PARIS

Amélie's Paris

 

The district of Place des Abbesses, on the Butte Montmartre, is one of the most charming in the capital. Audiences around the world also know the location of Amélie, the fantastic romantic comedy by Jean-Pierre Jeunet in which Audrey Tautou plays the role of an eccentric young woman who makes jokes to improve the lives of the people around her. . Much of Amélie's appeal lies in her heroine's idyllic postcard-like vision of Paris - but it's not just a cinematic fantasy. Guided tour, discover these magical places for yourself.

Le cinéma d'Amélie Poulain

 

Studio 28

Studio 28 is one of the oldest cinemas in Paris, a sacred place for Parisian film buffs for its part in the capital's cinematographic history: this is where Luis Buñuel's L'Age d'Or provoked riots when it premiered in 1930. It is also, you may remember, the place where Amélie likes to go on Friday nights.

 

Saint Vincent Street

rue Saint Vincebt à Montmartre

 

And ... action! In Amélie's very first scene, the camera follows the buzzing of a blue mob along the cobbled, green rue Saint-Vincent, behind the Sacré-Coeur basilica, at the top of Montmartre, on the day of conception. of our heroine.

 

Café des 2 Moulins

café des deux moulins à montmartre

 

Yes, Amélie's café really does exist, hidden in rue Lepic, below Place des Abbesses. The crème brûlée in this fabulous Art Deco hideaway now bears the name of Amélie Poulain, the most famous fictitious employee of the café.

 

Canal Saint-Martin

canal saint-Martin

 

The Canal Saint Martin is very popular on sunny summer days, Parisians and tourists picnicking by the canal, but this charming bridge over one of the locks is also the place where Amélie has fun doing ricochets with pebbles.

 

Notre-Dame de Paris

Notre-Dame de Paris

 

This one only requires a little introduction. Perhaps the most famous landmark in Paris ... and, in a splendid moment of anarchy from director Jean-Pierre Jeunet, the scene of the suicide of Amélie's mother. Charming.

 

Abbesses metro station

métro Abbesses

 

Well, you can't miss this step there. Abbesses metro station is the place where Amélie first spies on Nino, the man she ends up falling in love with after chasing him through Paris.

 

La Butte grocery store

Épicier de la butte montmartre

 

The scene where Amélie describes the tantalizing pleasures of the local market to a blind man is one of the film's most touching moments ... a fact that is not lost on the enterprising trader of today.

 

Lamarck Caulaincourt

metro Lamarck Caulaincourt

 

The double staircase in front of the Lamarck-Caulaincourt metro station, where Amélie shares a moment of pleasure with her blind friend.

 

North Station

e4-OQXo_noA-mLgFWagqiIg-ifill_2048.jpg

 

It is at the Paris central station and the Eurostar terminal that Amélie lays her first eyes on Nino, and it is also there that she takes the train to visit her father.

 

Studio 28

e4-OQXo_noA-ZYlqPx3DaN8-ifill_2048.jpg

 

Studio 28 is one of the oldest cinemas in Paris, a sacred place for Parisian film buffs for its part in the capital's cinematographic history: this is where Luis Buñuel's L'Age d'Or provoked riots when it premiered in 1930. It is also, you may remember, the place where Amélie likes to go on Friday nights.

 

Bir Hakeim Bridge

e4-OQXo_noA-cNBG55aOzec-ifill_2048.jpg

 

The famous Passy viaduct, which spans the Seine, is perhaps more familiar to spectators of Last Tango in Paris or Inception, but it also arises in Amélie.

 

Costume rental store, Boulevard Saint Martin

e4-OQXo_noA-6Oa_2X-SQpI-ifill_2048.jpg

 

Amélie's Zorro costume must have come from somewhere.

 

East Railway Station

e4-OQXo_noA-vbObb1Yb3cs-ifill_2048.jpg

 

The Gare de l'Est room is an important place for Amélie fans. This is where Nico, Amélie's lover, loses his album of memories and an important point of the plot is played out at the end of the film. Spoilers!

 

The bridge of Arts

e4-OQXo_noA-5q_d5KWZLt0-ifill_2048.jpg

 

It is on the magnificent Pont des Arts in Paris, which crosses the Seine between the Louvre and the Institut Français, that Amélie experiences for the first time "a surge of love, a need for 'helping humanity'. If only it had the same effect on all Parisians.

 

Sacré-Coeur

e4-OQXo_noA-a1_2kq39zYw-ifill_2048.jpg

 

The Basilica of the Sacred Heart of Montmartre, or quite simply the Sacré-Coeur, is the site of an elaborate treasure hunt that Amélie sets up for her "mystery man" Nico. Follow the blue arrows ...

PARIS

Le Paris d'Amélie

 

Le quartier de la place des Abbesses, sur la  Butte Montmartre, est l'un des plus charmants de la capitale. Le public du monde entier connaît également le lieu où se déroule Amélie, la fantastique comédie romantique de Jean-Pierre Jeunet dans laquelle Audrey Tautou joue le rôle d'une jeune femme excentrique qui fait des blagues pour améliorer la vie des gens qui l'entourent. L'attrait d'Amélie réside en grande partie dans la vision idyllique de carte postale de Paris qu'habite son héroïne - mais ce n'est pas seulement une fantaisie cinématographique. Visite guidée, découvrez ces lieux magiques par vous-même.

Le cinéma d'Amélie Poulain

 

Studio 28

Le Studio 28 est l'un des plus anciens cinémas de Paris, un lieu sacré pour les cinéphiles parisiens pour sa part dans l'histoire cinématographique de la capitale : c'est là que L'Age d'Or de Luis Buñuel a provoqué des émeutes lors de sa première en 1930. C'est aussi, vous vous en souvenez peut-être, l'endroit où Amélie aime se rendre le vendredi soir.

 

Rue Saint Vincent

rue Saint Vincebt à Montmartre

 

Et ... action ! Dans la toute première scène d'Amélie, la caméra suit le bourdonnement d'une mob  bleue le long de la rue Saint-Vincent, pavée et verdoyante, derrière la basilique du Sacré-Cœur, au sommet de Montmartre, le jour de la conception de notre héroïne.

 

Café des 2 Moulins

café des deux moulins à montmartre

 

Oui, le café d'Amélie existe vraiment, caché dans la rue Lepic, en contrebas de la place des Abbesses. La crème brûlée de cette fabuleuse cachette Art Déco porte désormais le nom d'Amélie Poulain, la plus célèbre employée fictive du café.

 

Canal Saint-Martin

canal saint-Martin

 

Le Canal Saint Martin est très fréquenté par les jours ensoleillés de l'été, les Parisiens et les touristes pique-niquant au bord du canal, mais ce charmant pont sur l'une des écluses est aussi le lieu où Amélie s'amuse à faire des ricochets avec des cailloux.

 

Notre Dame

Notre-Dame de Paris

 

Celui-ci ne nécessite qu'une petite introduction. Peut-être le point de repère le plus célèbre de Paris ... et, dans un splendide moment d'anarchie du réalisateur Jean-Pierre Jeunet, la scène du suicide de la mère d'Amélie. Charmant.

 

Métro Abbesses

métro Abbesses

 

Eh bien, vous ne pouvez pas manquer cette étape là. La station de métro Abbesses est le lieu où Amélie espionne pour la première fois Nino, l'homme dont elle finit par tomber amoureuse après l'avoir poursuivi à travers Paris.

 

Épicerie de la Butte

Épicier de la butte montmartre

 

La scène où Amélie décrit les plaisirs alléchants du marché local à un aveugle est l'un des moments les plus touchants du film ... un fait qui n'échappe pas au commerçant entreprenant  actuel.

 

Lamarck Caulaincourt

metro Lamarck Caulaincourt

 

Le double escalier devant la station de métro Lamarck-Caulaincourt, où Amélie partage un moment de plaisir avec son ami aveugle.

 

Gare du Nord

 

C'est à la gare centrale de Paris et au terminal de l'Eurostar qu'Amélie pose ses premiers yeux sur Nino, et c'est également là qu'elle prend le train pour aller voir son père.

 

Studio 28

 

Le Studio 28 est l'un des plus anciens cinémas de Paris, un lieu sacré pour les cinéphiles parisiens pour sa part dans l'histoire cinématographique de la capitale : c'est là que "L'Age d'Or" de Luis Buñuel a provoqué des émeutes lors de sa première en 1930. C'est aussi, vous vous en souvenez peut-être, l'endroit où Amélie aime se rendre le vendredi soir.

 

Pont de Bir Hakeim

 

Le célèbre viaduc de Passy, qui enjambe la Seine, est peut-être plus familier aux spectateurs de Last Tango in Paris ou Inception, mais il surgit aussi à Amélie.

 

Magasin de location de costumes, Boulevard Saint Martin

 

Le costume Zorro d'Amélie doit bien venir de quelque part.

 

Gare de l'Est

 

La salle de la Gare de l'Est est un lieu important pour les fans d'Amélie. C'est là que Nico, l'amoureux d'Amélie, perd son album de souvenirs et qu'un point important de l'intrigue se joue à la fin du film. Spoilers !

 

Le pont des Arts

 

C'est sur le magnifique Pont des Arts de Paris, qui traverse la Seine entre le Louvre et l'Institut Français, qu'Amélie fait l'expérience pour la première fois "d'un élan d'amour, d'un besoin d'aider l'humanité". Si seulement cela avait le même effet sur tous les Parisiens.

 

Sacré-Coeur

 

La Basilique du Sacré Coeur de Montmartre, ou tout simplement le Sacré-Coeur, est le lieu d'une chasse au trésor élaborée qu'Amélie met en place pour son "homme mystère" Nico. Suivez les flèches bleues ...

© 2021 by Jacques Bravo

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

CONTACT