Indonesia: Iris Foundation Expedition to Forgotten Lands

 

EPISODE 1

WHERE WE SEE THE DEPARTURE OF THE EXPEDITION DELAYED BY A TYPHON AND THE EXPLOSION OF A VOLCANO

Carnet de voyage du photographe Jacques Bravo dans les peties iles de la sonde en Indonésie. Bali, Lombok

 

July 10, 2015

Departure tomorrow morning for Bali via Hong Kong for Jean-Marie leader of the expedition, Françoise biologist, Jacques photographer, Isabelle journalist editor, Christophe drone pilot assigned to aerial shots and Jonathan assistant cameraman. Thomas, a bamboo botanist, naturalist designer Agathe and Ethan, the youngest of the expedition, are leaving this evening via Shanghai. The entire team will meet in Bali for a short overnight stop as a prelude to our month-long boat trip in the Lesser Sunda Islands in Indonesia.

Expedition members

Agus and Jean-Marie Hullot , leader of the expedition

and co-president of the Iris Foundation

Francoise Brenckmann, biologist

and co-president of the Iris Foundation

Isabelle Bravo, Writer

Christophe Gruault , aerial photographer drone pilot

Thomas Haevermans , botanist and lecturer at the National Museum of Natural History

Agathe Haevermans , scientific illustrator and naturalist at the National Museum of Natural History

Jonathan Hulot, student and assistant cameraman

Ethan Haevermans, schoolboy and moss

 

It is already 9 o'clock in the evening, the bags are packed, Thomas is on his way to Roissy with Agathe and Ethan. One last look at the internet news before falling asleep. Damned ...

A volcano has just woken up on the island of Java and clouds of ash are blown by the wind on Denpasar airport in Bali causing it to close!

Phone call to Thomas to see where they are. They have just learned that their flight will not leave this evening, not because of the closure of the Bali airport ... but because a violent typhoon “Chan-Hom” is approaching the airport of Bali. Shanghai!

Well say, what a start!

Lombok-3.jpg

 

July 11-12, 2015

Our flight to Hong Kong is maintained, however no guarantee that the connection to Bali will be assured. It will depend on the wind. For the moment, Denpasar Airport in Bali is still closed. As for Thomas, Agathe and Ethan, they are still stranded at Roissy, Shanghai airport also being closed due to the typhoon.

With finally only two hours late, we learn when arriving in Hong Kong that the tide has turned and we fly to Bali. Hooray !!! A text message from Thomas informs us that they are on their way to Shanghai.

We arrive in Bali in the evening, Thomas and the others will arrive around 1:30 am.

Stopover in Bali

 

July 13, 2015

The flight to Bima on the island of Sumbawa is made in two groups because the plane is overbooked following the problems related to the volcano. Agathe, Thomas, Ethan, Jonathan, Christophe are the first to leave in the morning. Jean-Marie, Jacques, Isabelle and Françoise take the second flight at noon.

 

Our guide awaits us with two taxis, we take the road to Lamere where our boat awaits us.

The ecological awareness of Indonesians is quite low and illegal dumping abounds on the road between Bima and Lamere on Sumbawa Island.

Traditional wooden stilt houses are gradually being replaced by concrete or brick houses. The population seems young and the villages are spread out along the roads, but the human density is reasonable since a campaign in the Sixties for an ideal family with two children.

Rice fields, Sumbawa

Traditional village of Maria, Sumbawa

 

On the hills climbs a semi-deciduous forest which begins to lose its leaves. Most of the rice fields are no longer in water and are used, at this time, for the culture of the pink shallot. Watering is done by hand with half-moon metal watering cans carried on hoists. The irrigation canals widen in places to allow watering cans to tap into them.

Our boat for a month, the "Royal Fortuna"

 

The crew members

livre au premier matin du monde
Capture d’écran 2018-09-25 à 19.30.17.pn

Indonésie : Expédition en Terres Oubliées de la Fondation Iris

 

ÉPISODE 1 

OÙ L’ON VOIT LE DÉPART DE L’EXPÉDITION RETARDÉ PAR UN TYPHON ET L’EXPLOSION D’UN VOLCAN

Carnet de voyage du photographe Jacques Bravo dans les peties iles de la sonde en Indonésie. Bali, Lombok

10 Juillet 2015 

Départ demain matin pour Bali via Hong Kong pour Jean-Marie leader de l’expédition, Françoise biologiste, Jacques photographe, Isabelle rédactrice du journal de bord, Christophe pilote de drone assigné aux prises de vue aérienne et Jonathan assistant cameraman. Thomas botaniste spécialiste des bambous, Agathe dessinatrice naturaliste et Ethan le benjamin de l’expédition, partent eux dès ce soir via Shanghai. L’équipe se retrouvera au complet à Bali pour un court arrêt d’une nuit en prélude à notre grand périple d’un mois en bateau dans les Petites Îles de la Sonde en Indonésie.

Les membres de l'expédition

Agus et Jean-Marie Hullot, leader de l'expédition

et co-président de la Fondation Iris

Francoise Brenckmann, biologiste 

et co-présidente de la Fondation Iris

Isabelle Bravo, Rédactrice

Christophe Gruault, photographe aérienne pilote de drone

Thomas Haevermans, botaniste et maître de conférences au Muséum national d'histoire naturelle

Agathe Haevermans, illustratrice scientifique et naturaliste au Muséum national d'histoire naturelle

Jonathan Hulot, étudiant et assistant caméraman

Ethan Haevermans, écolier et mousse

Il est déjà 9 heures du soir, les sacs sont bouclés, Thomas est en route pour Roissy avec Agathe et Ethan. Un dernier coup d’oeil sur les nouvelles sur Internet avant de s’endormir. Damned...

Un volcan vient de se réveiller sur l’île de Java et des nuages de cendres sont envoyés par le vent sur l’aéroport de Denpasar à Bali entrainant sa fermeture!

Coup de téléphone à Thomas pour voir où ils en sont. Ils viennent d’apprendre que leur vol ne partira pas ce soir, non pas à cause de la fermeture de l’aéroport de Bali... mais parce qu’un violent typhon “Chan-Hom” s’approche de l’aéroport de Shanghai!

Et ben dis donc, quel départ!

11-12 Juillet 2015 

Notre vol pour Hong Kong est maintenu, aucune garantie cependant que la connexion sur Bali soit assurée. Ça dépendra du vent. Pour le moment l’aéroport de Denpasar à Bali est toujours fermé. Quant à Thomas, Agathe et Ethan, ils sont encore bloqués à Roissy, l’aéroport de Shanghai étant lui aussi fermé à cause du typhon.

Avec finalement seulement deux heures de retard, nous apprenons en arrivant à Hong Kong que le vent a tourné et nous nous envolons vers Bali. Hourra!!! Un SMS de Thomas nous informe qu’ils sont en route pour Shanghai.

Nous arrivons à Bali dans la soirée, Thomas et les autres arriveront vers 1:30 du matin.

Escale à Bali 

13 Juillet 2015 

Le vol pour Bima sur l’île de Sumbawa se fait en deux groupes car l’avion est surbooké suite aux problèmes liés au volcan. Agathe, Thomas, Ethan, Jonathan, Christophe partent les premiers le matin. Jean-Marie, Jacques, Isabelle et Françoise prennent le second vol à midi.

Notre guide nous attend avec deux taxis, nous prenons la route vers Lamere où nous attend notre bateau.

La conscience écologique des Indonésiens est assez faible et les décharges sauvages abondent sur la route entre Bima et Lamere sur l’île de Sumbawa.

Les maisons sur pilotis en bois traditionnel sont progressivement remplacées par des maisons en béton ou en briques. La population semble jeune et les villages s’étalent le long des routes, mais la densité humaine est raisonnable depuis une campagne dans les années 60 pour une famille idéale à deux enfants.

Rizières, Sumbawa

Village traditionnel de Maria, Sumbawa

Sur les collines grimpe une forêt semi-décidue qui commence a perdre ses feuilles. La plupart des rizières ne sont plus en eau et sont utilisées, à cette époque, pour la culture de l’échalote rose. Les arrosages se font à la main avec des arrosoirs métalliques en demi lune portés sur palanques. Les canaux d’irrigation s’élargissent par endroits pour permettre aux arrosoirs de puiser dedans.

Notre bateau pour un mois, le "Royal Fortuna"

Les membres de l'équipage

© 2019 by Jacques Bravo