PARIS

 

EQUESTRIAN STATUES

 

Horse riding in the Bois de Boulogne, the Longchamp racecourse, the famous horse butchers and, uh, the Crazy Horse cabaret ... it is obvious that there is no shortage of horse-related activities in the French capital for those who are ready and eager to find out. But keep your eyes peeled on the city streets and you'll also find vivid examples of the city's historic obsession with equestrian sculpture, from noble warriors on horseback for a charge to classical figures Join us for a photographic gallop through several centuries of public art on the theme of the horse.

Renommée chevauchant Pégase par Antoine Coysevox, jardins des Tuileries

 

Fame riding Pegasus by Antoine Coysevox, Tuileries gardens

Pegasus is one of the most famous creatures in Greek mythology. He is a winged divine stallion, usually depicted as pure white. He was fathered by Poseidon, in his role of god-horse, and was given birth by the Gorgon Medusa. He was the brother of Chrysaor, born from a single childbirth when his mother was beheaded by Perseus.

Jeanne d'Arc par Paul Dubois, Place Saint-Augustin

 

Joan of Arc by Paul Dubois, Place Saint-Augustin

Joan of Arc is a popular heroine of France and a Roman Catholic saint. She was born a peasant in eastern France. Claiming divine tutelage, she led the French army to several important victories during the Hundred Years War, which paved the way for the coronation of Charles VII of France. She was captured by the Burgundians, transferred to the English in exchange for money, tried by the pro-English bishop of Beauvais, Pierre Cauchon, for "insubordination and heterodoxy", and was burned at the stake for heresy at the age 19.

Mercure chevauchant Pégase par Antoine Coysevox, jardin des Tuileries

Mercury riding Pegasus by Antoine Coysevox, Tuileries garden

After the death of Louis XIV, the young Louis XV, aged five, became the owner of the Tuileries Gardens. The garden, abandoned for nearly forty years, is put back in order. In 1719, La Renommée and Mercure were brought from the king's residence to Marly and placed at the western entrance to the garden.

Albert 1er de Belgique par Armand Martial, Cours la Reine

Albert 1er of Belgium by Armand Martial, Cours la Reine

Albert I (April 8, 1875 - February 17, 1934) reigned as King of the Belgians from 1909 to 1934. It was a crucial period in the history of Belgium since it included the period of the First World War (1914-1918) during which 99% of Belgium was invaded, occupied and ruled by the German Empire. King Albert was killed in a mountaineering accident in eastern Belgium in 1934, at the age of 58, and his son Leopold succeeded him.

La France Renaissante, pont de Bir-Hakeim

 

La France Renaissante, Bir-Hakeim bridge

La France Renaissante by Holger Wederkinch was erected in 1958 at the northern Point of the Île aux Cygnes.

Joseph Joffre par Maxime Real del Sarte, Place Joffre

 

Joseph Joffre by Maxime Real del Sarte, Place Joffre

Marshal Joseph Jacques Césaire Joffre was a French general during the First World War. He is best known for having regrouped the retreating Allied armies to defeat the Germans in the strategically decisive First Battle of the Marne in 1914. His popularity earned him the nickname Papa Joffre.

Quadrige par François Joseph Bosio, Arc de Triomphe du Carrousel

 

Quadriga by François Joseph Bosio, Arc de Triomphe du Carrousel

The Arc de Triomphe du Carrouse was built between 1806 and 1808 to commemorate Napoleon's military victories the previous year. The quadriga at the top of the arch is a copy of the "Horses of Saint Mark" which adorns the top of the main door of Saint Mark's Basilica in Venice, but under the two French Empires the originals were used for special occasions.

Cheval à la herse by Pierre-Louis Rouillard, Parvis du musée d'Orsay

 

Harrow horse by Pierre-Louis Rouillard, Parvis of the Musée d'Orsay

Pierre Louis Rouillard (Paris, January 16, 1820 - Paris, June 2, 1881) was known for his sculptures of animals. He was part of a "school of French animal keepers" which also included Pierre-Jules Mêne, Antoine-Louis Barye, Auguste Caïn and François Pompon. He worked mainly in cast iron rather than bronze.

e4-OQXo_noA-mpPArRmHvjg-ifill_2048.jpg

 

Edward VII by Paul Landowski, Place Edouard VII

Edward VII (November 9, 1841 - May 6, 1910) was King of the United Kingdom and the British Dominions and Emperor of India from January 22, 1901 until his death in 1910. The Edwardian era coincided with the start of a new century and heralded significant changes in technology and society, including motorized flight and the rise of socialism. Edward fostered good relations between Great Britain and other European countries, particularly France, for which he was popularly called "Peacemaker".

Guerrier romain, Pont d'Iéna

Roman warrior, Pont d'Iéna

Installed in 1853, at both ends of the bridge, four sculptures rest on four corresponding pylons: a Gallic warrior by Antoine-Augustin Préault and a Roman warrior by Louis-Joseph Daumas for the right bank; an Arab warrior by Jean-Jacques Feuchère and a Greek warrior by François Devault for the left bank.

Chevaux de Marly, Place de la Concorde

Horses of Marly, Place de la Concorde

The Chateau de Marly was a relatively small French royal residence located in what has become Marly-le-Roi, the commune that existed on the edge of the royal park. During the Revolution, the marble horses of Guillaume Coustou the Elder, the Horses of Marly, were transported to Paris (1794), to frame the opening of the Champs-Élysées on the future Place de la Concorde.

La Résistance de 1814, Arc de Triomphe

The Resistance of 1814, Arc de Triomphe

The main academic sculptors of France are represented in the sculpture of the Arc de Triomphe: Jean-Pierre Cortot; François Rude; Antoine Étex; James Pradier and Philippe Joseph Henri Lemaire. The main sculptures are not full friezes but are treated as independent trophies applied to the vast masses of freestone masonry, much like the applications of gilded bronze on Empire furniture. The four groups sculpted at the base of the Arc are Le Triomphe de 1810 (Cortot), Resistance et Paix (both by Antoine Étex) and the most famous of them, Départ des Volontaires de 1792.

Lafayette par Paul Bartlett, Cours la Reine, Jacques Bravo

Lafayette by Paul Bartlett, Cours la Reine

Marie-Joseph Paul Yves Roch Gilbert du Motier, Marquis de La Fayette (6 September 1757 – 20 May 1834), often known simply as Lafayette, was a French aristocrat and military officer born in Chavaniac, in the province of Auvergne in south central France. Lafayette was a general in the American Revolutionary War and a leader of the Garde nationale during the French Revolution.

PARIS

 

STATUES ÉQUESTRES

 

L'équitation dans le Bois de Boulogne, l'hippodrome de Longchamp, les célèbres boucheries chevalines et, euh, le cabaret du Crazy Horse ... il est évident que les activités liées au cheval ne manquent pas dans la capitale française pour ceux qui sont prêts et désireux de les découvrir. Mais gardez les yeux ouverts dans les rues de la ville et vous y trouverez également des exemples frappants de l'obsession historique de la ville pour la sculpture équestre, des nobles guerriers à cheval pour une charge aux figures classiques Joignez-vous à nous pour un galop photographique à travers plusieurs siècles d'art public sur le thème du cheval.

Renommée chevauchant Pégase par Antoine Coysevox, jardins des Tuileries

 

Renommée chevauchant Pégase par Antoine Coysevox, jardins des Tuileries

Pégase est l'une des créatures les plus connues de la mythologie grecque. C'est un étalon divin ailé, généralement représenté sous la forme d'un blanc pur. Il a été engendré par Poséidon, dans son rôle de dieu-cheval, et a été mis bas par la Gorgone Méduse. Il était le frère de Chrysaor, né d'un seul accouchement lorsque sa mère a été décapitée par Persée.

Jeanne d'Arc par Paul Dubois, Place Saint-Augustin

 

Jeanne d'Arc par Paul Dubois, Place Saint-Augustin

Jeanne d'Arc est une héroïne populaire de France et une sainte catholique romaine. Elle est née paysanne dans l'Est de la France. Se réclamant de la tutelle divine, elle a mené l'armée française à plusieurs victoires importantes pendant la guerre de Cent Ans, qui a ouvert la voie au couronnement de Charles VII de France. Elle a été capturée par les Bourguignons, transférée aux Anglais en échange d'argent, jugée par l'évêque pro-anglais de Beauvais, Pierre Cauchon, pour "insubordination et hétérodoxie", et a été brûlée sur le bûcher pour hérésie à l'âge de 19 ans.

Mercure chevauchant Pégase par Antoine Coysevox, jardin des Tuileries

Mercure chevauchant Pégase par Antoine Coysevox, jardin des Tuileries 

Après la mort de Louis XIV, le jeune Louis XV, âgé de cinq ans, devient propriétaire du jardin des Tuileries. Le jardin, abandonné pendant près de quarante ans, est remis en ordre. En 1719, La Renommée et Mercure sont amenés de la résidence du roi à Marly et placés à l'entrée ouest du jardin.

Albert 1er de Belgique par Armand Martial, Cours la Reine

Albert 1er de Belgique par Armand Martial, Cours la Reine

Albert Ier (8 avril 1875 - 17 février 1934) a régné comme roi des Belges de 1909 à 1934. Ce fut une période cruciale dans l'histoire de la Belgique puisqu'elle comprenait la période de la Première Guerre mondiale (1914-1918) au cours de laquelle 99 % de la Belgique a été envahie, occupée et dirigée par l'Empire allemand. Le roi Albert a été tué dans un accident d'alpinisme dans l'est de la Belgique en 1934, à l'âge de 58 ans, et son fils Léopold lui a succédé.

La France Renaissante, pont de Bir-Hakeim

 

La France Renaissante, pont de Bir-Hakeim

Albert Ier (8 avril 1875 - 17 février 1934) a régné comme roi des Belges de 1909 à 1934. Ce fut une période cruciale dans l'histoire de la Belgique puisqu'elle comprenait la période de la Première Guerre mondiale (1914-1918) au cours de laquelle 99 % de la Belgique a été envahie, occupée et dirigée par l'Empire allemand. Le roi Albert a été tué dans un accident d'alpinisme dans l'est de la Belgique en 1934, à l'âge de 58 ans, et son fils Léopold lui a succédé.

Joseph Joffre par Maxime Real del Sarte, Place Joffre

 

Joseph Joffre par Maxime Real del Sarte, Place Joffre

Le maréchal Joseph Jacques Césaire Joffre était un général français pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Il est surtout connu pour avoir regroupé les armées alliées en retraite pour vaincre les Allemands lors de la première bataille de la Marne, stratégiquement décisive, en 1914. Sa popularité lui a valu le surnom de Papa Joffre.

Quadrige par François Joseph Bosio, Arc de Triomphe du Carrousel

 

Quadrige par François Joseph Bosio, Arc de Triomphe du Carrousel

L'Arc de Triomphe du Carrouse a été construit entre 1806 et 1808 pour commémorer les victoires militaires de Napoléon l'année précédente. Le quadrige au sommet de l'arc est une copie des "Chevaux de Saint-Marc" qui ornent le haut de la porte principale de la Basilique Saint-Marc à Venise, mais sous les deux empires français, les originaux ont été utilisés pour des occasions spéciales.

Cheval à la herse by Pierre-Louis Rouillard, Parvis du musée d'Orsay

 

Cheval à la herse par Pierre-Louis Rouillard, Parvis du musée d'Orsay

Pierre Louis Rouillard (Paris, 16 janvier 1820 - Paris, 2 juin 1881) était connu pour ses sculptures d'animaux. Il faisait partie d'une "école des animaliers français" qui comprenait également Pierre-Jules Mêne, Antoine-Louis Barye, Auguste Caïn et François Pompon. Il travaillait principalement en fonte plutôt qu'en bronze.

e4-OQXo_noA-mpPArRmHvjg-ifill_2048.jpg

 

Edward VII by Paul Landowski, Place Edouard VII

Edouard VII (9 novembre 1841 - 6 mai 1910) fut roi du Royaume-Uni et des dominions britanniques et empereur des Indes du 22 janvier 1901 jusqu'à sa mort en 1910. L'ère édouardienne a coïncidé avec le début d'un nouveau siècle et a annoncé des changements importants dans la technologie et la société, notamment le vol motorisé et la montée du socialisme. Edward a favorisé de bonnes relations entre la Grande-Bretagne et les autres pays européens, en particulier la France, pour laquelle il a été populairement appelé "Peacemaker".

Guerrier romain, Pont d'Iéna

Guerrier romain, Pont d'Iéna

Mis en place en 1853, aux deux extrémités du pont, quatre sculptures reposent sur quatre pylônes correspondants : un guerrier gaulois d'Antoine-Augustin Préault et un guerrier romain de Louis-Joseph Daumas pour la rive droite ; un guerrier arabe de Jean-Jacques Feuchère et un guerrier grec de François Devault pour la rive gauche.

Chevaux de Marly, Place de la Concorde

Chevaux de Marly, Place de la Concorde

Le château de Marly était une résidence royale française relativement petite située dans ce qui est devenu Marly-le-Roi, la commune qui existait à la lisière du parc royal. Pendant la Révolution, les chevaux de marbre de Guillaume Coustou l'Ancien, les Chevaux de Marly, ont été transportés à Paris (1794), pour encadrer l'ouverture des Champs-Élysées sur la future place de la Concorde.

La Résistance de 1814, Arc de Triomphe

La Résistance de 1814, Arc de Triomphe

Les principaux sculpteurs académiques de France sont représentés dans la sculpture de l'Arc de Triomphe : Jean-Pierre Cortot ; François Rude ; Antoine Étex ; James Pradier et Philippe Joseph Henri Lemaire. Les sculptures principales ne sont pas des frises intégrales mais sont traitées comme des trophées indépendants appliqués sur les vastes masses de maçonnerie en pierre de taille, un peu comme les applications de bronze doré sur le mobilier Empire. Les quatre groupes sculptés à la base de l'Arc sont Le Triomphe de 1810 (Cortot), Résistance et Paix (tous deux d'Antoine Étex) et le plus célèbre d'entre eux, Départ des Volontaires de 1792.

Lafayette par Paul Bartlett, Cours la Reine, Jacques Bravo

Lafayette par Paul Bartlett, Cours la Reine

Marie-Joseph Paul Yves Roch Gilbert du Motier, marquis de La Fayette (6 septembre 1757 - 20 mai 1834), souvent appelé simplement Lafayette, était un aristocrate et officier militaire français né à Chavaniac, dans la province d'Auvergne, au centre-sud de la France. Lafayette a été général pendant la guerre d'Indépendance américaine et chef de la Garde nationale pendant la Révolution française.