Indonesia: Expedition in Forgotten Lands by the Iris Foundation

 

EPISODE 6

 

IN WHICH IT WAS LITTLE LITTLE THAT FRANÇOISE LOSES THE SKIN

 

Carnet de voyage du photographe Jacques Bravo dans les peties iles de la sonde en Indonésie. Iles de Bimba et Pulasi

July 19

We hiked north all night (a 15 hour crossing). It was moving in all directions and the crunches of the boat were impressive! In the early morning we can see the earth in the distance, the sky is gray. The opportunity to catch up on sleep until 9 a.m.

We land on the small island of Bimba. The ferry only passes once a week to this remote island, south of Sulawesi, and it should not see many tourists passing by. In the first village on the west coast, called Tanjung, the children welcome us, at first shy. These inhabitants of the Bajo ethnic group live in colorful houses on stilts.

Ile de Bimba--34.jpg

Bimba Island

Ile de Bimba--1.jpg
Ile de Bimba--23.jpg

At each house in front of which we pass we are offered tea and cakes, it is the tradition for visitors on “Lebaran” day where, after ten days of national holidays, everyone returns to their home village to celebrate the end of family ramadan.

We progress in the village among the children and the population who look at us with as much wonder and curiosity as we look at them. A concrete path takes us through the forest on the other side of the island to another village.

Ile de Bimba--21.jpg

At the top of the hill on the way, a flock of little girls play princesses in pink dresses on the occasion of the celebration marking the end of Ramadan.

Ile de Bimba--17.jpg

We meet banana trees and cashew trees carrying very beautiful cashew nuts. Françoise takes this fruit and begins to peel it, an oil comes out, there is the dark colored seed inside. Thomas and another man in the village informs him that this product is extremely toxic, it burns the skin and gives blisters. Bad surprise ... Quickly water, sun oil (everything we find) to clean up. A little further a woman gives soap and everything comes back to normal ... Françoise will not leave her skin there, phew!

Ile de Bimba--14.jpg

The Forbidden fruit !!

Ile de Bimba--12.jpg

At the bottom of the hill, we come to another village of 300 inhabitants called Bimba like the island, well kept, with beautiful houses lined up along a cemented raised street and a gutter (probably very useful during the monsoon). There are many wells between the houses, where women wash in sarongs. Their hair and face are coated with grated coconut as a cosmetic.

Ile de Bimba--5.jpg
Ile de Bimba--27.jpg

If some houses are still on stilts, all made of wood, none have been located on the sea since the government banned it following typhoons and tidal waves in recent years. The wood is prettier, but less durable (termites and severe monsoon) and has become more expensive. We buy two live ducks (ducks), which will be killed, scalded then plucked by Yaani our cook, and which we will eat the same evening.

Ile_de_Bimba,_déchets_de_plage--3.jpg

The afternoon is still gloomy. We are going on an excursion to another part of the island. Thomas leaves with Françoise in search of potentially interesting bamboo species because the coastline seems wild. He finds a grove of thorny bamboos: a bushy base, some short branches of which are transformed into thorns. In the center of the big canes are more than 15 m high.

The others collect litter from the beach to make a large square photographed by Jacques. It is mainly floating waste, in order of frequency: flip flops, plastic bottles, polystyrene, plastic bags, pharmaceutical and cosmetic bottles, lighters, cigarette filters, a few syringes, a few barrette-type objects, combs, a backpack ... And this is just the tip of the iceberg! Litter will be collected and brought back on board.

The incident night: the boat touches the coral bottom because the wind and the current make the boat turn around its anchor. At the second incident, we weigh anchor and sail towards Pulasi (5 hours of navigation).

Pulasi Island

Ile de Pulasi--12.jpg

.

July 20

Arrival around 7 am in front of the Pulasi island, green with palm trees, coconut palms and other superb vegetation. Very nice weather this morning. We disembark around 9 am on the white sand. A family is installed under the coconut palms harvesting the coconuts.

A very agile man climbs along a coconut palm tree to the top to take down the nuts. Be careful because they fall like bombs on the ground but without exploding. The climbing technique: the man protects his torso with a leather apron (well patinated), he knots a rope between his two feet in eight and starts the ascent by first placing his hands on the trunk then very quickly in under his feet and the rope surrounding the tree. He unfolds his legs and folds them up and so on to the top to reach the fruits and palms. He cuts around ten nuts per tree.

Ile de Pulasi--23.jpg

A coconut forest

Ile de Pulasi--9.jpg
Ile de Pulasi--10.jpg
Ile de Pulasi--17.jpg
Ile de Pulasi--7.jpg
Ile de Pulasi--20.jpg
Ile de Pulasi--1.jpg
Ile de Pulasi--5.jpg

We sit for a few moments in the cool under stilts with a granny, children around a swing, a mom and her baby ... A bunch of coconut bark and bundles of wood are stored, tidy, very clean . Not far away are the very simple tombs: a rectangle of earth surrounded by small stones (80 x 130cm) with in the center a wooden pillar carved from 50 to 60 cm high. The village is peaceful.

Kids are cycling. Three or four carts full of bricks from the brickyard at the end of the island move forward pushed by the father and the son often. They watch us go by with a smile.

Agus and the crew left ashore to prepare a barbecue on the beach for dinner. A big fire has been prepared on the side, we light it after our meal. It is a magnificent bonfire, huge, very impressive. Jonathan plays music for us and Jean-Marie starts a sioux dance around the flames !!!

Jonathan introduces us to a dance, the crew joined us for this beautiful party, very happy evening. We take care to extinguish the fire with sand and sea water.

Ile de Pulasi, Danse du feu Jean-Marie-.
livre au premier matin du monde
Capture d’écran 2018-10-09 à 17.10.48.pn

Indonésie : Expédition en Terres Oubliées de la Fondation Iris

 

ÉPISODE 6

 DANS LEQUEL IL S’EN EST FALLU DE PEU QUE FRANÇOISE PERDE LA PEAU

Carnet de voyage du photographe Jacques Bravo dans les peties iles de la sonde en Indonésie. Iles de Bimba et Pulasi

19 Juillet 

Nous avons fait le trajet vers le nord toute la nuit (une traversée de 15 heures). Ça bougeait dans tous les sens et les craquements du bateau étaient impressionnants! Au petit matin nous apercevons la terre au loin, le ciel est gris. L’occasion de rattraper un peu de sommeil jusqu’à 9 heures.

Nous débarquons sur la petite île de Bimba. Le ferry ne passe qu’une fois par semaine dans cette île éloignée, au sud de Sulawesi, et elle ne doit pas voir beaucoup de touristes passer. Dans le premier village sur la côte ouest, appelé Tanjung, les enfants nous accueillent, d’abord timides. Ces habitants de l’ethnie Bajo vivent dans des maisons colorées sur pilotis.

Ile de Bimba

À chaque maison devant laquelle nous passons on nous offre du thé et des gâteaux, c’est la tradition pour les visiteurs le jour de « Lebaran » où, après dix jours de vacances nationales, chacun rentre dans son village natal pour célébrer la fin du ramadan en famille.

On progresse dans le village au milieu des enfants et de la population qui nous regardent avec autant d’émerveillement et de curiosité que nous les regardons. Un chemin de béton nous emmène à travers la forêt de l’autre côté de l’île à un autre village.

 

En haut de la colline sur le chemin, une volée de petites filles jouent les princesses en robes roses à l’occasion de la fête marquant la fin du ramadan.

 

Nous croisons des bananiers et des anacardiers portant de très belles noix de cajou. Françoise prend ce fruit et commence à le décortiquer, une huile en sort, il y a la graine de couleur foncée à l’intérieur. Thomas ainsi qu’un autre homme du village l’informe que ce produit est extrêmement toxique, il brûle la peau et donne des cloques. Mauvaise surprise... Vite de l’eau, de l’huile solaire (tout ce qu’on trouve) pour se nettoyer. Un peu plus loin une femme donne du savon et tout rentre dans l’ordre... Françoise n’y laissera pas sa peau, ouf!

 

Le fruit défendu !!

 

En bas de la colline, nous arrivons à un autre village de 300 habitants appelé Bimba comme l’île, bien tenu, avec de belles maisons alignées le long d’une rue surélevée cimentée et d’un caniveau (sans doute très utile lors de la mousson). Il existe de nombreux puits entre les maisons, où les femmes se lavent en sarong. Leurs cheveux et leur visage sont enduits de coco râpée comme cosmétique.

 

Si certaines maisons sont encore sur pilotis, toute en bois, plus aucune n’est située sur la mer depuis que le gouvernement l’a interdit suite aux typhons et raz de marée des dernières années. Le bois est plus joli, mais moins durable (termites et mousson sévère) et est devenu plus cher. On achète deux bébecs (canards) vivants, qui seront tués, ébouillantés puis plumés par Yaani notre cuisinier, et que l’on mangera le soir même.

 

L’après-midi est toujours aussi maussade. Nous partons faire une excursion sur une autre partie de l’île. Thomas part avec Françoise à la recherche d’espèces de bambou potentiellement intéressantes car le littoral semble sauvage. Il trouve un bosquet de bambous épineux : base buissonnante dont certaines branches courtes sont transformées en épines. Au centre des grosses cannes s’élancent à plus de 15 m de haut.

Les autres ramassent les détritus de la plage pour en faire un grand carré photographié par Jacques. Il s’agit surtout de déchets flottants, par ordre de fréquence: tongs, bouteilles plastique, polystyrène, sacs plastique, flacons pharmaceutiques et de cosmétique, briquets, filtres de cigarettes, quelques seringues, quelques objets type barrettes, peignes, un sac à dos... Et ce n’est que la partie émergée de l’iceberg! Les détritus seront collectés et rapportés à bord.

La nuit incident: le bateau touche le fond corallien car le vent et le courant font tourner le bateau autour de son ancre. Au deuxième incident, nous levons l’ancre et voguons vers Pulasi (5 heures de navigation).

Ile de Pulasi

.

20 Juillet 

Arrivée vers 7 heures du matin devant l’île de Pulasi, verdoyante de palmiers, cocotiers et autre végétation superbe. Très belle météo ce matin. Nous débarquons vers 9 heures sur le sable blanc. Une famille est installée sous les cocotiers en train de récolter les noix de coco.

Un homme d’une grande agilité grimpe le long d’un cocotier jusqu’au sommet pour décrocher les noix. Attention car elles tombent comme des bombes sur le sol mais sans éclater. La technique de grimpe : l’homme protège son torse avec un tablier de cuir (bien patiné), il noue en huit une corde entre ses deux pieds et démarre l’ascension en posant d’abord ses mains sur le tronc puis très vite en dessous ses pieds et la corde entourant l’arbre. Il déplie ses jambes et les replie et ainsi de suite jusqu’au sommet pour atteindre les fruits et les palmes. Il coupe une dizaine de noix par arbre.

 

Une forêt de cocotiers

Nous nous posons quelques instants au frais sous des pilotis avec une mamie, des enfants autour d’une balançoire, une maman et son bébé... Un tas d’écorces de coco et des fagots de bois sont entreposés, bien rangés, bien propre. Non loin se trouvent les tombes très simples: un rectangle de terre entouré de petites pierres (80 x 130cm) avec au centre un pilier de bois sculpté de 50 à 60 cm de haut. Le village est paisible.

Des gamins passent à vélo. Trois ou quatre chariots pleins de briques provenant de la briqueterie du bout de l’île avancent poussés par le père et le fils souvent. Ils nous regardent passer avec le sourire.

Agus et l’équipage sont repartis à terre pour préparer un barbecue sur la plage pour le dîner. Un grand feu a été préparé sur le côté, on l’allume après notre repas. C’est un magnifique feu de joie, énorme, très impressionnant. Jonathan nous met de la musique et Jean-Marie démarre une danse de sioux autour des flammes!!!

Jonathan nous initie à une danse, l’équipage nous a rejoint pour cette belle fête, très joyeuse soirée. On prend soin d’éteindre le feu avec du sable et de l’eau de mer.

livre au premier matin du monde
Capture d’écran 2018-10-09 à 17.10.48.pn

© 2019 by Jacques Bravo