce projet clairement identifié s’est révélé encore plus passionnant que prévu. Depuis deux mois nous nous sommes approchés avec circonspection et respect et notre vision s’est modifiée : il y a tant à dire et à montrer, par l’image et les mots.

 Nous avons été accueillis avec la plus grande loyauté et petit à petit, au fil des rendez-vous, notre statut a changé spontanément. Le médecin général nous présentait d’abord comme des « journalistes », puis les réalisateurs d’un livre, ces derniers jours quand il nous précédait dans une chambre, il nous annonçait : « ce sont des amis ».Ce qui donne tout son sens au travail entrepris. Impossible de rester non pas indifférent, mais simplement distant. Nous sommes désormais impliqués dans ces pages de l’histoire de l’homme. Des hommes de bonne volonté, ils le sont tous comme ce merveilleux Phillip Jackson dont le père était volontaire dès 1915, résistant en 1942, déporté, mort sous les yeux de son fils. Mort pour la France et la plus belle des idées de Liberté. Comme Jacques Beaugé qui s’est sacrifié à El Alamein pour sauver ses compagnons de lutte. Qui plaide pour une vie justifiée par une foi invincible, alors qu’il est aveugle et privé de ses deux mains depuis plus de soixante ans. Il est devenu une référence dans le monde entier. Comme Madeleine Aylmer-Roubenne, compagne de camp de Geneviève de Gaulle, animée de la même énergie. . Et ce sont aussi ces femmes extraordinaires qui viennent chaque jour près d’un mari qu’elles dorlotent, comme Mme Mazier présente chaque après midi depuis trente ans. Chaque pensionnaire, ‘invité’ comme le dit en souriant le très subtil Victor Altabert, est un fragment essentiel de notre histoire. Ce dont nous avons envie de témoigner –chaque jour davantage- puisque nous avons le privilège de les approcher .C’est un regard qui n’aura plus d‘objet dans quelques années. Le temps du souvenir n’attendra pas.

302.jpg

Nadia Karczmar 

 

L’âge lui a modelé un visage hors du temps, hors même de la trame de l’Histoire dans laquelle la vie l’a pourtant plongé avec violence. L’image d’abord, s’impose à tous. Hiératique, sculptée, impeccablement coiffée par Sébastien, choisissant avec goût des couleurs souvent éclatantes, elle défie le temps. Statufiée ? surtout pas ! Les pommettes hautes, l’œil agile, toujours entourée,  elle évoque plus une princesse des steppes qui se serait trompée de film qu’une vieille dame même charmante. On a envie de l’approcher, mais on n’ose pas troubler cet ordonnancement. Il y a du rituel dans ces après-midi au soleil, à la terrasse vivante du Foyer où tout le monde peut se retrouver. Tout le monde salue Nadia.

(cliquez sur le Pdf pour lire le portrait complet)

043%20Marcel%20Haro.jpg

 Marcel Haro

Il n’a plus qu’un trésor, son album photo. Il a même réussi à faire un autoportrait pendant une préparation d’artillerie dans le Tonkin, quelques minutes avant qu’il parte à l’attaque. Ces images rythment sa vie, elles en sont les bornes qu’il peut voir de loin. Sa (jolie) femme et son mariage en 1952, avant qu’il n’embarque en Indochine. Et surtout son char Renault B 1 bis, son « Normandie » qu’il pilotait en tête du défilé donné en l’honneur du roi George VI en 1938...

(cliquez sur le Pdf pour lire le portrait complet)

059%20Guy%20Condominas.jpg

Guy Condominas

 

Il a d’abord été une énigme. Il se tenait le plus volontiers dans sa chambre et, dans la pénombre, on ne voyait que son visage aigu, souligné par une barbiche taillée en pointe, et son œil noir. On aurait dit une gravure du Journal des Voyages, un vieux lettré, quelque part dans les montagnes du nord. Il ne parle jamais de son histoire, il ne parlait d’ailleurs pratiquement pas. Il renouvelait l’enfermement dont il a été victime pendant son enfance. C’est un épisode trop oublié de ce qui deviendra la guerre d’Indochine...

(cliquez sur le Pdf pour lire le portrait complet)

048%20Phillip%20Jackson.jpg

Phillip Jackson

 

Encore mieux qu’un personnage, c’est une nature. Baraqué, l’œil inquisiteur et le sourcil marqué d’un Lee Marvin, il est d’un naturel réconfortant. La poigne est solide, l’accueil est direct, il a l’agrément des gens qui ne cachent rien. La mémoire est sans faille, il nous dira en quelques mots pourquoi et comment son père, le « Docteur Jack » est mort pour la France, et comment lui et sa mère ont survécu aux camps de la mort nazis.. 

(cliquez sur le Pdf pour lire le portrait complet)

Jacques Beaugé, dit Jacques Lebreton

 

S’il a deux patronymes, c’est bien le moins tant son existence a été complexe. Sa vie en a fait un personnage hors du commun. La première rencontre est intimidante. Le visage très sculpté, masqué par des lunettes noires, la voix timbrée, le verbe aisé, le ton presque rogue, le dos tourné, il est impressionnant.

Un profil de centurion avec une aisance de tribun et une carrure de troisième ligne de rugby, il n’a rien d’une victime. Pour l’approcher vraiment il faudra une deuxième rencontre, ses livres. Car il faut impérativement commencer par le commencement... 

(cliquez sur le Pdf pour lire le portrait complet)

Madeleine Aylmer Roubenne

Elle  avait quinze ans quand la France est entrée en guerre. Elle en avait vingt quand elle a été jetée au camp de Ravensbrück. Elle aimait les livres et le cinéma, elle était la fille unique et choyée de commerçants en porcelaine. Rien ne le prédestinait à jouer un rôle aussi actif dans la résistance, sinon l’amour et un sens aigu de la justice qui lui fait refuser la fatalité de la défaite. Il s’appelait Jean Aylmer, il n’était guère plus vieux qu’elle, 22 ans, c’était l’ami d’un cousin. De père anglais il aurait pu facilement se protéger, mais il avait choisi la France qu’il servira jusqu’à la mort.

(cliquez sur le Pdf pour lire le portrait complet)

Armelle Drouan

Les années  lui ont sans doute  rendu sa voix de petite fille. Une voix flûtée qui s’insinue pourtant dans le flux des conversations. C’est elle qui a engagé la conversation lors d’une fête à Moussy, quand les pensionnaire de l’INI sont les hôtes de marque des Gueules Cassées. Nous prenions le soleil près du bassin des poissons rouges tout en devisant, dans une ambiance de fête champêtre où tout est si bien organisé que rien ne paraît ‘ordonné’. Son regard vif suit le vol des oiseaux. Bretonne de Mesquer, familière de la Brière, elle a appris les oiseaux dans ce site alors parfaitement préservé. Un regard si vif, une mobilité d’esprit qui fait complètement oublier son handicap.

(cliquez sur le Pdf pour lire le portrait complet)

Marie-Véronique Poggioli 

Mademoiselle Poggioli, elle tient énormément au « mademoiselle », interrompt son travail pour nous recevoir. Elle écrit des lettres pour aider des pensionnaires, soupire-t-elle comme si elle était débordée. Elle s’est aménagée une chambre salon bureau qui est un fleuron de l’INI.Son territoire qui nie le temps qui passe. Nous l’avons vu souvent en grande conversation avec des visiteurs, elle laisse la porte entr’ouverte pour qu’on ne la dérange pas en toquant à l’huis . Le mot laisser-aller n’a jamais eu de sens pour elle. Sans doute l’exemple de son père, officier de marine. On sait que sur les bateaux de la Royale, tout doit être clair.

(cliquez sur le Pdf pour lire le portrait complet)

Inès Etcheto Reisz

Elle porte un prénom de princesse de légende, et elle le porte à merveille, car c’est une vraie princesse , par l’ allure, l’extrême distinction, l’élégance de sa pensée. Elle règne avec discrétion sur cette institution, s’effaçant volontairement, ne voulant pas prendre de place dans le paysage humain. Mais elle attire tous les regards, et les hommages. A la fois très entourée et très secrète.

(cliquez sur le Pdf pour lire le portrait complet)

 Mathieu François Agnello

Il a un physique d’artiste et c’est un artiste. Il est le coeur du dispositif de confort, il gère l’atelier des membres fantômes qui n’ont pas encore trouvé leur maître, il travaille les mécaniques de précisions et les résines légères qui doivent se faire oublier. C’est un artiste qui a du coeur car, dans ses mains, se concentre tout ce qui ne va pas, et il doit penser au coeur des autres. Sous son côté prestidigitateur se cache – c’est normal, il escamote- un esprit attentif et une écoute d’une grande finesse. Il trouve toujours le mot pour rire, l’humour qui va casser le silence de la souffrance, percer une brèche dans l’enfermement dans la douleur. 

(cliquez sur le Pdf pour lire le portrait complet)

Postface de jean Lartéguy

"Enfant, je fis escale aux Invalides. Levant le nez, je vis, dans l’église des Soldats, les drapeaux, certains en lambeaux, récoltés par Napoléon au soleil d’Austerlitz . D’Alexandre à Napoléon, le temps était-il si court ? Napoléon avait-il,enfant, rêvé comme moi d’Alexandre et de la conquête du monde ?

Le temps les unissait.

Me voici à l’âge où le temps s’affole et prend le galop, où les souvenirs se bousculent devant une porte qui va se fermer. Impossible de ralentir sa course même si le souffle me manque d’avoir trop couru à le poursuivre. 

J’ai connu les prisons espagnoles et, dans la solitude d’une cellule, je retrouvais mon vieil ennemi, le temps immobile et l’angoisse qui, toujours, l’accompagne. Plages d’Italie et de France, forêts sombres des Vosges, le Rhin que l’on franchit avec des canots en caoutchouc qui semblent des jouets. Le monde nous appartient, nous sommes fiers de nos galons tout neufs, de nos médailles…

J’ai traîné sur les champs de bataille où l’herbe repoussait, je n’ai pas reconnu les villes où nous nous étions battus. En vain, j’ai cherché sur les monuments les noms de mes amis qui étaient morts pour les délivrer. Mais le temps me poussait toujours en avant. « Plus vite,plus vite ! me disait-il. Ne vois-tu pas que la vie t’est mesurée ? » 

Aux Invalides, j’ai enfin posé mon bagage. Le temps m’a laissé enfin un répit et m’a murmuré : « Si je t’en accorde le loisir, tu pourras enfin écrire le livre, le dernier, où tu révéleras ta vérité si jamais tu l’as connue ».

A l’ombre du Dôme doré, sous les arcades de la cour d’Honneur, le temps, un instant, s’est arrêté dans la Paix. "

Jean Lartéguy

© 2019 by Jacques Bravo