Indonesia: Expedition in Forgotten Lands by the Iris Foundation

 

EPISODE 14

 

WHERE WE GO NEXT TO A HIDDEN TREASURE WORTH MORE THAN A BILLION ROUPIES

 

 

Carnet de voyage du photographe Jacques Bravo dans les peties iles de la sonde en Indonésie. Ile de Sumba

August 5

During the night, a serious swell makes us pitch funny. We arrive at 7am on the island of Sumba. We go directly to the port of Waingapu which is sheltered. Old boats, fishermen's canoes, ferry awaiting departure, cargo ships loading ...

Ile de Sumba,  port de Waingapu-Jacques Bravo
Ile de Sumba,  port de Waingapu--6.jpg
Ile de Sumba,  port de Waingapu. Jacques Bravo

Beautiful fish market at the port. We are leaving downtown by motorbike taxis. Along the way we buy sates (skewers of meat) in small cabins along the road. The city does not have much character, its main artery is noisy and the houses are made of sheet metal, except for a few, which the care taken in the garden and the bright colors of the facades make touching.

Ile de Sumba,  port de Waingapu. Jacques Bravo

Then visit the market (spices, baskets, ikats ...), return to nightfall in bemo ...

The landing stage is an extremely slippery stone staircase!

 

August 6

Departure at 7 am for Manupeu Tanah Daru Park by super bus. The harbor steps are still as slippery. We climb on the hillsides above the city: it is a dry savannah where there are water problems, clearly. Along the road an old well has been preserved: it is still full of water and is used by the surrounding inhabitants. In contrast the valleys are more humid and lush and there are dams with rice fields in the wider valleys. The soil is often coral (white rock) but there are areas of black topsoil. Houses often have a large sheet metal roof cut in the same format as traditional roofs. The walls are often beautifully woven bamboo. The tombs are very large anvil-shaped vaults.

We arrive in the natural park. Our local guide not knowing much, tries to take a semblance of path but it is quickly stopped by the density of the vegetation, and being unable to use a machete, we quickly turn back. We will therefore be satisfied with the very rich roadsides where we will find many interesting species.

Ile de Sumba,region centre--5.jpg

We arrive in the natural park. Our local guide not knowing much, tries to take a semblance of path but it is quickly stopped by the density of the vegetation, and being unable to use a machete, we quickly turn back. We will therefore be satisfied with the very rich roadsides where we will find many interesting species.

_MG_5908-2.doprecisa.jpg
_MG_6044.doprecisa.jpg
Ile de Sumba,  Manupeu Tanah Daru Nation
Ile de Sumba,  Manupeu Tanah Daru Nation
Ile de Sumba,  Manupeu Tanah Daru Nation
Ile de Sumba,  Manupeu Tanah Daru Nation
Ile de Sumba,  Manupeu Tanah Daru Nation

August 7

We drive east with our super minibus for two hours. And we still observe a striking contrast between the dry steppes on coral soil and green areas of rice fields or extensive mangroves. In the grassy steppes there are horses. We even saw some of them mounted in the city of Waingapu. The horse, a heritage of the Portuguese, is important on the island. It is on Sumba that there are Pasolas (horse tournaments which oppose riders from different villages) in February.

Ile de Sumba,region centre--7.jpg
Ile de Sumba,region centre--2.jpg
Ile de Sumba,region centre--3.jpg

In the megalithic village of Rende the houses are very very large, larger than in the other villages visited, moreover in general there are two doors and two or even four families live there. The huge roofs are in alang-alang or unfortunately in sheet metal. The dry ground is made of coral slabs. The graves sit in the middle of the village. These are amazing slab structures that look like huge coral stone dolmens. The extraction and transport of its stone slabs is difficult and dangerous. They come from the hill which overlooks the village. In 1926 an accident killed 60 people. Since then the government has banned extractions, and so has the area of concrete.

Ile de Sumba, village de Rende-.jpg

Only the totems continue to be made of stone. They are amazingly sculpted with a whole bestiary. The crocodile symbolizes male wealth, the hen female wealth, the parrot the transmission and elevation of the spirit ...

Ile de Sumba, village de Rende--5.jpg
Ile de Sumba, village de Rende--4.jpg
Ile de Sumba, village de Rende--13.jpg
Ile de Sumba, village de Rende--10.jpg
Ile de Sumba, village de Rende--11.jpg
Ile de Sumba, village de Rende--8.jpg

Orangutan sculpture

The oldest burial bears the sculpture of a crouching man. It represents the ancestor, an orangutan that existed in the surrounding forests, long ago, long ago. So they knew long before Darwin that man descends from the monkey!

Ile de Sumba, village de Rende--9.jpg

Going down towards the river we pass by a kind of cleverly stony garden. Giant ficus trees are venerated there and animal sacrifices still take place there. Picnic at the river at the foot of a huge flamboyant. An albino buffalo with inverted horns casually passes through the water. Mind-blowing vision!

We will learn later that in Sulawesi this “class” of buffaloes is one of the most sought after for sacrifices and costs up to 1 billion rupees!

Ile_de_Sumba,_buffle_des_rivières-.jpg

An hour later we visit the village of Pau . The houses are also huge with remarkable roofs. The burials are of the same type and the totems abound in animal symbols as well. What differs are some scenes carved on the funerary stelae of fields, weaving, or other human activities.

Ile de Sumba, village de Pau--12.jpg
Ile de Sumba, village de Pau-.jpg
Ile de Sumba, village de Pau--6.jpg
Ile de Sumba, village de Pau
Ile de Sumba,  Manupeu Tanah Daru Nation

And it's the last evening!

Christophe has been preparing for several days a very nice short film of a few minutes. The Royal Fortuna crew and the Iris team warmly applaud.

livre au premier matin du monde

Indonésie : Expédition en Terres Oubliées de la Fondation Iris

 

ÉPISODE 14

OÙ L’ON PASSE A CÔTÉ D’UN TRÉSOR CACHÉ VALANT PLUS D’UN MILLIARD DE ROUPIES

Carnet de voyage du photographe Jacques Bravo dans les peties iles de la sonde en Indonésie. Ile de Sumba

5 Août 2015

Durant la nuit, une sérieuse houle nous fait tanguer drôlement. Nous arrivons à 7h sur l’île de Sumba. Nous allons directement au port de Waingapu qui est à l’abri. Vieux bateaux, pirogues de pêcheurs, ferry en instance de départ, cargos en train de charger...

Beau marché aux poissons au port. Nous partons au centre-ville en moto taxis. En chemin on achète des satés (brochettes de viande) dans des petites cabanes le long de la route. La ville n’a pas beaucoup de caractère, son artère principale est bruyante et les maisons sont en béton-tôle, sauf quelques unes, que le soin porté au jardin et les couleurs vives des façades rendent touchantes.

Puis visite du marché (épices, paniers, ikats ...), retour à la nuit tombée en bemo...

Le débarcadère est un escalier en pierre extrêmement glissant!

6 Août 2015

Départ à 7h pour le Parc de Manupeu Tanah Daru en super bus. Les marches du port sont toujours aussi glissantes. Nous grimpons sur les flancs des collines au-dessus de la ville : c’est une savane sèche où il y a des problèmes d’eau, clairement. Au raz de la route un ancien puits a été préservé : il est toujours plein d’eau et est utilisé par les habitants alentours. En contraste les creux des vallons sont plus humides et luxuriants et il existe des barrages avec des rizières dans les vallées élargies. Le sol est souvent corallien (roche blanche) mais il existe des zones de terre arable noire. Les maisons ont souvent un grand toit de tôle découpée au même format que les toits traditionnels. Les murs sont souvent en bambou joliment tressé. Les tombes sont de très grands caveaux en forme d’enclume.

Nous arrivons dans le parc naturel. Notre guide local ne sachant pas grand chose, essaie de prendre un semblant de chemin mais il est vite arrêté par la densité de la végétation, et ne pouvant utiliser de machette, nous rebroussons vite chemin. Nous nous contenterons donc des bords de la route très riches où nous trouverons de nombreuses espèces intéressantes.

Nous arrivons dans le parc naturel. Notre guide local ne sachant pas grand chose, essaie de prendre un semblant de chemin mais il est vite arrêté par la densité de la végétation, et ne pouvant utiliser de machette, nous rebroussons vite chemin. Nous nous contenterons donc des bords de la route très riches où nous trouverons de nombreuses espèces intéressantes.

7 Août 2015

Nous roulons vers l’est avec notre super minibus pendant deux heures. Et nous observons toujours un contraste saisissant entre les steppes sèches sur sol corallien et des zones vertes de rizières ou de mangroves étendues. Dans les steppes herbeuses, il y a des chevaux. Nous en avons même vu quelques uns montés dans la ville de Waingapu. Le cheval, héritage des portugais, est important sur l’île. C’est sur Sumba qu’il y a des Pasolas (tournois à cheval qui oppose des cavaliers de différents villages) en février.

Dans le village mégalithique de Rende les maisons sont très très grandes, plus grandes que dans les autres villages visités, d’ailleurs en général il y a deux portes et y vivent deux familles voire quatre. Les immenses toits sont en alang-alang ou malheureusement en tôle. Le sol sec est fait de dalles de coraux. Les sépultures trônent au milieu du village. Ce sont d’étonnantes structures sur dalle qui ressemblent à d’énormes dolmens de pierre corallienne. L’extraction et le transport de ses dalles de pierre sont difficiles et dangereux. Elles proviennent de la colline qui surplombe le village. En 1926 un accident a fait 60 morts. Depuis le gouvernement a interdit les extractions, et ainsi est arrivée l’aire du béton.

Seuls les totems continuent d’être en pierre. Ils sont sculptés de manière étonnante avec tout un bestiaire. Le crocodile symbolise la richesse masculine, la poule la richesse féminine, le perroquet la transmission et l’élévation de l’esprit...

Sculpture d’orang-outang 

La plus vieille sépulture porte la sculpture d’un homme accroupi. Il représente l’ancêtre, un orang-outan qui existait dans les forêts alentours, il y a longtemps, longtemps. Ils savaient donc bien avant Darwin que l’homme descend du singe!

En descendant vers la rivière nous passons par un espèce de jardin savamment empierré. Des ficus géants y sont vénérés et des sacrifices d’animaux y ont encore lieu. Picnic a la rivière au pied d’un immense flamboyant. Une bufflesse albinos aux cornes inversées passe dans l’eau, nonchalamment. Vision hallucinante!

Nous apprendrons plus tard qu’à Sulawesi cette “classe” de buffles est une des plus recherchées pour les sacrifices et se monnaie jusqu’à 1 milliard de roupies!

Une heure plus loin nous visitons le village de Pau. Les maisons sont également immenses avec des toits remarquables. Les sépultures sont du même type et les totems foisonnent de symboles animaux également. Ce qui diffère ce sont quelques scènes sculptées sur les stèles funéraires de travaux des champs, de tissage, ou autre activités humaines.

Et c’est le dernier soir!

Christophe a préparé depuis plusieurs jours un très chouette court-métrage de quelques minutes. L’équipage du Royal Fortuna et l’équipe Iris applaudissent chaleureusement.

livre au premier matin du monde

© 2019 by Jacques Bravo