OPEN SESAME, AND OUT INTO THE DESERT

Carnet de voyage Marrakech, Maroc. Jacques Bravo
F1000013-1.jpg

Leaving Marrakech

It should even say "the" deserts. Since infinity is always plural in Morocco, abyss of "lands without men", this is the first definition of the word. While these deserts are another form of life, particularly pugnacious. The roads of Dades, Draa and Ziz are all different from each other. Which means you have to go through them all, so come back to them. None is delivered in its entirety in a few days. You have to be gourmet, not greedy. Then only the diffa, permanent, is sumptuous ...

Two passes offer you the option of erasing peaks that exceed four thousand meters: the Tizi N'Test is the Porte du Sous, we just saw it, and going downhill to the south, if you take the Aoulouz road, if you stroll in Taliouine and Taznakht, you will then join Ouarzazate and the laces that descend from Tizi N'Tichka, the other door of the desert. All roads lead to Dadès, the country of roses and so elegant houses, earth sculptures shaped by hand, in adobe or in raw brick.

F1000029-2-5.jpg

In Tameslohte, meeting with an old man in his palace, presenting us some gold coins of a treasure which would be hidden within its walls.

F1000009-2-2.jpg
 

Tizi N'Tichka

tichka 2-4.jpg

Tizi N'Tichka

col du Tichka-1.jpg

Tizi N'Tichka

tichka hiver-1.jpg

Tizi N'Tichka

BRA-002-2-3.jpg

Tizi N'Tichka

neige tichka-5.jpg

Tizi N'Tichka

mosquée_2_tichka-4.jpg

Tizi N'Tichka

col du tichka-3.jpg

Tizi N'Tichka

col du Tichka, pays Glaoua 1-7.jpg

Tizi N'Tichka

Tizi N'Tichka

F1000015-1.jpg

Tizi N'Tichka, towards Telouet

Telouet

F1000013-2-3.jpg
 

Towards Telouet

telouet-6.jpg

Telouet

Telouet-2.jpg

Telouet

F1000052-4.jpg

Telouet

F1000019-2-4.jpg

Telouet to Tamdahgt

Tamdaght

F1000041-3.jpg
 

Tamdaght

tamdaght.jpg

Tamdaght.

Ksar et kasbah,sur l’Asif Mellah, un des ensembles les plus impressionnants de la région d’Aït Ben Haddou.

We arrive at Ait Ben Haddou by a good-looking mini scenic railways track, leaping but not breaking.

The terrain is absolutely desert even in this spring, neither more nor less dry or wet than the others before it. The permanent sand wind forces an economic glance, even avaricious, narrowing to the maximum a visual field already attacked by the sharp dazzle of the sun. Until the last moment the qçar is masked by the high right bank "crowned" with modern constructions (say, recent, a small village, on the good accessible side) whose banality which does not go so far as ugliness will make the village old the surprising surprise that we are no longer waiting for.

 
F1000020.jpg
ait ben haddou 5-1.jpg

In 1930, the famous French painter Jacques Majorelle completed the drawing of the "Atlas Kasbahs" and established himself as both the Painter of Marrakech and the Painter of the South. Thanks to his works, the ksour and kasbahs of southern Morocco are beginning to make themselves known.

J.MAJORELLE-Aït ben Addou-1-2.jpg
A1 - copie-9.jpg

Aït Ben Haddou.

The star of the ksars. How can you not keep going back there again and again? There are impressions that never fade, even if the city, on the edge of the Ounila wadi, is the most photographed. Obsessive. I had slept in a small inn on the right bank, still lit by candles, very much in keeping with the perennial charm of the streams flowing down from their Atlas water tower. You never leave the iconic city with your eyes. We always go back, having the impression of having missed I don't know what necessarily essential detail. Standing at 5 o'clock, while the little quinquets of the night, in the dark houses, and the stars, in the sky, go out one after the other. The sun is expected. Then, at 5.30 am, almost to the minute, he bursts in, all-powerful. The light settles in, raw. The change is instantaneous. Once again, the curtain is raised. And the men, still invisible but omnipresent, resume the course of work and days.

 

Ouarzazate

ourzazate vue generale-5.jpg

Ouarzazate

F1000150-4.jpg

Fint, 10 km south of Ouarzazate, takes advantage of a little humidity brought into the meander of a tributary of the Draa. The very definition of the altitude oasis at 1100m. Its population is the result of a complex population.

oasis de fint ouarzazate-3.jpg
 

Tiffoultout

Tifoultoute 1-1.jpg
F1000032-2-6.jpg

When the pre-Saharan night falls like a burnous (sellam! Invented here anyway) with this speed which excludes the half-tone charm of the "oceanic" twilight, by chaining without transition to the dazzling stupor of the sun, the disturbing appeasement of at night, Tiffoultout , the first defensive site for the ouarzazate of the big caïds, loses the acid shine of its ocher and melts into a mass all the more formidable as it is less legible: black on Prussian blue. Invisible before the stars or the moon. Perfectly dark hour.

Aggressive, timeless structure, paradoxically enlivened by the disappearance of all picturesque details. At this hour, but only with violent ticking, nothing distinguishes it from a medieval western fortified castle.

A mark of a violent man. Not a haven. A wall which protects but which serves mainly as an area for looters who take control of the region.

The large masses are similar: the strong central dungeon, the long development of the curtain walls which the innumerable recesses of the towers make more complex and mysterious.

Only a weak light bulb, disappointing in its skimpy modernism, retains its cachet at the postern, gaze open to the north, whose colossal door is clad with nails and metal blades like a breastplate. The iron arms, and does not burn ..

tiffoultoute 1-4.jpg

It is in Tifoultout that I would like to return. A village recently overseen (less than a century) by a caidal kasbah which only overcomes and completes this architectural treasure, a living symbol.

Asif Imini brings its freshness, the herds drink there.

Some rooms offer a strictly breathtaking view of the whole region and the birth of the Draa. This is where we can start to understand what we already like. We cannot recommend too much to stroll there at night, when the stars twinkle in the reflections of the river hiding between the rocks.

A small magnifying glass marks the entrance to your new domain, like a lantern, barely stronger than a star in the sky. But so close. You're there ...

filles ouarzazate.jpg

Dancers from M'Goun.

It's a secret place, somewhere in this sumptuous palm grove that scattered ocher and Siena castles in the green-bronze case of palm trees. For the Feast of Roses, they had danced the aouach all afternoon, in the heat without remission of this late spring. At break time, they had taken refuge in the tent to find themselves without looking at them; I did not count, they could say everything since I did not understand anything. Tired but so young that they found resources to "recover": confidences, crystal clear laughter. Since I was alone, how could I not believe myself in a harem, in a tale.

G6 - copie-1.jpg
Ouarzazate-2.jpg
taourirt 2-6.jpg
J.Majorelle-Taourirt-Ouarzazate-1928-1-3

Majorelle in 1930 realized "the exit of Pacha" in Taourirt

70 years later, not much has changed, a tree has grown

casbah de Taourirt, Ouarzazate 2.jpg

SÉSAME POUR LE DÉSERT

En sortant de Marrakech 

Il faudrait même dire « les » déserts. Puisque l’infini est toujours pluriel au Maroc, mise en abyme des « terres sans hommes », c’est la définition première du mot. Alors que ces déserts sont une autre forme de vie, particulièrement pugnace. Les routes du Dadès, du Draa et du Ziz sont toutes différentes les unes des autres. Ce qui veut dire qu’il faut les parcourir toutes, donc y revenir. Aucune ne se livre en sa totalité en quelques jours. Il faut être gourmet, pas gourmand. Alors seulement la diffa, permanente, est fastueuse…

Deux cols vous proposent d’effacer des sommets qui dépassent quatre mille mètres : le Tizi N’Test est la porte du Sous, on vient de le voir, et en le dévalant vers le sud, si vous prenez la route d’Aoulouz, si vous flânez à Taliouine et Taznakht, vous rejoindrez alors Ouarzazate et les lacets qui descendent du Tizi N’Tichka, l’autre porte du désert. Tous les chemins mènent au Dadès, le pays des roses et des maisons si élégantes, sculptures de terre façonnées à la main, en pisé ou en brique crue.

À Tameslohte, rencontre avec un vieil homme dans son  palais, nous présentant quelques pièces d'or d'un trésor qui serait caché dans ses murs.

 

Tizi N'Tichka

Tizi N'Tichka

Tizi N'Tichka

Tizi N'Tichka

Tizi N'Tichka

Tizi N'Tichka

Tizi N'Tichka

Tizi N'Tichka

Tizi N'Tichka

Tizi N'Tichka

Tizi N'Tichka, vers Telouet

Telouet

 

Vers Telouet

Telouet

Telouet

Telouet

De Telouet vers Tamdahgt

Tamdaght

 

Tamdaght

Tamdaght.

Ksar et kasbah,sur l’Asif Mellah, un des ensembles les plus impressionnants de la région d’Aït Ben Haddou.

On arrive à Ait Ben Haddou par une piste bon enfant mini scénic railways, bondissante mais non brisante. 

Le terrain est absolument désertique même en ce printemps ni plus ni moins sec ou mouillé que les autres avant lui. Le vent de sable permanent oblige au coup d’œil économique, avaricieux même, rétrécissant au maximum un champ visuel attaqué déjà par l’éblouissance tranchante du soleil. Jusqu’au dernier moment le qçar est masqué par la haute rive droite « couronnée » de constructions modernes (disons, récentes, un village bis, du bon côté accessible) dont la banalité qui ne va pas jusqu’à la laideur fera du village vieux l’étonnante surprise qu’on n’attend plus.

 

En 1930, le célèbre peintre français Jacques Majorelle achève le tirage des << kasbahs de l'Atlas » et s'impose à la fois comme le Peintre de Marrakech et le Peintre du Sud. Grâce à ses oeuvres, les ksour et kasbahs du Sud Marocain, commencent à se faire connaître.

Aït Ben Haddou.

La star des ksars. Comment ne pas y retourner sans cesse ? Il est des impressions qui ne s’effacent jamais, même si la cité, au bord de l’oued Ounila, est la plus photographiée. Obsessionnelle. J’avais dormi dans une petite auberge de la rive droite, encore éclairée à la bougie, très assortie au charme pérenne des cours d’eau qui dévalent de leur château d’eau de l’Atlas. On ne quitte jamais la ville emblématique des yeux. On y retourne toujours, ayant l’impression d’avoir raté je ne sais quel détail forcément essentiel. Debout à 5 heures, alors que les petits quinquets de la nuit, dans les maisons sombres, et les étoiles, dans le ciel, s’éteignent les uns après les autres. Le soleil est attendu. Puis, à 5 h 30, presque à la minute près, il fait irruption, tout-puissant. S’installe la lumière, crue. La mutation est instantanée. Une fois encore, le rideau est levé. Et les hommes, encore invisibles mais omniprésents, reprennent le cours des travaux et des jours.

 

Ouarzazate

Ouarzazate

Fint, à 10 km au sud d’Ouarzazate, profite d’un peu d’humidité apportée dans le méandre d’un affluent du Draa. La définition même de l’oasis d’altitude à 1100m. Sa population est le fruit d’un peuplement complexe.

 

Tiffoultout

Quand la nuit pré –saharienne tombe comme un burnous (sellam ! inventé ici quand même) avec cette rapidité qui exclue le charme en demi teintes du crépuscule « océanique », en enchaînant sans transition à la stupeur éclatante du soleil, l’apaisement inquiétant de la nuit, Tiffoultout, premier site défensif de l’ouarzazate des grands caïds, perd l’éclat acide de ses ocres et se fond en une masse d’autant plus formidable qu’elle est moins lisible : noir sur bleu de prusse. Invisible avant les étoiles ou la lune. Heure parfaitement sombre. 

Structure agressive, atemporelle, vivifiée paradoxalement par la disparition de tout détails pittoresques. A cette heure, mais seulement au cochant violent, rien ne la distingue d’un château fort médiéval occidental.

Une marque d’homme violent. Pas un havre. Une muraille qui protège mais qui sert surtout d’aire aux pillards qui font main basse sur la région.

Les grandes masses sont analogues : le donjon central et fort, le long développement des courtines que les innombrables décrochements des tours rendent plus complexes et mystérieux.

Seule, une faible ampoule, décevante par son modernisme étriqué, conserve son cachet à la poterne, regard ouvert au nord, dont la porte colossale est bardée de clous et de lames métalliques comme une cuirasse. Le fer arme, et ne brûle pas..

C’est à Tifoultout que j’aimerais revenir. Un village chapeauté récemment (moins d’un siècle) par une kasbah caïdale qui ne fait que surmonter et compléter ce trésor architectonique, symbole vivant.

L’Asif Imini apporte sa fraîcheur, les troupeaux s’y abreuvent.

Quelques chambres offrent une vue strictement imprenable sur toute la région et la naissance du Draa. C’est ici que l’on peut commencer à comprendre ce que l’on aime déjà. On ne saurait trop recommander d’y flâner la nuit, quand les étoiles scintillent dans les reflets de la rivière qui se cache entre les rochers.

Une petite loupiote marque l’entrée de votre nouveau domaine, comme un fanal, à peine plus forte qu’une étoile du ciel. Mais si proche.  Vous y êtes…

Danseuses du M’Goun.

C’est un lieu secret, quelque part dans cette fastueuse palmeraie  qui éparpille des châteaux ocre et terre de Sienne dans l’écrin vert-bronze des palmiers. Pour la fête des Roses, elles avaient dansé l’aouach tout l’après-midi, dans la chaleur sans rémission de cette fin de printemps. À l’heure de la pause, elles s’étaient réfugiées sous la tente pour se retrouver sans regards posés sur elles ; moi je ne comptais pas, elles pouvaient tout se dire puisque je ne comprenais rien. Fatiguées mais si jeunes qu’elles trouvaient des ressources pour se « remettre » : confidences, rires cristallins. Puisque j’étais seul, comment ne pas se croire dans un harem, dans un conte.

Majorelle en 1930 réalisait "la sortie du Pacha" à Taourirt

70 ans plus tard, pas grand chose n'a bougé, un arbre a poussé

© 2019 by Jacques Bravo