PARIS LA DEFENSE

Carnet de voyage à la Défense, Jacques Bravo, la grande Arche, vert, nemo, CNIT, j

Paris la Defense

Defense is not what people who never go believe.

It is a City of Lights, in the plural, because all the reflections, the reverberations meet there in endless games that men had not planned by drawing their cubes and their tubes. When I discovered, ten years ago, this "district" which had become the business capital of Europe in the third millennium, it was suddenly before my eyes, the year 2000 that I dreamed of when I was ten . I had finally found the playground that had populated my dreams. This unthinkable meeting in a toy city, was magic. So I took extreme pleasure in it.

It was not an order. I was not on a mission. Well after the release of my book on La Défense, I returned to my wonderland where light interferes everywhere, with no preconceived idea. Always, I went where my heart carried me. Without ceasing, I listened to my eye. Freely.

And I understood that everyday life is fantastic.

Paris La défense, Jacques Bravo, roller, tour EDF, saut, casque, tour Ariane,

Back to the year 2000 of my childhood dreams

015 parvis_DxOFP.jpg

The Defense plaza

JBPA002067_DxOFP.jpg

Cold and always disturbing. The aquarium of a Captain Nemo who would have lost the keys to his labyrinth, like those of the fairs of old. False transparent vertical glass strata. Very thick glasses, like steel plates which let the glance pass but blocks the winds, under the giant Arch which aggravates the Venturi effect. Planted in staggered rows, they filter the human, necessarily lost like this gray silhouette, since all the costumes are anthracite or gray. A man who has lost his shadow for a long time.

JBPA002028_DxOFP.jpg

A bunch of colored pencils. A rainbow beam. The Moretti tower sinks into the blue sky squared by the trail of jet planes. An obelisk, which gives meaning, at the discretion of each.

It reminds me of the game of my childhood, when we were consigned. We were drawing a fortified castle, furnished with soldiers, well armed, between the merlons. We attacked him with pencils, launched from a flick, which could miss their target.

A game, since defense can also be a playground, an “I” field for those who have not forgotten anything.

021 pelouse_DxOFP.jpg

A square lawn, between Mondrian and Malévitch. A green geometry of eternal spring.

Since 2000, young trees have grown. So that, from this angle, the grass is definitively hidden, made in the shade, lost for the eyes. It is also a Scottish tartan. A flag that no flagpole will raise. A buried sign. A moment of freedom in the land of glass and concrete, ephemeral.

064 tunnel_DxOFP.jpg

Five red pellets, authoritarian like five red lights, no passing, for those who dare and do not understand? No, it is an optical protection to signal a dangerous glass barrier for the foreheads of the distracted. A man disappears into the distance, so he was able to enter. But will he come out of it?

Fly under the bell ... he knows the little chicane that opens the human trap. Signed Kafka.

JBPA002064_DxOFP.jpg

The apocalypse. Irradiated members of a giant body, a set of Blade Runner.

The flying buttresses of precious wood draw a perspective of the future, the passages of the model city that we imagine in films or comics. Footbridges in a sort of patio, already fossilized wood. Warm but disturbing.

JBPA002191_DxOFP.jpg

A Giacometti or De Chirico chessboard.

On the "Place des Degres" this funnel looks more like Father Ubu's phynance pump than a playful sculpture. Degree should be understood as the part of an angle, not as a step that would lead somewhere.

A man enters the infernal machine, another leaves it, but in what state, his shadow struck by the sun at the zenith, melts at his feet like soft wax.

There are only four left on the board. The king, the queen, and two madmen, of course ...

JBPA002200_DxOFP.jpg

The 2010 thinker no longer takes his chin in his hand, with an overwhelmed air, as with Rodin. Dressed, he wears the regulatory three-piece suit, crushed by a facade whose blank tiles call graffiti like the bubbles of comics. This little Sempé guy has lost his pretty little house and his bike with panniers.

JBPA002109_DxOFP.jpg

How simple warehouses without mischief or secrets become, by the game in the abyme of reverberations, a hermetic defense system, a wall of blocks which prohibits any passage. Only a bird was able to escape. Even the old-fashioned slots, above and to the left, from heroic times, are enlarged.

JBPA002154_DxOFP.jpg

Bright signs in this relentless geometry? Not necessarily. These squared "bubbles" remind me of childhood dreams, when (fake) balloons forced the door of my room, an implacable army that disguised the toy. Mephistophelic balloons. Bulimics. Like the balloon in Le Prisonnier.

JBPA002215_1.jpg
JBPA002044_1.jpg
JBPA002118_DxOFP.jpg
JBPA002036_DxOFP.jpg

View of the port of Rouen before the departure of tall ships, old rigs?

La Défense, harbor of all dreams. Halyards, guy lines, guy lines, all the arsenal of the big three boat masts which doubled Cape Horn at the risk of the sea. There is even a very lone sailor, who leaves in the gangway , the only colorful place in this universe of monochrome mist, two bottles at its feet. So alive.

But as alone in his nightmare as Captain Ahab.

JBPA002234_DxOFP.jpg

That evening, in the setting sun which always does things well, I saw a huge spaceship; surely leaving for Mars, or even further. For a black hole that would tell us the history of the world. Concrete members become powerful metal structures of the world's largest rocket. The play of lights - for a few seconds - made this "Passage des Corolles" an annex to Cape Canaveral.

JBPA002108_DxOFP.jpg
JBPA002068_DxOFP.jpg

Same aquarium color, viscous water, vaguely fluorescent, which dilutes. Same area. Misleading impression since it is a happy troop of Italian tourists. The plays of light, which were not planned by the architects, but which give life to this city born from nothing, give them the airs of artists on a shadow theater. Commedia dell arte.

JBPA002162_DxOFP.jpg

Mouth of truth. Entrance to hell. Abyss of chimeras. Even men do not approach it. They avoid grazing the black crater like hell. In truth, it is a skylight for a parking lot. The man gives the scale, but does not reassure.

JBPA002159_DxOFP.jpg

Still a memory of childhood, the good loco, in the background, spits a monstrous smoke while it is "Double lines indeterminate", by Venet. Fairytale encounter between a building without character and a powerful sculpture, in an imaginary marshalling yard.

JBPA002124_DxOFP.jpg
JBPA002053_DxOFP.jpg

The antithesis of the Moretti tower bursting with color and strength. An aggressive, disturbing shimmer, cells like spy eyes of computers, blades like jaws of saurians or sharks, or like cutterbars of mowers that spare nothing. A choice.

JBPA002178_DxOFP.jpg

Perfect optical effect. For the photographer placed on the glacis, which dominates the slow staircase under the Arch, all the men are on the same line, they therefore appear of different sizes since the depth is denied. Thus offering a skewer cut out on the spot, as if some were 3 meters and others less than a meter. An infeasible sample elsewhere

Above the heads of this zoo, the strange velum, neo-cubist parachute, which is supposed to erase the effect of vertigo: the top of the Ark is so far that it is necessary to cut the perspective to make this infinite space habitable .

JBPA002029_DxOFP.jpg
JBPA002030_DxOFP.jpg
011 telephone_DxOFP.jpg
JBPA002157_DxOFP.jpg
028 arbre béton_DxOFP.jpg
JBPA002213_DxOFP.jpg
JBPA002202_DxOFP.jpg

"Luminous trees" by Takis. This is true since the color lights up in all weathers, and that small lamps, at dusk, animate the head of these puppets mounted on a spiral. Or then vaguely anthropomorphic corkscrews, high voltage line insulators put at the discarded by EDF and customized by pranksters? Army of springs, sequence cut in Mars Attack. Strip of steel cacti in the city desert.

Do not laugh.

JBPA002240.jpg

Defense. New capital of 21st century Europe, it is part of the growth of Paris: the Eiffel Tower is still present even if it is 8 km away! Paris la Défense, Tour Gan Eurocourtage, restructuring works on the CB31 tower (formerly AXA), the Montparnasse tower, the Eiffel tower, the Iris footbridge and the Iris tower.

PARIS LA DÉFENSE

Paris la Défense

La Défense n’est pas celle que  croient ceux qui n’y vont jamais. 

C’est une Ville-Lumières, au pluriel, parce que tous les reflets, les réverbérations s’y donnent rendez-vous dans des jeux sans fin que les hommes n’avaient pas prévu en dessinant leurs cubes et leurs tubes. Quand j’ai découvert, il y a dix ans, ce « quartier » devenu la capitale des affaires de l’ Europe du troisième millénaire, c’était soudain devant mes yeux, l’an 2.000 dont je rêvais quand j’avais dix ans. J’avais enfin retrouvé le terrain de jeu qui avait peuplé mes rêves. Ce rendez-vous  impensable dans une ville-jouet, tenait du magique. J’y ai donc pris un plaisir extrême.

 Ce n’était pas une commande. Je n’étais pas en mission. Bien après la sortie de mon livre sur La Défense, je suis retourné dans mon pays des merveilles où la lumière interfère partout, sans idée préconçue. Toujours, j’allais où mon cœur me portait.Sans cesse, j’écoutais mon oeil. En toute liberté. 

Et j’ai compris que le quotidien est fantastique.

Retour vers l'an 2000 de mes rêves d'enfant

L'esplanade de La Défense

Froid et toujours inquiétant. L’aquarium d’un capitaine Nemo qui aurait perdu les clés de son labyrinthe, comme ceux des foires de jadis. Des strates verticales de verre faussement transparentes. Des verres très épais, comme des plaques d’acier qui laissent passer le regard mais bloque les vents, sous l’Arche géante qui aggrave l’effet Venturi.Plantées en quinconce , elles filtrent l’humain, forcément perdu comme cette silhouette grise, puisque tous les costumes sont anthracites ou gris.Un homme qui a perdu son ombre depuis longtemps.

Une botte de crayons de couleurs. Un faisceau arc en ciel. La tour Moretti  s’enfonce dans le ciel bleu quadrillé par la traînée des avions à réaction. Un obélisque, qui donne un sens, au gré de chacun.

Elle me rappelle le jeu de mon enfance, lorsque nous étions consignés. On dessinait un château fort, garni de soldats, bien armés, entre les merlons. On l’attaquait avec des crayons, lancés d’une pichenette, qui pouvaient rater leur cible.

Un jeu, puisque la défense peut être aussi un terrain de jeux, terrain de « je » pour ceux qui n’ont rien oublié.

 

Une pelouse au carré, entre Mondrian et Malévitch. Une géométrie verte d’éternel printemps.

Depuis l’an 2000, les jeunes arbres ont poussé. Si bien que, sous cette angle, l’herbe est définitivement cachée, rendue à l’ombre, perdue pour les regards. C’est aussi un tartan écossais. Un drapeau que nulle hampe ne dressera. Un signe enfoui. Un moment de liberté au pays du verre et du béton,éphémère.

 

Cinq pastilles rouges, autoritaires comme cinq feux rouge, interdiction de passer, pour ceux qui oseraient et ne comprendraient pas ? Non, c’est une protection optique pour signaler une barrière de verre dangereuse pour les fronts des distraits. Un homme disparaît dans le lointain, c’est donc qu’il a pu entrer. Mais en sortira-t-il ?

Mouche sous cloche…il connaît la petite chicane qui ouvre le piège à humains. Signé Kafka.

 

L’apocalypse. Les membres irradiés d’un corps géant, un décor de Blade Runner. 

Les arcs-boutants de bois précieux dessinent une perspective du futur,  les passages de la ville modèle qu’on imagine dans les films ou les B.D.  Des passerelles dans une sorte de patio, le bois déjà fossilisé. Chaud mais inquiétant.

 

Un échiquier à la Giacometti ou à la De Chirico.

Sur la "Place des degrés" cet entonnoir ressemble davantage à la pompe à phynances du père Ubu qu’à une sculpture ludique. Il faut entendre degré comme la partie d’un angle, pas comme une marche qui mènerait quelque part.

Un homme pénètre dans la machine infernale, un autre en sort, mais dans quel état, son ombre frappée par le soleil au zénith, fond à ses pieds comme de la cire molle.

Ils ne sont plus que quatre sur l’échiquier. Le roi, la reine, et deux fous, forcément…

 

Le penseur 2010 ne se prend plus le menton dans la main, d’un air accablé, comme chez Rodin. Rhabillé, il porte le costume trois pièces réglementaire, écrasé par une façade dont les carreaux vierges appellent le graffiti comme les bulles des bandes dessinées. Ce petit bonhomme à la Sempé, a perdu sa jolie petite maison et son vélo avec sacoches.

 

Comment de simples entrepôts sans malice ni secrets deviennent, par le jeu en abyme des réverbérations, un système de défense hermétique, une muraille de blocs qui interdit tout passage. Seul un oiseau a pu s’échapper. Même les créneaux à l’ancienne, en haut et à gauche, venus des temps héroïques, sont hypertrophiés.

 

Des signes lumineux dans cette géométrie implacable ? Pas forcément. Ces « bulles » au carré me rappellent des rêves d’enfance, quand des ballons de (fausse)baudruche forçaient la porte de ma chambre, armée implacable qui travestissait le jouet.Ballons méphistophéliques.Boulimiques. Comme le ballon dans le feuilleton Le Prisonnier.

 

Vue du port de Rouen avant le départ des grands voiliers, des vieux gréements ?

La Défense, port de tous les rêves.Drisses, haubans, galhaubans, tout l’arsenal des grands trois mats barques qui doublaient le Cap-Horn au péril de la mer. Il y a même un marin bien seul, qui part dans la coursive, seul endroit coloré de cet univers de brume monochrome, deux bouteilles à ses pieds. Donc vivant.  

Mais aussi seul dans son cauchemar que le capitaine Achab.

 

Ce soir-là, dans le soleil couchant qui fait toujours bien les choses, j’ai vu un vaisseau spatial, immense ; partant sûrement pour Mars, voire plus loin. Pour un trou noir qui nous raconterait l’histoire du monde. Les membrures de béton deviennent des structures métalliques puissantes de la plus grande fusée du monde. Les jeux de lumières –pour quelques secondes- ont fait de ce « Passage des Corolles » une annexe de Cap Canaveral. 

 

Même couleur d’aquarium, d’eau visqueuse, vaguement fluo, qui délaie. Même secteur. Impression trompeuse puisqu’il s’agit une joyeuse troupe de touristes italiens. Les jeux de lumière , qui n’ont pas été prévus par les architectes, mais qui donnent vie à cette ville née de rien, leur donnent des airs d’artistes sur un théâtre d’ombre. Commedia dell arte.

 

Bouche de vérité. Entrée des enfers. Gouffre des chimères. Mêmes les hommes ne s’en approchent pas. Ils évitent de frôler le cratère noir comme l’enfer. En vérité, c’est un puits de lumière pour un parking. L’homme donne l’échelle, mais ne rassure pas.

 

Encore un souvenir d’enfance, la bonne loco, dans le fond, crache une fumée monstrueuse alors qu’il s’agit de « Double lignes indéterminées », de Venet. Rencontre féerique entre un immeuble sans caractère et une sculpture puissante, dans une gare de triage imaginaire.

 

L’antithèse de la tour Moretti gorgée de couleurs et de force. Un miroitement agressif, inquiétant, des cellules comme des yeux espions d’ordinateurs, des lames comme des mâchoires de sauriens ou de requins, ou comme les barres de coupes des faucheuses qui n’épargnent rien. Au choix.

 

Parfait effet d’optique. Pour le photographe placé sur le glacis,qui domine le lent escalier sous l’Arche, tous les hommes sont sur la même ligne, ils paraissent donc de tailles différentes puisque la profondeur est niée.Offrant ainsi une brochette découpée sur le vif, comme si certains faisaient 3 mètres et les autres moins d’un mètre. Un échantillon infaisable ailleurs

Au dessus des têtes de ce zoo, l’étrange vélum, parachute néo-cubiste,qui est censé effacer l’effet de vertige : le sommet de l’Arche est si loin qu’il faut couper la perspective pour rendre habitable cet espace infini.

 

« Arbres lumineux » de Takis. C’est vrai puisque la couleur éclaire par tous les temps, et que de petites lampes , au crépuscule, animent la tête de ces marionnettes montées sur spirale.Ou alors des tire-bouchons vaguement anthropomorphes, des isolateurs de ligne à haute tension mis au rebut par EDF et customisés par les farceurs ? Armée de ressorts, séquence coupée dans Mars Attack. Bande de cactus d’acier dans le désert de la Ville.

Défense de rire.

 

La Défense. Nouvelle capitale de l’Europe du XXIe siècle, elle s’inscrit dans la croissance de Paris : la tour Eiffel est encore présente même si elle est à 8 km ! Paris la Défense, Tour Gan Eurocourtage, travaux de restructuration de la tour CB31 (ex-AXA), la tour Montparnasse, la tour Eiffel, la passerelle Iris et la tour Iris.

© 2019 by Jacques Bravo