PARIS

 

PARIS ON THE NILE

AN EGYPTIAN TOUR OF THE CAPITAL

 

Napoleon Bonaparte's campaign in Egypt and the East between 1798 and 1801 led to the rise of an architectural style known as the Egyptian Renaissance in Paris, and generated several monuments across the French capital that were inspired by pharaohs, sphinxes and other iconic images for their decoration. But if you walk around like an Egyptian for an afternoon in Paris, you'll find that the Napoleonic era is far from the only influence. Sometimes it seems like pyramids and obelisks are everywhere ...

e4-OQXo_noA-3yfcFhG1BfQ-ifill_2048.jpg

 

Fellah fountain

The Fellah Fountain was built in 1806 during the reign of Napoleon Bonaparte. It is the work of architect François-Jean Bralle and sculptor Pierre-Nicolas Beauvalet. The fountain was one of fifteen fountains built by Napoleon to provide drinking water to the people of Paris and to commemorate his military campaigns.

Pyramide, Parc Monceau

 

Pyramid, Parc Monceau

The park includes a collection of scaled-down architectural elements, or follies - including an Egyptian pyramid, a Chinese fort, a Dutch windmill, and Corinthian pillars. A number of these items are Masonic references, reflecting the fact that Philippe d'Orléans was a prominent Freemason.

e4-OQXo_noA-fUKnc0GYcFw-ifill_2048.jpg

 

Sphinx, Hotel Fieubet

In ancient Egypt, the pharaoh was sometimes depicted as the sphinx, a lioness with a human head. From the earliest written records of man, the lioness was recognized as the fierce hunter of the dreaded species in the cultures of ancient Egypt and Africa and dominated in the pantheons of these ancient cultures as representing warriors and protectors of the country.

e4-OQXo_noA-9Jg3jghtahg-ifill_2048.jpg

 

Luxor Obelisk

Two 3,300-year-old twin obelisks once marked the entrance to the Luxor Temple. Muhammad Ali Pasha, the Wāli and self-proclaimed Khedive of Egypt, offered the two obelisks to France in 1829. In August 1832, the French paddle steamer Sphinx traveled to Alexandria to meet the barge Louqsor, which was to load the Luxor Obelisk and bring it to Paris.

e4-OQXo_noA-s7bimgK5bio-ifill_2048.jpg

 

The Man with the Raised Arm by Olivier Brice, Place du Caire

Egyptian-style works of art and architecture have been occasionally produced or built on mainland Europe and the British Isles since the Renaissance era.

e4-OQXo_noA-5ssld6u8Sy4-ifill_2048.jpg

 

Facade of the Cairo Passage , in the Sentier district

Among the oldest examples of renaissance in France is the Passage du Caire building constructed in 1798. The exterior of the stone structure features large, engaged Hathor heads, a freize, and other more subtle architectural influences. of ancient Egypt.

e4-OQXo_noA-v5TFwlaQwdc-ifill_2048.jpg

 

Luxor Cinema

Opened in 1921 as an independent cinema, the Luxor was taken over by the Pathe chain and then finally closed for more than 25 years. In 2003, the City of Paris bought the site. After undergoing a major renovation, the Luxor reopened in April 2013.

e4-OQXo_noA-nu7UM15VoRg-ifill_2048.jpg

 

Nubian lion fountain

While the Egyptians ruled over Nubia, they documented the cult of Dedun as a god of wealth and prosperity, who was said to be the son of the Nubian lioness goddess, although they did not incorporate this deity into their own pantheon.

e4-OQXo_noA-CC7tlr_h11U-ifill_2048.jpg

 

Palm tree fountain

The Fontaine du Palmier (1806-1808) is the largest fountain built during the reign of Napoleon that still exists.

e4-OQXo_noA-1CdjUGiGf9M-ifill_2048.jpg

 

The pyramid of Louvre

The Louvre Pyramid is surrounded by three smaller pyramids in the main courtyard (Cour Napoléon) of the Louvre Palace. The great pyramid serves as the main entrance to the Louvre museum. Completed in 1989, it has become a landmark of the city of Paris.

PARIS

 

PARIS SUR LE NIL

UN TOUR ÉGYPTIEN DE LA CAPITALE

 

La campagne de Napoléon Bonaparte en Égypte et en Orient entre 1798 et 1801 a conduit à l'essor d'un style architectural connu sous le nom de Renaissance égyptienne à Paris, et a généré plusieurs monuments à travers la capitale française qui se sont inspirés des pharaons, des sphinx et d'autres images iconiques pour leur décoration. Mais si vous vous promenez comme un Égyptien pendant un après-midi à Paris, vous constaterez que l'époque napoléonienne est loin d'être la seule influence. Parfois, il semble que les pyramides et les obélisques soient partout...

 

Fontaine du Fellah

La Fontaine du Fellah a été construite en 1806 sous le règne de Napoléon Bonaparte. Elle est l'œuvre de l'architecte François-Jean Bralle et du sculpteur Pierre-Nicolas Beauvalet. La fontaine était l'une des quinze fontaines construites par Napoléon pour fournir de l'eau potable à la population de Paris et pour commémorer ses campagnes militaires.

 

Pyramide, Parc Monceau

Le parc comprend une collection d'éléments architecturaux réduits, ou folies - dont une pyramide égyptienne, un fort chinois, un moulin à vent néerlandais et des piliers corinthiens. Un certain nombre de ces éléments sont des références maçonniques, reflétant le fait que Philippe d'Orléans était un franc-maçon de premier plan.

 

Sphinx, Hôtel Fieubet

Dans l'Égypte ancienne, le pharaon était parfois représenté comme le sphinx, une lionne à tête humaine. Dès les premières traces écrites de l'homme, la lionne était reconnue comme la chasseuse féroce de la redoutable espèce dans les cultures de l'Égypte ancienne et de l'Afrique et dominait dans les panthéons de ces anciennes cultures comme représentant les guerriers et les protecteurs du pays.

 

Obélisque de Louxor

Deux obélisques jumeaux âgés de 3 300 ans ont jadis marqué l'entrée du temple de Louxor. Muhammad Ali Pacha, le Wāli et autoproclamé Khédive d'Égypte, a offert les deux obélisques à la France en 1829. En août 1832, le navire à aubes français Sphinx s'est rendu à Alexandrie pour y retrouver la barge Louqsor, qui devait charger l'obélisque de Louxor et l'amener à Paris.

 

L'Homme au bras levé par Olivier Brice, Place du Caire

Des œuvres d'art et d'architecture de style égyptien ont été réalisées ou construites occasionnellement sur le continent européen et les îles britanniques depuis l'époque de la Renaissance.

 

Façade du passage du Caire, dans le quartier du Sentier

Parmi les plus anciens exemples de la renaissance en France, on trouve le bâtiment du passage du Caire construit en 1798. L'extérieur de la structure en pierre présente de grandes têtes d'Hathor engagées, un freize et d'autres influences architecturales plus subtiles de l'Égypte ancienne.

 

Cinéma le Louxor

Ouvert en 1921 comme cinéma indépendant, le Louxor a été repris par la chaîne Pathe puis a finalement fermé pendant plus de 25 ans. En 2003, la Ville de Paris a racheté le site. Après avoir subi une rénovation majeure, le Louxor a rouvert en avril 2013.

 

Fontaine aux lions de Nubie

Alors que les Égyptiens régnaient sur la Nubie, ils ont documenté le culte de Dedun comme un dieu de la richesse et de la prospérité, qui serait le fils de la déesse lionne nubienne, bien qu'ils n'aient pas incorporé cette déité dans leur propre panthéon.

 

Fontaine du Palmier

La Fontaine du Palmier (1806-1808) est la plus grande fontaine construite sous le règne de Napoléon qui existe encore.

 

Pyramide du Louvre

La Pyramide du Louvre est entourée de trois pyramides plus petites, dans la cour principale (Cour Napoléon) du Palais du Louvre. La grande pyramide sert d'entrée principale au musée du Louvre. Achevée en 1989, elle est devenue un point de repère de la ville de Paris.

© 2021 by Jacques Bravo

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

CONTACT