PARIS

A tribute to Édith Piaf

 

Édith Piaf (19 December 1915 – 11 October 1963) was a French singer who became widely regarded as France's national diva, as well as being one of France's greatest international stars. Her singing reflected her life, with her specialty being of Chanson and ballads, particularly of love, loss and sorrow. Among her songs are: - "La Vie en rose" (1946), - "Non, je ne regrette rien" (1960), - "Hymne à l'amour" (1949), - "Milord" (1959), - "La Foule" (1957), - "l'Accordéoniste" (1955), - "Padam ... Padam ..." (1951).

e4-OQXo_noA-H3HYoKE4Dg8-ifill_2048.jpg

 

The Édith Piaf Museum is a private museum dedicated to the singer Édith Piaf located in the 11th arrondissement at 5, rue Crespin du Gast, Paris, France. It is open by appointment; free entry. The museum was created by Bernard Marchois, author of two biographies of Piaf, and occupies two rooms in a private apartment. It contains memorabilia including his porcelain collection, gold and platinum records, dresses and shoes, photographs, fan letters, sheet music, posters and recordings.

 

72, RUE DE BELLEVILLE

e4-OQXo_noA-1HNkqzBHiLo-ifill_2048.jpg

 

Despite numerous biographies, much of Piaf's life is shrouded in mystery. She was born Édith Giovanna Gassion in Belleville, Paris. Legend has it that she was born on the pavement of Rue de Belleville 72, but her birth certificate cites the Hôpital Tenon, the hospital for the 20th arrondissement, of which Belleville is part.

 

EDITH PIAF MUSEUM AT 5 RUE CRESPIN DU GAST

e4-OQXo_noA-shN2c-TvQYc-ifill_2048.jpg

 

From the age of three to seven, Piaf would have been blind due to keratitis. According to one of her biographies, she would have regained her sight after her grandmother's prostitutes pooled money to send her on a pilgrimage in honor of Saint Thérèse of Lisieux. Piaf claimed that this result was a miraculous cure. She will keep a special cult of Thérèse all her life, whose medal she will keep around her neck all her life.

 

EARLY LIFE

e4-OQXo_noA-SYmn8VB15Is-ifill_2048.jpg

 

At the age of 15, Edith met Simone "Mômone" Berteaut, who may have been her half-sister, certainly a companion for most of her life, and together they walked the streets singing and singing. by earning money for the first time.

 

SINGING CAREER

e4-OQXo_noA-qVQjJ9moGsw-ifill_2048.jpg

 

In 1935, Piaf was discovered in the Pigalle district of Paris by the owner of the nightclub Louis Leplée, whose Le Gerny club, near the Champs-Élysées, was frequented by the upper and lower classes. He persuaded her to sing despite her extreme nervousness which, combined with her height of only 142 centimeters, gave her the nickname that will remain to her all her life and which will serve as her stage name, La Môme Piaf.

 

PLACE EDITH PIAF

e4-OQXo_noA-PTqE8i9WOKI-ifill_2048.jpg

 

During World War II, she frequently participated in social gatherings of German forces in occupied France, and many considered her a traitor; after the war, she says she worked for the French Resistance. While there is no evidence of this, it seems true that she did help a number of people (including at least one Jew) escape Nazi persecution.

 

MUSIC HALL OLYMPIA

e4-OQXo_noA-ay5Rwfn-bkQ-ifill_2048.jpg

 

Bruno Coquatrix's famous Paris Olympia music hall is where Piaf achieved lasting fame, giving several series of concerts at the hall, the most famous venue in Paris, between January 1955 and October 1962. Excerpts from five of these concerts (1955, 1956, 1958, 1961, 1962) were issued on record and CD and have never been out of print.

 

 

BAR DE LA PLACE

e4-OQXo_noA-UJpJGSvqFkg-ifill_2048.jpg

 

The love of Piaf's life, the married boxer Marcel Cerdan, died in a plane crash in October 1949, while flying from Paris to New York City to meet her. Cerdan's Air France flight, flown on a Lockheed Constellation, crashed in the Azores, killing everyone on board, including noted violinist Ginette Neveu. Piaf and Cerdan's affair made international headlines, as Cerdan was the former middleweight world champion and a legend in France in his own right.

 

67 BOULEVARD LANNES

e4-OQXo_noA-t79OqZK6qUs-ifill_2048.jpg

 

Piaf died of liver cancer at age 47 at her villa in Plascassier (Grasse), on the French Riviera, on 11 October 1963. She had been drifting in and out of consciousness for several months. Her last words were "Every damn fool thing you do in this life, you pay for." It is said that Sarapo drove her body back to Paris secretly so that fans would think she had died in her hometown.

 

PÈRE LACHAISE

e4-OQXo_noA-sPgW1N-6YyE-ifill_2048.jpg

 

Although she was denied a funeral mass by the Roman Catholic archbishop of Paris because of her lifestyle, Her funeral procession drew tens of thousands of mourners onto the streets of Paris and the ceremony at the cemetery was attended by more than 100,000 fans. Charles Aznavour recalled that Piaf's funeral procession was the only time since the end of World War II that he saw Parisian traffic come to a complete stop.

 

IN POPULAR CULTURE

e4-OQXo_noA-UWiIwvJ1Nas-ifill_2048.jpg

 

Piaf's work and name can still be found in popular culture and music today. Numerous songs by Piaf are used in films and other media. Films such as Saving Private Ryan, Inception, Bull Durham, La Haine, The Dreamers and the animated film, Madagascar 3 all have Piaf's songs in them. Love Me If You Dare pays tribute to her song La Vie En Rose by including various versions of the song in its soundtrack.

PARIS

Un Hommage à Édith Piaf

 

Édith Piaf (19 décembre 1915 - 11 octobre 1963) est une chanteuse française qui est devenue la diva nationale de la France et l'une des plus grandes stars internationales. Son chant reflète sa vie, sa spécialité étant la Chanson et les ballades, notamment d'amour, de perte et de chagrin. Parmi ses chansons, on peut citer - "La Vie en rose" (1946), - "Non, je ne regrette rien" (1960), - "Hymne à l'amour" (1949), - "Milord" (1959), - "La Foule" (1957), - "l'Accordéoniste" (1955), - "Padam ... Padam ..." (1951).

e4-OQXo_noA-H3HYoKE4Dg8-ifill_2048.jpg

 

Le Musée Édith Piaf est un musée privé dédié à la chanteuse Édith Piaf situé dans le 11e arrondissement au 5, rue Crespin du Gast, Paris. Il est ouvert sur rendez-vous ; l'entrée est gratuite. Le musée a été créé par Bernard Marchois, auteur de deux biographies de Piaf, et occupe deux salles au sein d'un appartement privé. Il contient des souvenirs, notamment sa collection de porcelaine, des disques d'or et de platine, des robes et des chaussures, des photographies, des lettres d'éventail, des partitions, des affiches et des enregistrements.

 

72, RUE DE BELLEVILLE

e4-OQXo_noA-1HNkqzBHiLo-ifill_2048.jpg

 

Malgré de nombreuses biographies, une grande partie de la vie de Piaf est entourée de mystère. Elle est née Édith Giovanna Gassion à Belleville, Paris. La légende veut qu'elle soit née sur le trottoir de la rue de Belleville 72, mais son acte de naissance cite l'hôpital Tenon, l'hôpital du 20e arrondissement, dont Belleville fait partie.

 

MUSÉE EDITH PIAF AU 5 RUE CRESPIN DU GAST

e4-OQXo_noA-shN2c-TvQYc-ifill_2048.jpg

 

De l'âge de trois à sept ans, Piaf aurait été aveugle à cause d'une kératite. Selon l'une de ses biographies, elle aurait recouvré la vue après que les prostituées de sa grand-mère aient mis en commun de l'argent pour l'envoyer en pèlerinage en l'honneur de Sainte Thérèse de Lisieux. Piaf a affirmé que ce résultat était une guérison miraculeuse. Elle gardera toute sa vie un culte particulier à Thérèse, dont elle gardera la médaille autour du cou toute sa vie.

 

VIE PRÉCOCE

e4-OQXo_noA-SYmn8VB15Is-ifill_2048.jpg

 

À l'âge de 15 ans, Edith a rencontré Simone "Mômone" Berteaut, qui était peut-être sa demi-sœur, certainement une compagne pour la plus grande partie de sa vie, et ensemble, elles ont parcouru les rues en chantant et en gagnant de l'argent pour la première fois.

 

CARRIÈRE DE CHANTEUSE

e4-OQXo_noA-qVQjJ9moGsw-ifill_2048.jpg

 

En 1935, Piaf a été découvert dans le quartier de Pigalle à Paris par le propriétaire de la boîte de nuit Louis Leplée, dont le club Le Gerny, près des Champs-Élysées, était fréquenté par les classes supérieures et inférieures. Il la persuade de chanter malgré son extrême nervosité qui, combinée à sa taille de seulement 142 centimètres, lui inspire le surnom qui lui restera toute sa vie et qui lui servira de nom de scène, La Môme Piaf.

 

PLACE EDITH PIAF

e4-OQXo_noA-PTqE8i9WOKI-ifill_2048.jpg

 

Pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, elle participe fréquemment aux réunions sociales des forces allemandes en France occupée, et beaucoup de gens la considèrent comme une traîtresse ; après la guerre, elle déclare avoir travaillé pour la Résistance française. Bien qu'il n'y ait aucune preuve de cela, il semble vrai qu'elle a contribué à aider un certain nombre de personnes (dont au moins un Juif) à échapper aux persécutions nazies.

 

MUSIC HALL OLYMPIA

e4-OQXo_noA-ay5Rwfn-bkQ-ifill_2048.jpg

 

C'est dans le célèbre music-hall de l'Olympia à Paris de Bruno Coquatrix qu'elle a atteint une renommée durable, en donnant plusieurs séries de concerts dans cette salle, la plus célèbre de Paris, entre janvier 1955 et octobre 1962. Des extraits de cinq de ces concerts (1955, 1956, 1958, 1961, 1962) ont été publiés sur disque et CD et n'ont jamais été épuisés.

 

BAR DE LA PLACE

e4-OQXo_noA-UJpJGSvqFkg-ifill_2048.jpg

 

L'amour de la vie de Piaf, le boxeur marié Marcel Cerdan, est mort dans un accident d'avion en octobre 1949, alors qu'il faisait le voyage de Paris à New York pour la rencontrer. Le vol Air France de Marcel Cerdan, effectué à bord d'un Lockheed Constellation, s'est écrasé aux Açores, tuant tous les passagers, y compris la célèbre violoniste Ginette Neveu. L'affaire de Piaf et Cerdan a fait la une des journaux internationaux, car Cerdan était l'ancien champion du monde des poids moyens et une légende en France à part entière.

 

67 BOULEVARD LANNES

e4-OQXo_noA-t79OqZK6qUs-ifill_2048.jpg

 

Piaf meurt d'un cancer du foie à 47 ans dans sa villa de Plascassier (Grasse), sur la Côte d'Azur, le 11 octobre 1963. Elle avait perdu conscience pendant plusieurs mois. Ses derniers mots furent : "Chaque foutu truc que vous faites dans cette vie, vous le payez". On dit que Sarapo a ramené son corps à Paris en secret pour que les fans pensent qu'elle était morte dans sa ville natale.

 

PÈRE LACHAISE

e4-OQXo_noA-sPgW1N-6YyE-ifill_2048.jpg

 

Bien que l'archevêque catholique romain de Paris lui ait refusé une messe funéraire en raison de son mode de vie, son cortège funèbre a attiré des dizaines de milliers de personnes dans les rues de Paris et la cérémonie au cimetière a été suivie par plus de 100 000 fans. Charles Aznavour a rappelé que le cortège funèbre de Piaf était la seule fois depuis la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale où il a vu la circulation parisienne s'arrêter complètement.

 

DANS LA CULTURE POPULAIRE

e4-OQXo_noA-UWiIwvJ1Nas-ifill_2048.jpg

 

L'œuvre et le nom de Piaf se retrouvent encore aujourd'hui dans la culture et la musique populaires. De nombreuses chansons de Piaf sont utilisées dans des films et d'autres médias. Des films tels que Saving Private Ryan, Inception, Bull Durham, La Haine, The Dreamers et le film d'animation Madagascar 3 contiennent tous des chansons de Piaf. Love Me If You Dare rend hommage à sa chanson La Vie En Rose en incluant différentes versions de la chanson dans sa bande-son.